We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One reception and some rooms - and nothing more.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Kalemegdan
Ranked #46 of 85 Hotels in Belgrade
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One reception and some rooms - and nothing more.”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The place has got a really good location, so if you need a place just to sleep and then leave, then this is it for you.

However, if you, like me, prefer to enjoy a stay at a hotel, maybe have a drink in the bar and have a peaceful breakfast in a beautiful environment, then this is not the place to stay.

The small building only has a reception and six rooms. Althoug with quite clean and spaceous rooms, almost all rooms face the street, which makes them noisy. Since there is no breakfast room, a tray was brought into the room. And you can either eat lying in your bed, which I personally don't like, or sitting at a tiny table with a huge tv on it.

I was hoping for a particularly charming place with a strong local tough - but no. The overall feeling for me was dissapointment. The place is definitely overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertHl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    29
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
32
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

The location is just perfect next to the park and the street full of nice trendy restaurants and bars.
Small boutique hotel with just a few rooms. Comfortable and the staff is friendly. Breakfast is just fine, so better go to any restaurant in the street for good breakfast. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

One could not hope to find a better location in Belgrade - right across the street from the Kalemedgan and a 10 minute walk from Skadarska. There are plenty of other restaurants and bars nearby as well. We also loved their breakfast - not the typical European buffet - but huge and excellent breakfast in bed. Throw in a helpful front desk and it all adds up to a nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The villa is located near a park and a pedestrian street full of shops, cafes and restaurants.
The staff is friendly, big enough room, comfortable bed, a large LCD television and air conditioning complete the facilities.
Also Villa Kalemegdan has their own private parking (but you must made reservation).
The only drawbacks: breakfast is brought into the room because there was no space where they can be served and the wireless internet worked so badly that I preferred to connect to a unsecured network (hotspot).
What make me really unhappy about breakfast was that the two yogurts that have been brought had expired two days! Because we are in a hurry I didn't tell to staff but I took this picture.
So, with good and bad, it's just ok!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Cosy rooms in a vicinity of Kalemegdan fortress and main shopping street in Belgrade with parking space. There are only 6 rooms without restaurant or breakfast room. The breakfast is served in your room which is OK. The biggest problem is old doors without sound isolation and you can hear all the guest talking with the reception desk. The price for those kind of lodging is higher than you expect, and you do not get bath amenities for single use.

Room Tip: Room number 5 or 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nikola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We arrived on an overnight train at about 8 a.m. on our check in day. We knew it was too early to check in, but stopped at the hotel to drop our bags before finding breakfast and doing some sightseeing. The staff was so friendly. Our assigned room wasn't ready, but they moved us into a larger room so we could shower and relax after our train trip.

The beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean, and our bathroom was huge, with a massive shower with a rain feature overhead, steam, lights, music, etc. It was the perfect way to unwind after "sleeping" on the train.

The breakfast was ok, but we preferred to go out anyway. Overall, we were impressed and had a great stay.

As for Belgrade...... Not the best city of our trip, in fact probably at the bottom of the list. Most of the museums were closed, and the tourism information office was practically worthless. We went to buy double decker bus tour tickets, and were advised they were shutting it down the next day, so no hop on hop off tour was available. Probably because there is nothing open to see.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottrop, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

On my last day I had to visit the dentist. Check out is 12 o clock. I was back at 12:15 and found my baggage packed at the reception!! The owner decided not to wait for 30min or to charge me one more day!!! They just packed my things. My privacy was not important. When I asked the lady how it was possible to do such a thing she simple answered that the new guests have already arrived! No privacy and no respect for guests. I have never had such a experience in my life and I travel a lot.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Badexperience34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
0.5 mi away
Prince Hall
Prince Hall
#42 of 85 in Belgrade
45 reviews
1.0 mi away
Queen's Astoria Design Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Prag
Hotel Prag
#24 of 85 in Belgrade
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Argo
Hotel Argo
#16 of 85 in Belgrade
143 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#34 of 85 in Belgrade
265 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Vozarev
Hotel Vozarev
#40 of 85 in Belgrade
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Kalemegdan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Kalemegdan

Property: Hotel Villa Kalemegdan
Address: Strahinjica Bana 7, Belgrade 381, Serbia
Location: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 85 Hotels in Belgrade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Kalemegdan 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Kalemegdan is located at the strictly city centre of Belgrade, at the popular Strahinjica Ban Street only few minutes walk from the many trendy bars, restaurants, galleries and shops. Its location guarantee for any guest to be at the center of the city happening. Hotel's suites offer the business traveler all the facilities required. WiFi and parking space are free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Villa Kalemegdan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing