We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally some decent curry in Belgrade!”

Diwali - Indian Restaurant
Ranked #831 of 1,214 Restaurants in Belgrade
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Maharaja restaurant, the mystical and authentic world of exquisite dining. Our great tasting food is presented to you as a complete culinary masterpiece. Enjoy delicious indian cuisine at its best in an elegant and intimate ambience . Experience the warmth and charm of our wonderful and creative cuisine in a cordial atmoshpere. Contrary to popular belief, Indian food is not and does not have to be spiced overly hot to be enjoyed. In fact the art in Indian cookery lies in the delicacy of spicing. In order to be able to satisfy all our patrons we offer different levels of spicing for almost all the items on this menu. Our knowledgeable staff will be pleased to familiarize you with the various levels of spicing and also assist you in the selection of your dinner menu. Please do not hesitate to consult your server. With our courteous and attentive service we will endeavor to make your food experience at Maharaja a memorable one and hope that it will leave you with a desire to come back again and again. Free wireless Internet access is available. Our dear guests can enjoy in meals in our beautiful garden.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Finally some decent curry in Belgrade!”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This place has now changed it's name to MAHARAJA.

Great food full of flavour and spices! The menu has all the classics, curry, tikka masala, murgh-saag, tandoori etc. Not nearly as spicy as authentic Indian cuisine (I bet they tailor it down for locals' tastes). If you specifically ask for 'additional spice' they will make sure you eye bags work up a sweat! Selection of deserts, local wine and coffee to end the meal with.

Service is lovely and friendly. Ambient is relaxed. Interior is decorated in an Indian style....Katy Perry and MIKA in the background could be substituted with some oriental tunes. Service could be a little bit quicker.

A short car/taxi ride from the city centre/old town.

Will definitely keep coming back to this place.....again....and again.....

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank talworldcitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    9
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Truly Good Indian”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I love to eat a variety of cuisines. Unfortunately in Belgrade, you will normally be horribly disappointed in the "ethnic" options that you get (think pickles on "Mexican food", etc).

However, this place never fails to make me smile. If you're brave enough, the lamb vindaloo is rockin'! All the dishes are well-prepared, and the food is as good (if not better) than most of the Indian places I've eaten at in the US and in western Europe.

Consistency is not a hallmark of Serbian restaurants in general, but the Indian Palace delivers every time.

Also, the name has changed to Maharaja now. It's still in the same silly (and hard-to-find) location, it's still pricey, but it's still worth every dinar.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pachyderms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the gas”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

The restaurant is located in a remote area of Belgrade, not far from the main highway, in Vozdovac. The food quality is not terrible as other reviews said, but it isn't very good either, thus travelling to the place is not a reasonable option. Not surprisingly, the restaurant was completely empty: who knows Belgrade lively restaurants knows this is a clear sign. Although the service was nice and quick (but we were the only customers!) the bill was slightly higher than expected, given the location and the style of the place. We wil quickly forget the experience...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luc-n-Bok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Can't stop going there!”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I've also tried Indian food in several parts of Europe and I didn't find this restaurant so different than others. The ambient is cosy, and staff very helpful. I've tried almost everything from the menu, and there really isn't a thing I don't like, I still can't make up my mind what to order every time :) The chef IS Indian definitely, and from what I've heard we had Indian guests over in Belgrade who certified the authenticity of the taste... Anyway, try different kinds of bread, it is fantastic! I also liked korma chicken and butter chicken, as well as the restaurant special with a lot of vegetables and herbs mixed together with meat. Most dishes are soft and creamy. Yummmy!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bojana_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best indian restaurant in the Balkan region”
Reviewed October 1, 2010

The most original Indian restaurant in the Balkan region.I have eaten in England and even in India and this would be the closest to Indian that you will get.
From what I hear the chef is Indian as well.
Literally does not get any better loved the food and the ambiance.Keep up the good work A++++

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pedjat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diwali - Indian Restaurant also viewed

Belgrade, Serbia
Belgrade, Serbia
 

Been to Diwali - Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing