We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Hotel with style”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bakkara Art-Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bakkara Art-Hotel
Ranked #22 of 110 Hotels in Kiev
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Hotel with style”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

I have both positive and negative feelings about this hotel. The location is really bad, quite away from the city center, the shuttle bus doesnt go according to the scedule, sometimes, even refuse to drive. The Hotel's entrance should be cleaned and and ledder which leads to the hotel doesnt look trustworthy, and that green carpet looked really cheep. The room was nice, quite spacious and good value for money. But it is absolutely impossible to sleep there, because the walls are too thin and one can hear every single word from the neigbouring room. Breakfast was good, but the restaurant itself is too pricey, it is better not to eat there at all. The staff was polite, but not always honest with the guests. So Thats all I can say about this hotel.

Room Tip: Not so bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    126
    42
    13
    9
See reviews for
31
85
31
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

This is a floatel. It's in a large 5 floor houseboat. I did book a better class of room - worth the very little extra. It had a really great view of the river.

The room was clean and well maintained. No bath - just a wet deck shower, but quite satisfactory. The room was a large size. Has mini-bar, hair dryer, room safe, laundry bag - really anything that you could need.

There is Wi-Fi in the room (no-charge) - worked pretty well most of the time. Breakfast was also included in the room rate - not bad at all: pretty good egg/omlette chef! Very attentive staff and plenty of them. Most speak English. They work pretty hard.

Transport: The hotel is moored on an island in the river. Taxis are freely available outside the hotel. Be prepared to pay a premium over the local going rate, but it is cheaper than most capital cities that I know. The other (bigger problem) is the traffic jams into the city. Traffic seems to crawl over the bridge.

A better solution is to take a 5-10 minute walk to the "Hydropark" Metro station (in the middle of a funfair leisure area). From there, you can be in the city centre in 10 - 15 minutes. Trains are extremely frequent (up to 2 minutes between trains). The other good thing is that a trip any where on the Metro will cost you 2 UAH - next to nothing! So, much quicker than a taxi and a whole lot cheaper! Avoid rush-hours, though - the Metro gets pretty packed!

One final tip - the hotel has plenty of copies of "Kyiv in your pocket" all over the place (no charge). If you're new to Kiev, it's brilliant: tells you all sorts of usefull things like hosw to use the Metro, do's and don'ts - I found it a mine of information. Good maps and restaurant guides, as well.

Very close to the Exhibitions centre, if that's why you're in Kiev.

There is a night club in the basement - but if you don't like that kind of stuff, it's easily avoidable!

Final thing: the hotel restaurant. Tried it on my first night. Was not very impressed: it could be, though that the food was just not to my taste! Not really international. Much better available in the City.

Room Tip: Book through Expedia - pay for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

Unfortunately I had to stay at "Art Hotel Bakkara" for many weeks, and now I can certainly state that it is TERRIBLE!
1. Rooms, most of the time, stink (mold, smoke...)
2. the water (sink, shower) stinks
3. the WiFi does not work in the evening
4. the bathroom is... tiny
5. the position: it is on a sort of "ghost island" full of stray dogs; there's a shuttle to the metro every 30 mins (!!), taxis in the morning are rare and every time increase prices
6. the restaurant is expensive, with a veeeery long service
7. quality of food is poor, most of the time
8. ground noise often is too loud

what else... ?! AVOID IT

Room Tip: ask for 3rd or 4th floor, no smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank E507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

My friend and I stayed here from the 10-15 March. It's a riverboat, unsurprisingly, on the river, near the Hydro Park. It was excellent. Way above our expectations. Modern, clean, excellent staff, of which there was always one who could speak English, 24 hours a day. If you wanted anything and got a Ukrainian only speaking member of staff, they would happily disappear, and, within a couple of minutes, another member of staff would arrive speaking excellent English.

The only slight downside of the hotel, was its location. It was a taxi into the city centre, costing 57 Uah, which is just under £5. Having said that, there were always taxis parked up and waiting outside. The staff at the hotel would call them, agree the price with them and you, then give you the registration number, make and model of your car. As you crossed the gangway to dry land, the car was waiting, with the bellboy to open the door for you.

I didn't see any prostitutes in the lobby, but there is a lap dancing bar downstairs, which was a surprise, but it was quite discreet, it's not like there were red neon signs with semi naked girls flashing as you passed. Also, it's the only thing on that floor, so the only reason you would find it, is if you were looking for it.

You can hear the ships generator humming at night when everything else is quiet, but I've never stayed in a hotel that is silent? We just pretended we were on a cruise...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CyclingChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douvaine, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

I have never had such a disappointing stay in my entire life. My friend and I already had a slight confusion where the hotel would be as it seems to show up on two places on google map! Using the address on the confirmation to get there, we realized it was far away from the city centre and they had not changed the address after moving the boat. We were therefore far away from the city centre and we had to take the shuttle bus to get to the metro to get us anywhere. The lobby was filled with cheap prostitutes which fits perfectly with the strip club that is on the 1st floor. Great if this is what you are looking for, less great as your main goal is to visit Kiev. After having spend two nights, having had one (terrible!) breakfast and a shower with water that made me want to throw up, we decided to leave and we checked into a hotel in the city centre, which fortunately made our stay in Kiev a lot more pleasant .....

The only positive point was the great, friendly staff... that have been great all through out the stay....

Needless to say i would never ever come back here and would suggest to go and stay in a hotel that is more central. Kiev itself is gorgeous

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sanne05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

I stayed here 24-29 November 2010. It's a very nice hotel for the most part, but with a few flaws. The location isn't the best. It is right on the river, on the opposite side of the wonderful downtown of Kiev. I took a taxi into town and back every day and that gets a little pricey. There isn't anything in the immediate vicinity of the hotel and I'm not sure where the Metro was, or if there was a station close by. The room walls are quite thin; you can hear the guests in the room next to you quite clearly. The bathroom was quite small and only had a shower. The shower was in the corner and not in a shower stall - you had to pull the shower curtain around the small area, but water still covered most of the floor. The choice of TV stations is limited and there are only two in English, one being the European CNN channel. There is free Wi-Fi everywhere, but their business center, which is quite well-equipped, charges 1 UAH per minute for computer use and printing documents, etc., requires an additional cost. The hotel restaurant is quite good. Their morning breakfast buffet is typical European and good variety, including omelets made-to-order. I ate several dinners there in the evening, ordering from their menu and everything was very good. Room service is available 24 hours. It is also possible to put more money on your phone card, in the restaurant office, but they do not provide that service on weekends. It's a decent hotel and I would recommend it, if location was not a priority in your trip to Kiev, or if you had a rental vehicle. I gave it a four, but in reality it's more like a 3.5.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mustang649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

Very nice floating hotel on the Dnijper River in Kiev. The rooms are very modern and nicely equipped. Even a fridge is available. The rooms with the river side are very nice (recommend to book these, even that they are more expensive). The big breakfast buffet is excellent and offers a big variety and is available on the weekends until 12:00. The hotel is about 400 m from the Metro Station, but also other floating restaurants are near by, so quite many options to take a chance of. Be aware the bathroom is quite small but very much o.k. Can recommend this hotel any time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmueller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
3.0 mi away
ibis Kiev City Center
ibis Kiev City Center
#13 of 110 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ambassador Plaza
Ambassador Plaza
#28 of 110 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Hotel Rus
Premier Hotel Rus
#14 of 110 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sherborne ApartHotel
Sherborne ApartHotel
#20 of 110 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
5.4 mi away
Raziotel Kyiv
Raziotel Kyiv
#23 of 110 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
4.4 mi away
Oselya Kiev
Oselya Kiev
#17 of 110 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakkara Art-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakkara Art-Hotel

Property: Bakkara Art-Hotel
Address: Venice Island, 1 | Hydropark Subway Station, Kiev 02660, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Kiev
#19 Business Hotel in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bakkara Art-Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bakkara Art hotel in Kiev has 200 comfortable rooms that are ideal for romantic breaks as well as for business trips. The variety of different categories of suites that hotel suggests allows you to choose one that fits the purpose of your visit most of all – from a cozy standard room to a luxe class. Comfortable beds with nice bed linens will provide our guests with sound sleep. All the rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with electronic security system, TV, free Wi-Fi Internet access, personal mini safe, hair drier, mini-bar, telephone with direct international access. Buffet breakfast is included into the rooms’ prices. Convenient conference room, sized 105 sq. m, with modern technical equipment is available to all the guests of our hotel for conducting conference, meetings and seminars for up to 100 participants. There is also a modern business center situated near the hotel’s conference room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bakkara Art-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakkara Art Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing