We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, ver good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Belgrade
Ranked #18 of 86 Hotels in Belgrade
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2011

I had a very pleasant stay during my 5 nights in the hotel. All the staff were wonderful and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank TNLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Belgrade
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 339 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2011

During a business Trip I was in this hotel. The hotel is closed to new Belgrade, where the most companies located. It will take you 10 - 15minutes depending on the traffic to the city.
The hotel personnel was very friendly and helpful. I feel very comfortable in my room it was big and clean. I tried the spa space and the massage. I never had such a good massage!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cranberi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Stayed at the HI, Belgrade for the second time. Both visits were for 3-5 days.

Excellent front desk staff, very efficient and cheerful. Rooms both standard and executive floor extremely clean, very well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast was well done and a good buffet - both hot food and continental. Cook on hand to make eggs/omeletes to order.

Public areas all fresh and in very good order - a very good advertisement for Holiday Inn.

Only suggestion would be that breakfast staff take more regular views of guests and bring and offer coffee/tea when seating and during breakfast.

All in all an excellent hotel and very good value. Will visit again later this year.

For those wishing to travel during the day to the Old Town on the other side of the river, be aware and plan accordingly that at times this can take up to an hour one way due to construction and traffic. The Holiday Inn is on the the New Belgrade side and convenient for anywhere there or to the Airport.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Traveller12305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Overall the staff at this hotel were great, incredibly friendly, helpful, and genuinely wanted you to enjoy your stay at the hotel and make the most of your experience in the city. From the welcoming all the way through to checkout the staff were fantastic.

The room is about standard for what you would expect at a Holiday Inn - maybe even a bit better really. Clean, comfortable, all the basics, but no extras (except a chocolate on my pillow!). If you expect nice, clean 3 star, you'll have the right expectation.

Location, well its fine if you have a car! I ended up taking taxis and going on long walks (about 3+km to city center, or about 1+km to USCE park), very much outside the main city. (About 7 EUR taxi to city center.)

Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
4  Thank MichaelMcD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Room was a decent size and clean. Bed was comfortable. AC worked as it should (esp given that it was 42 degrees celcius).

The Breakfast was decent. Hot breakfast served along with continental breakfast. Some interesting local breakfast items on the menu. Across the road from the Hotel is a large super market- Super Vero. That is very convenient.

The service is very friendly. They make reccos on restaurants etc and call you a taxi when you need it. They allowed me to check out the previous night and I left the room, no questions asked, the next morning. That was very nice of them as I had to leave the hotel at 430 am for an early morning flight. In case you land at the belgrade airport and dont find your pick-up waiting for you and you are staying at the holiday inn, then it may be a good idea to call them and ask them to send their van. The local taxi drivers at the airport seem very aggressive.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SidSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed there for most of the week. The people who work there are really nice and do look after you. The food is decent and it's a really good location for getting in and out of Airport City. The phone system was extremely patchy and the air conditioning was intermittent. They also have installed a pretty complex lighting/air conditioning panel in all the rooms that I suspect is too complicated for it's own good. Overall clean and nice hotel staffed by lovely people but they need to simplify their technology or get to grips with it a bit more.

Room Tip: It's an SPG hotel so sign up for an SPG card.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SDParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

After a train ride from Zagreb we drove in the Novi Beograd train station and we could immediately see the new and modern exterior of the Holiday Inn hotel so we decided to go off there. Unfortunately it is a very old unmanned station and if you carry luggage, there are waiting many steps for you.

Finally with our luggage on the ground, after a 8 minute walk, we were in the reception of the hotel. But be careful a lot of wild dogs are in the neighborhood but many do not do anything.

We are a platinum ambassador member of the chain and we wee expecting some benefits in the hotel. We booked a normal room but on check in with Mr. Nikola, we received an upgrade to one of the Executive rooms on the third floor. The check in went smoothly but he needed our passports and we could take them back in 15 minutes, I do not like it when people take our documents for a longer time.

We took one of the two elevators to our room on the third floor, however nobody asked or offered us to help with our luggage.

Our room was 322 and it was in a nice and new corridor, halfway of it. Our room was spacious and had a King bed and separate sofa which was converted to an extra bed. Because we had an executive room, some drinks and snacks were included but because there is no lounge, we could take them from the mini bar. All soft drinks, All beers, All waters and 1 candy bar per person were free of charge. Unfortunately there were only 2 bottles of each category so 2 soft drinks, 2 waters and 2 beers. These were filled daily.

Our room had a modern bathroom with sink, bath and toilet. As I like the modern touch, I didn’t like the roof. It is a see through cheap thing. We could even see all electrical wires, pipes and one water pipe was dripping on the ground but previously repaired with duck tape.

The bed in our room was very good and soft also with a choice of hard and soft pillows. Also a desk, new TV and lounge chair was in the room.

We received a complimentary tray of fruits in our room with a paper mentioning the executive benefits.

In the evening we found some unfinished things in the room. The bathroom handle was broken so when we pulled it to close the door, it felled of. The bathroom door stop was also broken and I almost stepped in that metal screw of it. Also the shower screen was leaking so when we took a shower there was some water on the floor. But last but not least, the air conditioning didn’t function at all !! The room was set on 18 degrees but kept rising to 23, 24 and even 25 ! We slept at 24,5 degrees ! We were so hot that night but unfortunately after calling the reception nobody did anything about that problem, the door handle, they fixed. We did not expect a malfunctioning AC in a new hotel.

Opening the room window is not an option because there are a lot of mosquito’s in the neighborhood. W could see it on footsteps on the walls and dead mosquitos on the roof.

In the evening we took a look at the spa center downstairs. First of all the receptionist Mr. Nikola told us that before using the center we had to tell the reception 15 minutes in advance. And when using the whirlpool, 2 stunning hours in advance. It is also possible that the door is locked.

We took the elevator but you have to push on the minus button first and then on the button 1. Downstairs we entered the quiet center. To the left was a new fitness center with changing rooms, and a relaxing room. On the right side was the whirlpool, showers, sauna, steam bath and a freezer. First of all the whirlpool was not filled with water enough and very dirty with sand and others. The shower was also not clean and had even toiletries and shampoos from previous guests.

In the evening we found out that the hotel did not bring enough towels. We are three and only two towels were there. They put open the extra bed so they should have knows we are three.

In the later evening we decided to have a look at the Delta shopping mall, 10 minutes walk on the right, of the hotel. When passing the railway bridge we saw massive camps with gipsy people and poor people. They burn plastic so it can be smelly. It is a large contrast, a four star hotel and a small houses of carton next to each other. But they do not disturb the hotel or guests, but just live there.

The shopping mall has many shops and fast food chains like McD and KFC.

But we decided to eat at the hotel and took 3 times the smoked beef. We asked one just grilled and not smoked but our server, Ms. Aleksandra brought them all three smoked and one grilled. The price was around 16 euro, bit cheaper than the room service. Overall expensive for Belgrade.

The next day we had breakfast around 09:30. Breakfast is also served in the main restaurant and we asked for two hot chocolates, a glass of sparkling water because the water in the glasses are from the tap with ice cubes and thee. The HC were very strong and almost not drinkable. The server told us that sparkling water is not included and will be charged. I stay 50 + nights and this is normally included in a 4 star hotel, but we also weren’t offered bottled mineral water. We wanted to order eggs but no chef was around so we had to ask it and they need to call the chef.

The breakfast did not have much choice and the cheese, toast breads and many others were empty. Pineapple was also empty. Overall a poor breakfast. The toaster is btw just a few cm under the fire alarm so I am sure somebody will hit the button when it stays there.

I asked for some white, soft bread to the server because they were empty again. She then brought me white cream, … Then she told me that she did not had it anymore but a few minutes later we saw another guest with that bread and I told her and she now thought I asked for bread with butter … Then she began to argue because I said it was soft and she thought that bread was hard. It was as soft as a soft pillow.

After breakfast two of the three persons of us were sick twice. And all after breakfast, maybe the orange juice ?

We went to the reception to Ms. Anja and Ms. Milica for some concierge services because we still wanted to see something in the city like the Sava Church and the grave of Tito. They began to tell me about a taxi tour which costs 25 euro / hour . But then finally after asking for it they told me there was also a sightseeing bus, which will stop directly in front of the hotel, and it will also depart every 30 minutes. We bought the tickets but we could not put them on the room bill. Then we asked them if the bus stops at the Royal palace or White palace and they just couldn’t find it anywhere. But after 10 minutes they told us it won’t stop there.

We searched for the stop but did not find it in front of the hotel but still 5 minutes walking. There we stood at 12:20 and after one hour waiting, no bus. So I called the reception and they called the company and then after 10 minutes there was finally a bus. No excuses for the delay and our wait for 70 minutes instead of maximum 30 minutes. The fare is 15 euro for 24 hours ( Do not mind if you have to wait at least 45 minutes at each stop ).

Next day, at breakfast there was smoked salmon which was very good but the same disappointed breakfast. In the evening they again brought 2 towels instead of 3. The last they just the same, 2 towels instead of 3.

The location of the hotel is out of the city center but in the Novi Beograd district. The hotel is probably one of the newest buildings in the area. If your train stops at Novi Beograd, it is probably the best choice. The center can be reached by Taxi ( 7 euro ) or by tram / bus for 1 euro.

Overall an average new hotel below my expectations and not really value for money. Because the AC, housekeeping, poor breakfast and many others I will give it a 3 / 5.

Before I forget, we booked online on the hotels website in a price quoted in euros but at check out they overcharged us with 30 euro because they charge in Serbian Dinars and they probably took the worst conversion for us. And when I say euro in my review : 1 euro = 100 Serbian Dinar .

Room Tip: Get an executive room
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Old Mill Hotel, Belgrade
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Belgrade
Crowne Plaza Belgrade
#12 of 86 in Belgrade
520 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Belgrade
Hyatt Regency Belgrade
#9 of 86 in Belgrade
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Moskva
Hotel Moskva
#13 of 86 in Belgrade
654 reviews
1.0 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Belgrade
2.2 mi away
Balkan Hotel Garni
Balkan Hotel Garni
#6 of 86 in Belgrade
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Belgrade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Belgrade

Address: 74 Spanskih Boraca, Belgrade 11000, Serbia
Phone Number:
Location: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Belgrade
#7 Business Hotel in Belgrade
#14 Luxury Hotel in Belgrade
Price Range: $96 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Belgrade 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Holiday Inn Belgrade, Serbia. Our recently opened international four stars Hotel is the best solution for any kind of stay, from business breaks to tailor- made events and seminars. Our hotel is located in the most important business area New Belgrade. The Belgrade Arena is just 500m far away. From the International Airport Nikola Tesla to the Hotel it s only 10 kilometers and to Belgrade Fair just 4.0 kilometers. The Hotel Holiday Inn Belgrade offers 140 comfortable guest rooms, Executive Club Level, 7 conference rooms, Fitness & Wellness Area and is adjacent to BELEXPOCENTAR brand new multi functional Convention Centre with a total net of 2500sqm. Hotel Holiday Inn Belgrade is as well perfectly located to discover the sights and the beautiful city along the rivers Danube & Sava. The historical Belgrade Fortress Kalemegdan and the pedestrian Street Knez Mihailova are just 4.5 kilometers away. As you can see we offer you all preferences for a pleasant stay. We are looking forward to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Belgrade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Belgrade Hotel Belgrade
Belgrade Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing