We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Kiev
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Sherborne ApartHotel(Kiev)(Great Value!)
$72
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$258
$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$244
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$70
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lukyanovsky(Kiev)(Great Value!)
$32
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Staro Hotel(Kiev)
$92
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$82
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveler rating
466
136
30
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
136
30
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomme il fautgreat hotelrooftop barpillow menuthe club loungetop floormini barbreakfast buffetperfect stayconcierge serviceupgraded roomperfect locationbusiness centerrooms are comfortablethe heart of the citybusiness tripmaidan square
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 639 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a centrally situated hotel and is close to the outdoor paining market and the cathedrals. The fruit basket that was in my room was superb (I guzzled most of it). And the hotel lobby is nice with an elegant chandelier.

And yet...

The mini-bar has hardly anything in it (and no alcohol!). The TV in my room was directly in front of the bed and could not be moved - you can only see it from the bed! How ridiculous is that?

Despite this nuisances, the cheeseburger that I ordered was excellent and the amenities (soaps, lotions etc) are what one would expect from an Intercon

But the room was not comfortable and there's something not quite there.

Room Tip: One overlooking the square would be better than the one overlooking the street that I was in.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canoepunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalKyiv, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed location of the hotel, our food and lobby bar.

Please accept our sincere apology if the service you received was not at par with your expectations. We have taken a note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We all hope that you would give us another chance to make your experience as best as it can be.


Kind regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

InterContinental Kiev: location is nice (next door to St Michael's; short walk to St Sofia; few minute stroll to Khreschatyk Street). Lobby and meeting room facilities were lovely. Catering for the meeting events was excellent; and the buffet restaurant had a very nice spread. Top floor bar had great view, though a curiously (uncertain if deliberate) somewhat retro vibe; though the service was excellent. Rooms well appointed, clean, nice bathroom, great shower, good climate control; though a bit bland in decor. Service was sometimes very friendly; sometimes rather not. Great coffee in Lobby bar. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shappych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalKyiv, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on your stay in InterContinental Kiev.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, especially our catering for the meeting events.
We will be happy to welcome you again at InterContinental Kiev.

Best regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Had a one night visit to Kiev. As it involved giving up half my weekend was slightly indulgent. Well appointed if a bit empire style and an interesting view over rooftops. Very central and a great choice - including delicious forest fruits - at breakfast. Also free WiFi.

Room Tip: One on the upper floors will have more interesting views.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HT1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalKyiv, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back in InterContinental Kiev in the nearest future.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Intercon is a well know name, and for good reason - understated luxury and a well appointed staff make every stay a know quantity with no unpleasant surprises. Some of the staff at this location may not be the friendliest, but that is more due to the culture than the individual. The food in the hotel's restaurants is very good, and the rooms are spacious and well maintained.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front of the hotel and the views will make you smile.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddy719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalKyiv, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feed back with us. We are happy that you liked our hotel, its rooms and location.
We look forward to welcome you back in InterContinental Kiev in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A lot of people will probably try to decide between the Hyatt and the Intercontinental. Having stayed at both multiple times, I would say if the price is the same, then the Hyatt just wins, but it is often 100 euros more per night. Here is the breakdown comparing the hotels using the same basic types of rooms (assuming you are not a higher level with either loyalty program and there are no specials running).

Price: Intercontinental is about 100 euros cheaper on average per night. Not always, but frequently so. You'll also have to factor in Internet and occasional mini-bar soft drinks if you are likely to drink them (see below)
Winner: Intercontinental

Room: Standard rooms are about the same size with some slight variations. Views can be unpredictable in both unless you upgrade. Internet is free at Intercontinental, but not free at the Hyatt. Soft drinks are free in the minibar at the Intercontinental (watch the hype of there use of 'free mini-bar' as it does not include alcohol). Hyatt charges international hotel prices, so expect over $5 for a coke. No alcohol in room at Intercontinental and no extras like nuts. Hyatt has good selection, even if they are pricey.
Hyatt is slightly noisier with noise faintly penetrating the walls on some visits (maybe people just have more noisier sex there). . Some noise can drift up from foyer.Also, high floors facing St Sophia can get furniture floor noise from bars above. In room furniture feels more comfortable/plush at the Intercontinental and is generally peaceful.
Winner: Intercontinental.

Gym/pool. The Intercontinental is very poor. A few cardio machines and a combo weight system that has many seats and configurations but the entire machine can be only used by one person at a time. Some free weights. The pool is not long enough to be a lap pool. Hyatt has fitness studio with instructor, large choice of equipment (but still lacking some things found in a full gym) with a 22metre pool suitable for laps.
Winner: Hyatt by a long long way

Service: Both are good by Ukraine standards but still not hitting the bull's eye. Intercontinental tends to be a little lacking in detail and a bit inconsistent: forgetting to replace coffee in room, three requests for a network cable, out of towels in gym. Little things but these small things happen a lot. Hyatt is much more on the mark.
Winner: Hyatt

Building appeal/location. The Hyatt is a hotch-potch modern commercial exterior, the Intercontinental is far more classical and friendly to the eye and area. Inside the Hyatt, the café area has low ceilings while the lobby stretches up to the top of hotel. A weird mix that also allows some noise to travel up to the rooms. Both hotels are close enough to each other that location is pretty much the same.
Winner: Intercontinental

Bar/Restaurants. The Intercontinental edges ahead here. But they are only a few minutes walk apart so there is no reason to stick to one. Hyatt roof top can be inconsistent with service. One time a hamburger took 45minutes. The patty was raw in the middle, then it came back like a burnt brick, bun cold. It was taken off the room charge but a poor experience. Balcony around the Intercontinental is far more accessible than bar on Hyatt.


Loyalty: Intercontinental, is pretty much a rip-off. 2000 points for the stay, regardless of the spend. Ridiculous idea of loyalty. For example at the Intercontinental it is 35,000 points to redeem a night but you only earn 2000 for staying (regardless of the length or spend). Hyatt applies normal spend and given the cost, it will dump a lot of points into your account.
Winner: Hyatt. Intercontinental should hang its head in shame.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheIML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalKyiv, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your experience with us.

We highly appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve our service, ensuring that we deliver an experience in line with our guests' expectations.

With regards to the Gym / Pool, We tend to agree with you and it requires a further improvement. We therefore will look into the matter in detailed way to show you some improvements, although it can be very difficult to satisfy your needs in full due to several restrictions or available spaces.

In terms of Services, please rest assured the matters reported are certainly not indicative of our usual high standards and that we have already sat down with all the Executive Managers including Front Office Manager and Food & Beverage Manager gone through all the comments in ensuring none of them will be repeated in the future.

For other positive notes, We have also shared with the team not only to maintain the level of the services but to further improve.

Although your experience with us was not a perfect one, we do strive to achieve high standards in the hotel.
We do hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the InterContinental Kiev in the nearest future.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews