We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the international travelers”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #80 of 86 Hotels in Belgrade
Reviewed October 17, 2006

I found this hotel at the internet and read relatively good reviews for it. I contacted the hotel manager via internet and made a reservation. Communication was smooth and satisfactory. Taxi fee was about 10 Euro from airport to the hotel if you requested that registered taxi from the tourist information center ;) Hotel staf was kind. The rooms are below avarage regarding to luxury. However if you travel internationally and want to investigate the Belgrade, it will be a suitable hotel for you to sleep, walk around the central places and have a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank bestim99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 150 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2006

We stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Royal. The place on first impression is a bit of an old, run-down place thats had better days. The big thing with this place is to consider how much you are paying and where in the city you are. (32 euro for 2 people, centre of town).
The rooms are worn but the bed is comfy and the TV has some english channels, and the shower isnt bad.
Definately air your room when you get it by opening a window. Non-smoking doesnt exist from what I can tell in the former Yugoslavia but 20min of airing makes it smell not bad.
We did have an issue with towels here. We started off with 2 very tiny ones (hand towel size) that were increased in size every day until the final day when we had something that looked like a normal bathtowel.
The reception are average as far as helpfullness goes. Got the 20 questions when I asked for our passports to change money as they were reluctant to hand them over after taking all our details.
Breakfast average. No cereal.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Doc_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2006

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Paid 32 Euros per night. If you are looking for absolute luxury - forget it. If you want somewhere to stay that is relatively clean and comfortable, then this is OK for the price. The room was a double room with a double bed ( almost like 2 joined futons) . There was a musty smell in the room on entry but opened the window a while and that helped. The room was equipped with an oldish but functional wooden desk and 2 school like chairs. There was a cupboard with ample space ( though the knobs were gone, it could still be opened and closed).... a side table to the bed. Large windows that could be opened ( no view though except for buildings behind), but visited Belgrade to see the place, not sit in my room)..... There was a colour TV with remote with about 30+ channels - including English language channels from UK and USA with recognisable TV programs if you want to chill out after a long day). The bathroom was clean, the bathtub was slightly cracked though everything else was clean and functional. Towels and smaller towels were provided and were very clean and crisp. The housekeeping change towels and toilet paper and anything else they feel you need plus vaccuum the floor. The room was not anything exceptional but it was warm and the bed was relatively comfortable though I did keep slipping into the crack in the middle of the two beds ( no fear that they would part as they are joined together because they didn't and I enjoyed the sleep)...... After a long day, you have a warm and clean shower/bathroom, clean sheets on your bed ( with blankets in the cupboard) and a TV with many channels if that is what you want. The check-in staff were friendly enough and provided you with the information you required or direct you to where you could find what you need. Breakfast was also provided.... I do not eat breakfast so cannot comment though it is provided every morning and is included in the price. The hotel is within close proximinty to many interesting places and also the Belgrade Fortress and ajoining park. The very long shopping mall is around the corner and to walk from the hotel to central station takes about 20 minutes. Overall I felt safe and comfortable and I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJ73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2006

I think Royal must be just the place you need for the closest location among all Belgrade's hot spots.
Its price is reasonable for what it offers. In terms of cleanliness I say it is about average. Decoration is not any impressive, but finally, all it comes down to is what you are looking for.
The fact that it is so close to the center and the busy streen Knez Mihailova makes it a very interesting location.
Personally I didn't find it noisy, but anyway except some sleep at night and afternoon I didn't spend so much time inside it.
For breakfast I have no opinion as I never woke up in time, but there is a delicious and cheap bakery in the same street. In the corner of the other side of Kralja Petra street there is a 24h burger shop, but then your stomach might complain for the huge portion of meat!

Unless you are looking for something really good and romantic, I would suggest trying it.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rafa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Prishtina, Kosovo
13
Reviewed October 31, 2005

May 2005-My first visit to Belgrade and was given two options by the cab driver: Metropol or Royal.. since i didn't plan on spending more than 50 Euros per night.
I decided on Royal because of its location in the Centre of Old Belgrade and was charged 35 Euros per night. The room had Tv with Satelite but the furnishing was quite old and so where the beddings.
The hotel was rather noisy, I guess since it is quite cheap, lots of students were staying there during training and basketball championship games and bringing over company for pleasure. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was okay. Thankfully there many cafe's and restaurants nearby so one can have a good meal before retiring. The drinks at the hotel bar are also cheap.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2005

I've stayed in Belgrade on a number of occasions and each time have chosen the Royal. Ok, it could maybe do with a bit of a refurbishment, but so could countless more expensive places (a lot more expensive places in fact). It's location is excellent and the rooms are clean. Given the extremely limited choice in the city for hotels in this price range it really is pretty good value and a bit of a blast from the past (in a good way of course). I would certainly disagree with the other review which rates it as 'terrible'. If you are expecting one of the better Hiltons then you may be in for a disappointment but it's all about being realistic in your expectations. We're talking about a 20-30 Euro per night hotel here.

The breakfast though! Mmmm...not great. Unusual to get a really bad coffee in the balkans but they manage it here! Quite funny really.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank EdinburghGreyhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2005

I've stayed in Hotel Royal there with my wife in June, 2005. The hotel is pretty old, some say it has rooms which are renovated, but what we had was a pretty Soviet-style double. Modest room with outfashioned furniture perhaps from Tito's times, but still comfortable. Cable television with lots of local and foreign TV channels, air conditioning, bathroom, telephone. Just what you have to expect to get for the price paid. 30 EUR (15 EUR per person) for the double room, breakfast included.

+ cheap
+ situated in the old city center ("Stari grad") close to Kalemegdan fortress and major pedestrian street - Knez Mihailova - with lots of shops and cafes/restaurants, Public Theatre ("Narodno pozoriste"), museums... briefly speaking, CLOSE TO EVERYTHING.
+ 15 km away from airport
+ has a commission-free currency exchange office
+ has an inexpensive restaurant
+ friendly staff

A word of warning for the internet fans: hotel has a public internet PC in the hall, but it's terribly expensive - 1000 din./hour (12 EUR). Still this isn't a problem, the "PLATO" internet-cafe is just about 7-10 minute walk away, and it has ordinary prices (more than ten times cheaper).

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank kurzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
0.5 mi away
Vila Terazije
Vila Terazije
#68 of 86 in Belgrade
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince Hall
Prince Hall
#41 of 86 in Belgrade
49 reviews
0.9 mi away
Belgrade City Hotel
Belgrade City Hotel
#31 of 86 in Belgrade
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Kalemegdan
Hotel Villa Kalemegdan
#54 of 86 in Belgrade
70 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Adresa
Hotel Adresa
#32 of 86 in Belgrade
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Square Nine Hotel Belgrade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Kralja Petra 56, Belgrade 11000, Serbia
Location: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 86 Hotels in Belgrade
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Belgrade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing