We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place, not the best food”
Review of Spotykach

Spotykach
Ranked #4 of 1,931 Restaurants in Kiev
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Ukrainian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Yes, Spotykach really be proud! With such care together under one cover the most famous culinary hits of the Soviet era have not for everyone. Here is what restaurant critics over the years will be called "Ukrainian cuisine of the Soviet period," and the mere process of reading the menu is wild appetite. Salad leaves traditional herring under a fur coat, Olivier, Mimosa Capital, salad with beans and a dozen names. Then begins an even more pleasant discoveries. Take, for example, herring with anchovies on potatoes with onions or perch with mushrooms, fried pancakes. Sated fangled delights metropolitan restaurants audience inevitably return to the simple joys that are certain to become trump card Spotykach.
Milano
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome place, not the best food”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This place is very nice, the furnishings is special, the staff is friendly. But when you order on the menu, what you get is never what you excepted. I had better borsh, better steaks ecc. in same level restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank higuiMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    181
    58
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
greece
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Unforgettable atmosphere”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I visited this restaurant with my husband and a colleague sometime in April of 2010. We found it by chance, since we knew no one in the city to recommend us places to go. But what a surprise! This almost sub-terranean restaurant takes you back in time, during the soviet regime era. The decoration is colourful and elegant with a touch of soviet nostalgia.The staff is always polite, fast and greets you with the warmest smile. The food was extremely tasty and with a great variety (though we couldn´t read the menu and they couldn´t explain it to us in english!). The music would make you relax and enjoy every minute that you spent in this place. I would go there again and again!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garistodemou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small, tight and friendly. Food excellent”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Excellent food, interesting (and unobtrusive) band playing live and a nice atmosphere. We were in with a couple of biggish groups but service remained timely and friendly. Somewhere I'll happily recommend and will visit again. The sweets were superb.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sjsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to feel the atmosphere of Soviet times!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Perfect place to head for after a long busy sightseeing day in Kyiv! You are promised to enjoy delicious Russian/Ukranian cuisine at a very reasonable price and live performance of local musicians playng folk. The waiters speak both excellent English and Russian (let alone Ukranian!) and the service is very good! Best place to savour the Kyiv atmosphere!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evgenia Muza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Superb and authentic”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

It is a fantastic restaurant with a very well-thought-through design, reminding of typical Soviet interiors of the 1950s-70s. Cuisine is very good, even though I didn't really like their interpretation of Chicken Kiev -- I strongly stick to the old classical recipe, while the local chef decided to replace butter stuffing with cheese. Service and customer attitude in general were fantastic, just as at most places I visited in Ukraine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yury K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spotykach also viewed

 

Been to Spotykach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing