We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Josip Broz Tito Mausoleum
from $45.30
More Info
from $20.07
More Info
Reviews (574)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveler rating
141
103
51
11
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
103
51
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yugoslav history world leaders resting place blue train sculpture garden great man buried here his life ex yugoslavia interesting visit on display recent history rich history city centre small museum nice place to visit visiting belgrade
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

For those interested in history, this is a worthwhile tour. We had a knowledgeable guide who provided an excellent history lesson and at the same time, making no apologies about how she felt about Tito, the war, government and her Yugoslavian heritage (doesn’t identify herself as Serbian).

It was quite a climb to get to the actual mausoleum which we thought was quite understated. Interesting displays, one being the batons which were used in an annual relay celebrating Tito’s birthday I believe.

Not a tour for those with mobility issues.

Thank sanjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This must be the most visited tourist area in Belgrade. To get to the mausoleum one has to negotiate many steps both up and down without any handrails. Due to the large number of people, this makes it impossible for those of us who are unsteady on their feet to see everything. I sent my wife up on my behalf. She saw what she could due to the crowds and took several photographs. She said that everything was clean and tidy and she was glad she went.

Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am a fan of Tito, so when I planned this visit I was excepting to have some reflections of the past, living part of his journey & learning something you about him that probably I wouldn't find on the internet...Well, this place gave some of each, I can't say it is exactly what I wanted, but I can't complain as I have had at least something from everything I wanted!

Thank Salameh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

probably I am biased having a happy childhood in country once called Yugoslavia, but thousands of tourists coming from around the world proove the story about Tito and former Yugoslavia remains provocative and appealing. You can reach it by trolleybus No 41 from city center (Studentski trg, in vicinity of Kalemegdan and Knez Mihajlova Street), stop is called Museum of Yugoslavia. Main museum building is being repaired right now so you can see Tito's tomb as well as tomb of Jovanka Broz, his wife who passed away few years ago in overall poverty. This tells to intelligent people about his way of ruling, compared to nowday politicians, as even he enjoyed life (whisky, cigars, women, famous actors and actresses were visiting him, numerous villase were called Tito's villas, but he only slept in them occasssionaly and left family virtually nothing after his death). You can see many of the batos handed over to him on occassion of celebration of his birthday and small coner dedicated to visit of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II with her husband in early 1970's. In another longish building there are many artefatcs associated with Tito's life or life in Yugoslavia. he was passionate hnter so you can see many hunting guns, some of them gifts of great statemen of that time. Was he a dictator? Surely, but at that time this was not much different than behaviour in "democtratic" countries. It is suficient to say that Yugoslavia allowe women to vote before Switzerland and that human rights especially those of other races were better observed in Yugoslavia than in USA back in the day. It was political oponents who suffered under the regime.

Thank Filotije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very few people go in and if one really knew of what he did to the ethnic Germans that made the country prosper and the atrocities that he dealt to them, he deserves to have been shot. He took from the people that made the country the Bread Basket of Europe, threw them into concentration camps, took their home and belongings. Having a mausoleum for him is the same as having one for Hitler in Germany.

Thank Kiely042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

We visited the Tito´s grave and his wife with museum (House of flowers). Outside of buildings, yards and steps are not in the best condition - course of adaption. Nature (gardens, grass) is nice and settled. You can feel peace.
Tito´s grave is simple. There are small exhibition of his funeral, blue and white train, photograpy of visit England quenn, some "relay of youth".
Museum has a "smaller" (value) gifts given to Tito.

Thank 17Edy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018

Thousands of items--all things Tito. His grave is a simple huge slab of marble, but his wife's grave is simple and tiny. After his death she was just swept aside and forgotten. Good historical data here in the museum

Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

The House of Flowers is quite small however it had a peaceful and relaxed feel to it. There is a small exhibition inside with a model of Tito’s blue train which many state members travelled on during their visit to Yugoslavia.

Coming from England it was nice to see a photo of the Queen from her visit in 1972, which was enlarged taking up an entire wall. There was also an autographed photo of her and Prince Philip which she gave to Tito.

We paid 200 dinar for students which included the museum of Yugoslavia.

Thank Europeancookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018 via mobile

Our visit to the House of Flowers was pleasant surprise with visiting Belgrade. Very insight overview of life under the communist dictator. Special insightful was the display of the gifts given to Tito during his time in power. Insightful and worthwhile stop if you're intrested in understanding the history of the former Yugoslavia. The outside area is in need of repairs/updates, but the gardens (filled with socialist era art) and inside display were well kept.

Thank U8445GTluisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018

The entire site has a run-down, unkempt feel to it. There is very little of interest to see, and the 72 steps up are a challenge to many people.(For example: a huge collection of tchotchkes make by grade school kids for the birthday of The Great One each year - come on!).
A tribute to a man who was - in the end - just another Communist dictator who suppressed nationalist feelings, with disastrous consequences after his death.

Thank porthead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews