We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Slavija Garni
Ranked #50 of 83 Hotels in Belgrade
Tuzla, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor choice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I was in Belgrade on business, and I needed a hotel with a good location since there was a snow storm taking place, I wanted to be as close as possible to downtown center. 40 EUR a night which I paid is way too much for what this hotel has (or hasn't) to offer. Let's just say that it hasn't been touched since it was initially built, around 40 years ago. Everything is so old, lobby was dark, and even the heat went off for several hours (middle of winter). Bathroom smelled bad too. The only thing going the room had to offer is space and wi-fi, everything else needs a lot of work. So, there you go folks...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirsad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    45
    43
    13
    12
See reviews for
9
32
24
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, and overlooks probably the most entertaining traffic roundabout in Europe. The rooms are of a good size and are clean, but they really need a make-over. The lobby is gloomy and the bar service perfunctory. The people on reception are very nice but are at a loss to remedy the problems with the new internet system that, for unaccountable reasons, will allow access by some guests and not others. Breakfast is a surreal confection of pizza, scrambled eggs, fish fingers and whatever happens to be around on the day. I ate in the restaurant one evening and it was one of the most lacklustre meals I have eaten in a city where you have to be really unlucky to eat badly. In short, it's hard to fault on price but the frustrating wifi and the general need for some redecoration to brighten it up make it easy to avoid visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TackleTart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Just Average Middle Class Hotel. We have been a Group of 6 Travellers and booked that Hotel, due it is very centrally located in Belgrade.
But we have been little bit surprised, that the Interiour is pretty old and needs a "Update" (Renovation) - especially in Comparison with the Price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BEACHSUN1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

we stay there for few days andthe location was good - directly in fron of hotel was the airportbus station and a lot of good connections with the public transport. hotelstaff was friendly, but we have to say, that the room are oldfashioned and need a "update". it is overprized in comparison with other hotels in belgrade. during our stay there, all was clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AzeriTravellerDOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Slavija lux is really not a great hotel. It's location isn't brilliant, a bit too far from the centre to be really convenient - but you can walk it if you need to. The decor is truly appalling very heavy and dark wood, all of the areas need a make over and the room I was in was poor, especially the bathroom (cracked sink, tiles, rusty screws supporting precarious soap dishes etc). The worst thing was the service, which was hilariously bad! To put it in context I'm not sure Serbia in general has gotten the concept of good service ... But this hotel was definitely the worst. I want to give a special mention here to the reception staff who made me wait several hours for my room and the breakfast waiter who decided to lock me out on the veranda for committing the crime of eating outside ! All in all I would urge you to look elsewhere there will be better places in Belgrade I'm sure.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dastardley1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSlavijaLux, Director of Sales at Hotel Slavija Garni, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all, we apologize to you because your stay in the hotel Slavija was not pleasant.
The location of the hotel is in the centre of the city on the main squere, which is often mentioned as the Belgrade Etoille.
Hotel is old (1989 ), and has 3 stars, but we are trying to make our services and relationship between price and quality as good as it can be to satisfy guests who put their trust in us.
However, as you said, we have not managed to meet your expectations, we are sorry that you are so disappointed.
At least I want to explain the waiting time at reception to enter the room . Check in is from 14h. If a guest wants to come earlier, the first prerequisite is to have available a free and orderly room. Second, the pricing policy requires the payment of an early check in which is 30% of the price/night.
Locks on the terrace is really unacceptable. It would be a great favor to us if you had complaind to one of our managers while staying at our hotel. They would be able to penalize certain employees of our hotel for unprofessional behavior.
We are very sorry you had a bad experience in our hotel. We'd love to have a chance to improve your impression .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Belgrade hotels

Piatra Neamt, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

thieves!we made a reservation by phone,they confirmed the conditions showed on site,but we have to pay for breakfast and parking(included on the price),some items of the breakfast very suspicious(salami,patisserie,etc),music very loud on the corridor up to 10 pm....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dragos65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSlavijaLux, Director of Sales at Hotel Slavija Garni, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are very sorry that you feel that way but we appreciate your criticism, because they help us to be better.

As for the additional payment of breakfast, we believe that there was a misunderstanding in communication. The breakfast is included in the price of accommodation but the account is shown as a separate policy because of a difference in VAT on accommodation and food services . The price that you were told over the phone and that is visible on the website is the price for bed and breakfast, so please send us invoice or scan by e-mail and we will immediately fix the mistake.
Parking space usage for guests was free until April 2012, but then there was a change in pricing policy, which is also updated on our website.There is a possibility that you were not informed about that when you booked the parking space, if that so than we apologize for this omission. For this reason, we are ready to provide parking place free of charge if you come next time.
We are sorry if music was too loud for you, we'd like you to inform us right away so we can react and provide you the needed peace .
We hope you accept our apologies and hope you will be once again our dear guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have stayed in this Hotel in September 2012. Room was clean, but with very old furniture, I felt like I'm back in time when my parents were young and I was not born. Place was full of Polish, Chinese and Czechs tourists. Breakfast was poor. Receptionist very very polite, kind people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BurZe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
5.6 mi away
Hotel Lav
Hotel Lav
#62 of 83 in Belgrade
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belgrade City Hotel
Belgrade City Hotel
#29 of 83 in Belgrade
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#36 of 83 in Belgrade
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Balkan Hotel Garni
Balkan Hotel Garni
#5 of 83 in Belgrade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Argo
Hotel Argo
#20 of 83 in Belgrade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Belgrade-City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slavija Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slavija Garni

Property: Hotel Slavija Garni
Address: Svetog Save 2, Belgrade 11000, Serbia (Formerly Slavija Lux Hotel)
Location: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Belgrade
#12 Spa Hotel in Belgrade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Slavija Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Slavija Garni *** (formerly Slavija Lux) is fully adapted to the needs of business people and it is good choice for everyone who wants be a mere stone's throw away from the city's business and shopping areas. * Centrally located * Underground garage with 24/7 surveillance * Free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas * Business Center * OTIUM wellness center at the spot * Laundry and ironing services * 80 comfortable rooms and 11 suites * Slot Club Havana Gambling All rooms have free Wi-Fi, LCD TV with cable channels, mini bar, telephone and central Air conditioning. Room service is available to guests from 07 a.M.-11 P.M. The hotel's location is the ideal starting point for both business and leisure visits to Belgrade. Proximity to the railway and bus stations, bus transfers from/to the airport, with the bus stop right outside the hotel, as well as the exceptional connections to all parts of the city, are what make us unique, and you, our guests, always one step ahead of everyone else! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Slavija Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavija Lux Belgrade
Slavija Lux Hotel Belgrade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing