We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the handiest of places”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #38 of 86 Hotels in Belgrade
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not the handiest of places”
Reviewed May 30, 2008

As the Eurovision Song Contest was held in Belgrade in 2008, most hotels tripled their prices. Therefore, the best deal I could find was at the Hotel Rex - which is exceptionally handy for the train station, but not so much for the rest of the city.

The hotel itself works out quite nicely. The staff all speak English and didn't seem to mind me arriving at about 9PM. In retrospect, I would have tried to establish if they could book a taxi for me to the hotel from the train station, as the station is the preserve of cabs who charge flat rates. Of course, the distance is so small that they may not have done that.
They do room service, which is a real saviour after arriving so late, as there's not much in the way of eateries around the hotel. Breakfast is also provided and of a good, if unimaginative, standard.

As my Serbian isn't fantastic, I was particularly pleased that the staff were able to give me simple directions through Belgrade's often rather chaotic streets to get the best out of my stay. That said, if you stay here, be prepared to do a lot of walking - the main sights and sounds are up several steep hills from the hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Professionalwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    134
    54
    9
    7
See reviews for
44
63
52
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2008

We stayed four nights at the rex hotel and we really enjoyed. The staff is really helpful and friendly, premises are really clean, and the breakfast is gorgeous except maybe for coffee which I did not really like...

Also a parking is available in the hotel which is quite nice knwoing that in Belgrade parking is not free from 9 AM TO 9PM every day

Do not hesitate

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — no non smoking area in the dining room as almost everywhere in belgrade
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank albartParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2008

The Rex is a comprehensively mixed bag. The rooms are basically ok and renovated fairly recently, though the room was a mess when I arrived (the maid was called and cleaned rapidly). The attitude of the staff moved from socialist stoicism to extraordinary personal warmth and effort with a few well-placed tips of none-too-excessive sums (100-200 dinars, or $2-$4) for important transactions. Breakfast is scary--but the coffee is gooooodo!

  • Liked — Playing balloon volleyball with the front desk clerk
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mklein818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2007

The Rex is overall OK . Rooms are better then expected if one judge from the lobby, comfortable beds and friendly staff.

Bathroom clean, but too spartan. Not a single stool where to put your things, which might easily slip all into the W. C. if one puts his-her case on the only flat surface, the water container.

Free usage of internet. Sometimes impossible to open the attachments to msgs, though

Location so-so. Full of little shops, but messy and noisy street. Close to railway station , but trains in Serbia don't take you too far. Probably one arrive from the airport.

Breakfast not satisfactory indeed .

Telephone too expensive for the circumstances.

Even with all these drawbacks, the atmosphere is kind of nice and laid -back.

I may go back.

  • Liked — Room, Staff
  • Disliked — Location, Breakfast
Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank anticorpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2007

This hotel has been newly renovated and the room we stayed in was exceptionally nice. Unfortunately the workmanship is a bit shoddy in places (one shower door was hanging off and one blind did not work) so best to visit now rather than later when more repairs might be necessary. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We arrived late (after 10.30) and Reception arrranged for us to have a meal in the restaurant which was due to close. The breakfast was reasonable, though the coffee was poor. The hotel is in a good location, close to the railway station and about a 20 minute walk from the centre.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — coffee at breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BalkanBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2007

We are just back from Serbia and spent the last few days in Belgrade in Hotel Rex. After the other 3 hotels we were disappointed not of the standard of the hotel, we were treated kindly, our maid for our room was lovely and the room was adequate but our problem was the location and the hotel closing the restuarant at the end of July and the whole of August. so that the could refurbish the kitchen we thought that this was not thought out about closing during the tourist season.

We love walking but after a long day we usually like to eat at the hotel or near the hotel but there was nowhere near to eat so you had to go back to the centre of the city which I found very noisy after the peace and quiet of the rest of Serbia.

Linda

  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnielassieGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2007

On forehand I didn't know what to expect. As for hotels in Belgrade you often see reviews about old fashioned furniture and bad functioning showers and other amenities.
So, I was surprised by this hotel. I had a very modern room on the second floor , very large and with a modern bathroom. Certainly a plus was that the floor was made of parquet, which fits me very well as I'm allergic to dust and of course this material is much better to clean. The people at the reception are quite correct and offered the service I expected. Only in the restaurant you see sometimes that they still have to get used to international standards. They sometimes just forgot certain servicedetails like placing enough bread at the tables and they just didn't pay the attention there to the guests(in western europe they mostly hold an eye on the guests to see if there are certain wishes) that I'm used to in the Netherlands. But overall a good hotel, which I will certain visit again next time I come to Belgrade!

  • Liked — the surprising modern room on the second floor
  • Disliked — the coffee in the restaurant......
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchyRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
2.7 mi away
Balkan Hotel Garni
Balkan Hotel Garni
#5 of 86 in Belgrade
403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belgrade City Hotel
Belgrade City Hotel
#27 of 86 in Belgrade
444 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Vozarev
Hotel Vozarev
#43 of 86 in Belgrade
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Adresa
Hotel Adresa
#32 of 86 in Belgrade
111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Argo
Hotel Argo
#16 of 86 in Belgrade
148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mint
Hotel Mint
#1 of 86 in Belgrade
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: 37 Sarajevska Str., Belgrade 11000, Serbia
Location: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Belgrade
#10 Business Hotel in Belgrade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the quiet and safe neighborhood of embassies and ministries, a few steps from the Palace of the Serbian government, the 3-star Hotel Rex in Belgrade, offers guests a comfortable and functional both for business needs in the economic capital of the Balkans leisure, thanks to the renowned nightlife town, but also the wide range of theater, festivals and cultural activities. The Hotel Rex has 94 rooms spread over six floors, all rooms are equipped with air conditioning, private bathroom and a parquet floor of wood, a meeting room, a restaurant with Serbian and Italian specialties, a bar with terrace summer, a rich buffet breakfast and a hairdressing service. It also has parking and offers free wi-fi throughout the duration of the stay. If you are looking for a hotel to organize your business meetings, with adequate facilities and a very good value for money, Hotel Rex is the ideal solution for meetings, courses such projects, workshops, meetings and talks. Strong experience of a professional team, the Rex Hotel offers a meeting room of 45 square meters with natural light. The first breakfast at the Hotel Rex is prepared daily with fresh produce and quality. The passion for the simple and authentic things, the products of the season and the true flavors are reflected in the experience of breakfast, with freshly cooked food, using local products, through a very careful search at kilometer zero. A pinch of Made in Italy in our breakfast service will give our guests the best good morning! We are available to offer gluten-free products and prepare foods to meet every need food. This choice we base our commitment to enhance the kitchen. Certainly starting with the Serbian, tasty, frank and friendly with its fragrant vegetables, like peppers which prepares the sauce "Ajvar" to spread on bread fragrant local or widespread smooth cabbage that is a base for salads and here It is called "Kupus" but that in the fermented version, more rustic and decisive become "Kiseli Kupus". The corba invigorating and tasty soups, are the usual dish of entry in the winter and not only, but also cold cuts, smoked especially those who represent the pride of the Balkan country tradition with the apex tasty as valuable Njeguški Prsut Montenegro. Do not forget the cheese, especially those fresh and soft, like the tasty Kajmak who often doubles as a garnish to grilled meats. The "roštilj" or the grid and the real gastronomic institution of Serbia and the Balkans, the main method of cooking of succulent meats such as beef, chicken, pork, but especially the Plijescavica and Cevapi. The first and a dish very similar to a hamburger-sized abundant and often topped with a dollop of cheese Kajmak, the seconds, Cevapi, are an emblem of the Balkans, meatballs shaped stretches grilled. The recipe to prepare them and a little secret that every cook houses to give their Cevapi a unique flavor. Even the fish dishes are very popular, especially the freshwater fish that often are first smoked and then grilled like carp and Salmon Trout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Belgrade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing