We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Balkan Orient Express Hotel
Ranked #64 of 87 Hotels in Belgrade
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated to explore Belgrade, you can walk to all the major sites of interest as well as being close to a large number of restaurants and bars.
The room on the fifth floor was comfortable if somewhat dated, and the hand-held shower over the bath was poor. However the view made up for the shortcomings, we could see across the city, taking in the bridges across the Suva and Danube rivers.
The staff on reception, in the bar and around the hotel were helpful and friendly, the snack food in the bar was very good although the breakfast was at best average.
Belgrade is a place to visit, and The Balkan Hotel o good place to stay

Room Tip: Go for the fifth floor and a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan_Mngmt, Front Office Manager at Balkan Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear guest,

I will use this opportunity to thank You for Your review. We are glad to hear that You have enjoyed Your staying at Balkan Orient Express Hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome You again.

With best regards,

Branimir Mladenovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 167 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Balkan from 9/8/2013 thru 9/23/2013 and can't say enough about it. The front desk staff is among the best I've ever encountered in a hotel. Sandra checked me in and was very helpful and courteous. When I got to my room, Sandra called and asked if I'd like a free upgrade. Amazing! The entire staff of the hotel from the front desk to the maids to the servers made me feel like family and not a guest. Every morning I had breakfast in the café. Milos, Pavle, Filip, Miodrag and Nebojsa were on the spot and memorized my daily routine. Outstanding service, hospitality, and accommodations. The owners should have pride in their staff. They all outdid themselves. By the way, the front desk girls love chocolate so a bar or two of "Milka Alpine Chocolate" goes a long way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wayne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan_Mngmt, Front Office Manager at Balkan Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Mr. Wayne,

We would like to thank You for Your lovely review.

We are glad to hear that You have pleasant and memorable stay with us.

Thank You again and feel free to contact us directly for any reservation or any further request.

You are more then welcome to be our guest again.

Best regards from the whole Balkan Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My first priority in booking a city hotel is the location and this one ticked all the boxes, just by the start of Kneza Michaela, 15 min walk to Kalamegdan Fort and 25 min walk to St Sava in the opposite direction.
Staff friendly. Hotel is good value for money
Hotel is older style but rooms were clean, etc, good selection for breakfast.
Main downfall is size of the rooms, we travelled as a small family, with two young children. (4 &1 yrs) We had a triple room, and we bought our own cot bed for our infant. Once we erected the cot bed (admitadly this is no fault of hotel's as our own) but there was literally no where to move and unable to even open the wardrobe due to space. Our other party members with a normal double room also had very small rooms.
I would have also liked a bath having children, but the room only had a tiny shower and very little space to squeeze past in the bathroom.
We had a few maintenance issues, the air con remote was broken but they quickly replaced this for us, and our door came of the hinges!- again reception was quick to send somebody up immediately to fix back on.
Overal we only stayed 2 nights and planned to squeeze a lot of sightseeing in and therefore only be in our room to sleep, so accommodation for fine for our needs as location was the highest importance, but if you plan a longer stay, I would suggest a hotel with slightly larger rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolinelju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan_Mngmt, Front Office Manager at Balkan Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear,

Thank you for choosing Balkan Orient Express Hotel during your stay in Belgrade.
We are glad because our services and staff has been pleasant to you.
Unfortunately, the room where you've stayed is one of the smallest we have for families. We always encourage our guests to write their expectations about room type and other preferences before arrival, either to request it at reception desk upon arrival. At Balkan Hotel we are always thriving to delight our guests and we regret because we haven't been informed about your room preferences, as a room change is the least we could do for you.

Please do accept our invitation for your next visit, as we wish to meet your expectations without any exception.

Warm regards,

Branimir Mladenovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here on our way to visit family in Bulgaria. We had a nightmare finding the hotel as our GPS would not pick up belgrade city centre! However the staff at the hotel were very helpful when we rang to say we were lost! When we eventually found the area, we actually drove past the hotel as there is no signage visible from the road. However, that being said, the staff were very friendly. The room , although slightly dated, was clean, comfortable, and afforded a lovely view of the city. We ate in the hotel and our waiter could not do enough for us. And I met say that the Serbian dish he recommended to me was delicious! Breakfast the next morning was mediocre. Overall a nice hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank heather a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan_Mngmt, Front Office Manager at Balkan Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Mrs. Heather,

I will use this opportunity to thank You for Your review. We are glad to hear that You have enjoyed Your staying at Balkan Orient Express Hotel.
We have in plan to improve signage from Terazije square and we are waiting for city permission. Regarding Your impression with buffet breakfast we would like to inform You that we have added a few new dishes and made I new menus. We are doing our best to offer excellent service and to make our guest 's feel like at home. We hope that You will be our guest next time and we are looking forward to welcome You again.

With best regards.

Branimir Mladenovic


With best regards,

Branimir Mladenovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Firstly, the hotel is situated in the city centre so that the main street is 2 minutes distant by foot. This is old-fashioned hotel however rooms are very cleaned with a beautiful view. The reception is very kind, especially Valentina who fulfilled all my wishes, she was so helpful. Staff is amazing, always smiling, I cannot believe they are so friendly. I had a very pleasant stay so please visit this hotel, it is truly wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bixy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan_Mngmt, Front Office Manager at Balkan Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear,

Thank You very much for Your lovely review.

We are glad to hear that You have enjoyed Your staying with us. We are happy to hear that Your stay was nice and You have great time at Balkan Orient Express Hotel. Thank You for nice words and recommendation. We do our best to keep the excellent service and to make staying with us memorable.

We are looking forward to see You again.

Best regards.

Branimir Mladenovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here with three girlfriends for a weekend trip to Belgrade. Booked a triple room on booking.com but after calling the reception they very kindly upgraded us to a suite (referred to as apartment in Serbia) for an even better price. The room was amazing - big windows with a beautiful view on Hotel Moskva and a lot of space for four people. All amenities were clean and new, and the staff was very friendly in accommodating our special requests for more water, towels, bedding etc.
The two best parts of Hotel Balkan:
1. AMAZING location, 5-10min to all main sights of downtown Belgrade, including the shopping pedestrian streets, Kalemagdan fort, Skadarlija street and many more.
2. AMAZING breakfast included in room rate. The breakfast buffet was huge, and included all kinds of eggs, pastries, cheeses, fruits, veggies, muesli, jams, juice etc. Really, really delicious.
Bottom line: Hotel Balkan is your choice for convenient, no-fuss, quality accommodation in Belgrade.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matkatytto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan_Mngmt, Front Office Manager at Balkan Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear,

Thank You very much for Your lovely review.

We are glad to hear that You have enjoyed Your staying with us. We are happy to hear that Your stay was nice and You have great time at Balkan Orient Express Hotel. Thank You for nice words and recommendation. We will do our best to keep the excellent service and to make staying with us memorable.

We are looking forward to see You again.

Best wishes.

Branimir Mladenovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I’ve been to Belgrade during April this year and I’ve stayed at the Balkan Orient Express. It’s a great location, in the middle of the town, next to the main attraction points and the Sava River. The room was quite large, with a double sofa and big LCD TV, a working desk, large double bed, mini bar, spacious bathroom and also tea/coffee making. I had free Wi-fi in the room and the entire location. The breakfast was excellent with a large variety of food and options. There is also a bar and restaurant at the ground floor with access from both lobby and outside. There is a parking place in front of the hotel, but it was always busy. This didn’t matter as I was traveling by plane. I’ve booked in advance also the airport shuttle service from the Hotel. It was an easy and comfortable way of getting from/to hotel/airport. The hotel personnel were very friendly and helpful. I was a little bit disappointed by the cleanness of the room: there were some stains of the carpet and also on the sofa but in rest it was ok.Also, be aware that the water bottles above the mini bar are extra cost, around 200 dinars each. I didn’t know that at the beginning and I had to pay for it. I had a room on the upper floors and although it was facing the street it was not noisy. There is a HVAC unit in the room for heating/cooling but I did not have to use it. Overall, it was a nice experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chitea_Mihai_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkan_Mngmt, Front Office Manager at Balkan Orient Express Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear,

Thank You very much for Your review.

We are doing our best to make our guests staying nice and pleasant.

We are glad to hear that You have enjoyed with us.

Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcome You next time.

Best regards.

Branimir Mladenovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#62 of 87 in Belgrade
157 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Kalemegdan
Hotel Villa Kalemegdan
#56 of 87 in Belgrade
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Moskva
Hotel Moskva
#12 of 87 in Belgrade
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Allure Caramel Hotel by Karisma
0.4 mi away
Belgrade City Hotel
Belgrade City Hotel
#31 of 87 in Belgrade
458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prince Hall
Prince Hall
#40 of 87 in Belgrade
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balkan Orient Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balkan Orient Express Hotel

Address: Prizrenska 2, Belgrade 11000, Serbia
Location: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Belgrade
Price Range: $79 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balkan Orient Express Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Balkan is an oasis of peace and cosiness, placed amidst the boiling energy and tumultuous life of Belgrade center, daily visited by thousands of people, and is an ideal basis for businessmen as well as for leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Balkan Orient Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balkan Hotel Belgrade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing