We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is all True! A fantastic 5 star in Kiev” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Kiev

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Kiev
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It is all True! A fantastic 5 star in Kiev”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

If you are lucky enough to stay here then do it! We are just checking out and it was important to write this before moving on.
Where do I start...from the professional and gracious check in staff to the wait staff in the club room and restaurants and then the concierge as well...all fantastic. Travelled over 30 years...over 90 places...this Intercontinental is definitely in my top 5.
I cannot even rave enough about the food and public areas,the rooftop bar.

True 5 star!Will be back

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angeladea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalKyiv, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for posting a great review of your experience in the InterContinental Kiev.
We are truly thrilled to know that we have succeeded in creating a memorable experience for you and helped you to have a wonderful time in Kiev. We look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Kiev in the future.

Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    115
    29
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
71
60
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Excellent location a short walk (albeit via a hill) to the main city square. Fine views over the city from many rooms. Excellent restaurant. Understands the concept of "iced tea". Superb concierge service, excellent and enthusiastic English-speaking staff. Immaculate public spaces.

Beautiful room, complimentary mini-bar. Quiet. Comfortable bed, rainshower head in bath. Separate elevator to access spa-pool-gym. Expensive, but still notably cheaper than its main competitor, the Hyatt Regency. St. Andrews, famous local shopping street, is around the corner.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalKyiv, Manager at InterContinental Kiev, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you so much for such lovely comments and we’re glad that you enjoyed your stay at the InterContinental Kiev. It is a pleasure to hear that you liked our restaurants, room facilities and enjoyed our service. We certainly hope to have a pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

The hotel is excellent and needs no additional review from me. However, perhaps I could share a couple of points which travellers to Kyiv (note the preferred Ukrainian spelling: 'Kiev' is Russian).
1. It is almost impossible to find a good English-language guide book in the city, so bring one with you. This probably also applies to other languages as well. Many sites (such as Lavra) have exhibits etc which are labelled ONLY in Ukrainian & Russian.
2. My colleagues and I found that many ATMs do not accept the new-style credit/debit cards: the ones with a visible chip on them. Some do, but many don't, including the ATM in the hotel. We could find no logic as to why a machine did or did not accept the new cards! I suggest you bring a supply of cash - euros or dollars (there's a safe in the hotel room) - and stock up on local funds when you find a friendly ATM.
3. When visiting the Lavra site, do not miss the Museum of Historical Treasures - and especially the unbelievably beautiful 4th cent BC gold pectoral on display there.
Hope the above helps.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greenfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

One of the best hotels in Kiev. Located in the heart of the city. Excellent service, lovely friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 19Roman84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

I really do rate this hotel as one of the best ones that I have the privilege to stay in, from check in to check out everything is handled with a smile and utter professionalism. To the point that when I have the choice I stay here as a preference. The staff go out of their way to accommodate every request (in my case however odd!!) and all with a smile. The lounge area in the hotel is large and classy, with the restaurant area for breakfast light and airy. There a number of very good restaurants nearby for which I will post a separate review. The pool and steam sauna are great, with a dry sauna in the men's changing room. No doubt there is one in the women's changing room as well. Room was light and very well decorated with a great bed. It is well located in the old town and is really a 15 minute walking distance to all the sites. This really is a hotel that you spoil yourself in. Enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onetrubrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Hotel exterior: monstrously vulgar (as most things in Kiev signifying wealth – people, buildings, clothes, manners) architectural monstrosity with a series of strange figurines lumped all over and absolutely hideous cascading fountains on one of the elevations.

Interior: lovely Intercontinental finishes, comfortable bed, full recognition of Ambassador status. Did not have lounge access so cannot comment on quality of their IC Club experience. All customer-facing staff spoke English. The content of their ‘free’ mini-bar varied from day to day.
Food and beverage are overpriced for IC standards and are astronomically overpriced for Ukraine.

The local clientele is one of the most peculiar features to observe in the hotel’s lobby and restaurants: monstrously vulgar (see above) but entertaining to observe from a distance.

Overall, if you manage to get a good rate, you will probably have an all-round good hotel experience; expect exorbitant prices.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on a higher floor facing the 'cathedral' square - views are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ozon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

The Intercontinental in Kiev is magnificent. Not only is it absolutely beautiful and tasteful, but the rooms are wonderful, clean as a whistle, and the service and employees are can't be beat. The breakfast was fantastic and the hotel is right in the middle of Old Town and yet quiet and restful. Kiev is a gem and not to be missed and the Intercontinental always gives you somewhere restful to come back to. I cannot think of one negative about this hotel and it is certainly one of the nicest there is. I would say this is the one for you if you like elegance and sophistication, yet comfort and good service. I wouldn't hestitate to go back there or to suggest it. It is great.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the side with a view of gorgeous St. Michael's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lhotse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Hyatt Regency Kiev
#6 of 111 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Печерськ / Черепанова гора
Hilton Kyiv
Hilton Kyiv
#4 of 111 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera Hotel
#8 of 111 in Kiev
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kiev? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kiev

Property: InterContinental Kiev
Address: Velyka Zhytomyrska Street 2A, Kiev 01001, Ukraine
Phone Number:
Location: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kiev
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kiev
#3 Business Hotel in Kiev
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kiev
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Kiev 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very heart of ancient Kiev and next to three main Ukrainian orthodox churches—St. Sophia, St. Michael and St. Andrew—the location of the InterContinental Kiev is truly unique. Built to match its historical surroundings, the hotel’s traditional style is grand and elegant. Business travellers will appreciate our proximity to corporate entities, government agencies and embassies. When it’s time for leisure, a wealth of shopping, historical and cultural sights are nearby including the Opera House, Khreschatyk (Kiev Main Street) and the Museum of Eastern and Western Art. Spread across 11 floors on the Dnipro River and City Wings, 272 rooms including 7 suites offer you pure relaxation in traditional surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Kiev reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kiev Hotel Kiev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing