We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the edge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Slavija Garni
Ranked #48 of 84 Hotels in Belgrade
Celje
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“On the edge”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for three nights. It was very poor accomodation if you are looking for new furniture and new bathroom. Everything is pretty old and used. That hotel seen better times. For example: don't sit on the chair in room because it is dirty with the stains of previous thousands of guests.
If you are positive mind you can go there but if you are sensitive equipment in room can destroy your staying there. In theory there is free wi-fi in all rooms but strength of signal was so low it was impossilbe to check the email on lap top.
Breakfast is OK but smoking is not prohibited in breakfast restaurand and of course there was a smell of tobacco especially because few people just sitting there and smoking.
Good side of hotel are people at the reception. They are really friendly, positive and with full of informations which you need in town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ribez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    47
    44
    13
    12
See reviews for
9
32
25
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilliard, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Walking distance to the city center. Its little old with annoyingly heavy key chains. The restaurant was suppose to close at 11:00 pm but I was not allowed after 10:20. But very close to lot of small restaurants, McDonald etc which are open 24 hours. Staff is really helpful. Nice terrace restaurant. Nice choice of breakfast too. Rooms itself are old, with old linens and old towels. The bath tub is very high, no problem for me, but I think it could certainly a problem for people with arthritis. It is certainly not a 4 star as advertised.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sdhruve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I read a lot of negative reviews about this hotel, and would not have stayed there had all my usual choices not been full. However, it's really not that bad. The roof terrace restaurant has excellent views, good food, and attentive service, and the hotel is right in the centre of Belgrade. The breakfasts are fine, the basement gym has all the facilities you might expect, and the wireless internet is on a par with other similar hotel in Eastern Europe; not wonderful, but not terrible.

The decor is pretty 'intourist' - lots of tatty dark wood and red radiators, but it's certainly not unbearable. We got rooms at a very cheap price for a 4 * hotel. It's nowhere near as good as the Excelsior or the ZIra, but if money is tight or the others are full then it's fine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulmwestwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

The hotel is excellently situated near the places of interest for the tourist, and near the centre of the city. It is a very austere hotel, no doubt the remnant of bygone days. The rooms are spacious but the bathroom was crumbling; the sink was badly cracked and the toilet, operated with a piece of string, only worked intermittently. The shower was secured on the wall and thus lacked flexibility. No safey mat was available to prevent slipping. Buffet breakfast offered a reasonable choice.The staff were helpful and efficient. The hotel was maintained clean throughout.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank COSION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Even though the rooms are average I found them to be clean. More importantly the staff was very kind and helpful. Additionally, the location of the hotel is great and the food excellent.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mila2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

I stayed at the Hotel Slavija Lux for three nights. I read some of the other reviews, and I didn't find it to be as bad as others reviewers said. However, I am a former Peace Corps volunteer and have lived in a mud hut that I shared with goats, so perhaps my perspective is skewed. At any rate, it shouldn't be confused wtih the Slavija Hotel, which is right across the steet and claims to be a three star, rather than the four stars claimed by the Slavija Lux. I thought my room was spacious, the bed was comfortable, and it seemed to be very clean. I found the front desk staff to be very helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was quite nice. The down sides are that although it claims to be in the City center, it's still a good 5 or 6 long blocks (or more) to the downtown area, maybe a 30 minute walk. And there is a busy round-about directly in front of the hotel which goes all day and all night, which I dubbed "the traffic circle of death," from my experiences trying to cross the road. The decor is a bit dark and outdated, but not in too bad of shape. Overall, I thought it was just ok. Not bad, not good, just ok.

Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Azouma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2008

This was definitely the worst hotel that i was ever in! Bloody disaster... Last time this hotel was renovated was approximately 30 years ago.. Every single part of furniture is so old that i can not describe. sink was broken. bathroom dirty. Bed was completely rotten ... so my knee was next to my chin... it was so soft.. i could not sleep entire night .. This was horrible experience.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank M0a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSlavijaLux, Director of Sales at Hotel Slavija Garni, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Sirs,

We are very sorry to hear that you were so disappointed.
Hotel Slavija is one of the oldest hotels in Belgrade (1989). We have a long tradition, good location, but for years we have not renovated. Brand recognition and aspiration to good pricing policy, and providing quality hospitality services are often insufficient to meet the reasonable expectations of guests who come to us first time. In accordance with the possibilities we really started working intensively on improving our hotel product.
We are very sorry you had a bad experience in our hotel. We'd love to have a chance to improve your impression .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Belgrade hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
5.6 mi away
Hotel Lav
Hotel Lav
#65 of 84 in Belgrade
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belgrade City Hotel
Belgrade City Hotel
#28 of 84 in Belgrade
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#35 of 84 in Belgrade
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Balkan Hotel Garni
Balkan Hotel Garni
#5 of 84 in Belgrade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Argo
Hotel Argo
#19 of 84 in Belgrade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Belgrade-City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slavija Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slavija Garni

Property: Hotel Slavija Garni
Address: Svetog Save 2, Belgrade 11000, Serbia (Formerly Slavija Lux Hotel)
Location: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Belgrade
#11 Spa Hotel in Belgrade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Slavija Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Slavija Garni *** (formerly Slavija Lux) is fully adapted to the needs of business people and it is good choice for everyone who wants be a mere stone's throw away from the city's business and shopping areas. * Centrally located * Underground garage with 24/7 surveillance * Free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas * Business Center * OTIUM wellness center at the spot * Laundry and ironing services * 80 comfortable rooms and 11 suites * Slot Club Havana Gambling All rooms have free Wi-Fi, LCD TV with cable channels, mini bar, telephone and central Air conditioning. Room service is available to guests from 07 a.M.-11 P.M. The hotel's location is the ideal starting point for both business and leisure visits to Belgrade. Proximity to the railway and bus stations, bus transfers from/to the airport, with the bus stop right outside the hotel, as well as the exceptional connections to all parts of the city, are what make us unique, and you, our guests, always one step ahead of everyone else! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Slavija Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavija Lux Belgrade
Slavija Lux Hotel Belgrade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing