We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel experience in my life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Diablo Hostel Belgrade
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best hostel experience in my life”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hostel was very clean, very silent (but yet in the heart of the city) and very affordable.
But the really heart melting experience are the hosts! Dragan, Ivan and Nicolas are three of the nicest guys I've ever met and we still keep contact.

I'm definitely going to visit them again soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    7
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
15
53
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in! After deciding to head to Belgrade last-minute we were very underprepared in terms of knowing where to stay and what to see. The first of these, booking at El Diablo, was by chance and ended up making our stay incredible. The hostel itself was cosy and very welcoming and the staff helped us get the most of Belgrade by helping us find the best bars and cafes, as well as all the best tourist spots. Fantastic hostel, would recommend it to anyone traveling to Belgrade!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KitKelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed for a few nights in El Diablo in October. I chose it because reviews said the staff were really nice, and that is definitely true! I think the two best things about this hostel is 1. It's really small, and 2. The staff are awesome.

Because it's small, you can't help but meet people there, and the staff are also the owners, which means they give a damn. But mainly, actually, they're just super-nice people and cool and interesting. I could stay at this hostel for a long time because very quickly you start to feel at home and the guys are super-helpful and do their best to make sure you have a good stay. You'll probably feel like you've gotten to know these guys on a personal level, at least a bit, by the time you leave. They're really nice guys. At the risk of stating the obvious, they're also Serbian, which means you can find out all kinds of local knowledge, and knowledge of the country too, recommendations etc.

Like many people, I'm really tired of staying in hostels where the staff don't give a damn about you and/or their customer service. El Diablo is basically the polar opposite of this. And like I said, the small size also helps to make it feel really homely.

The wi-fi is excellent too, and the beds are comfy. The showers are great and you can also do laundry here. It's got all the facilities you would expect a hostel to have. A really cool extra, though, is that you get a good towel to borrow for free.

The location is excellent too. It's a 5 minute walk to 'the horse', which is the Republic Square in the centre of town, where EVERYONE in Belgrade seems to meet up to go out etc. That's also where the walking tours start from. You're in the middle of everything here, but it's not positioned on a main road, so there's no traffic noise. It's in a quiet little street about 20 yards from a main road. It's an excellent location - there's even a really useful shop about 30 yards away, if you want to buy food to cook with, or toiletries, or whatever, kind of like a mini supermarket.

The prices of beds and rooms are also good value. Plus you get a decent locker, bedside lamps and there are plenty of power sockets to use.

I arrived on my own here and I really enjoyed my stay. Gets my top recommendation!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very nice place to stay closer from the city center. Ivan and Dragan were very welcoming and advice us some great place to see, events, good local restaurant, and invited us to go out with. Beograd and people here are nice, better if you stay to El Diablo ;)
Thanks to Ivan and Dragan for opening their door 24/7 and your welcoming, you are very interesting and take care of us
Seb and Raffi

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seb b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We arrived very early to El Diablo & although the check in time doesn't say til the afternoon we rang the doorbell at 9am & Draagon let us in without question & let us check in a lot earlier, made us tea & chat with us for an hour about the place, gave us a free map & showed us where the best places are to go & answered any of our questions. We didn't have the money on arrival to pay for the accommodation & he was very chilled & let us pay when we left. We also decided to spend an extra night there & they had no problem with it as our private room was free! The place was clean, however we didn't understand the rule about not eating & drinking in the room, but then there was a kitchen outside you could do this. It had a very homely feel & Draagon offered us dinner that he was cooking that evening, however we liked doing our own thing so we declined & felt really bad not accepting his offer! The beds were 2 single beds pushed together which was a bit annoying but the mattresses were soft so slept well! It was very quiet as there is a rule about no noise after 10pm however our last night we had a horrendous night sleep which is a shame, there was music playing til 1am & we heard lots of talking and shouting from the kitchen all through the night! Very close to the town (about 5 minutes) & the station is about 15/20 minute walk & we found it very hard to find the accommodation at first. Easy to find your way around after a day though!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan-Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

What should i say....When everything is clean and nice, when everybody in the hostel is friendly and you can hang out with them, when the staff has always the perfect recommendations for you when you do not know what to do...what can you think about this hostel then? it's PERFECT!

Thank you so much! We enjoyed our trip because of El Diablo Hostel! We had our base right in the city center where we could always go for questioning, great conversations with Ivan, chill out or whatever! The atmosphere is relaxed and familiar.

So, thank you so much and we will see again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Felix R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

First off the hostel is clean, comfortable and has great facilities. The roof terrace provides a tranquil setting to relax in but the best thing about an already great hostel was the host. The guy that runs the hostel is the kindest most helpful guy you'll meet. First off he'll explain all the places to go to. Not in a typical touristy way

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgefromldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Moskva
Hotel Moskva
#13 of 85 in Belgrade
633 reviews
0.5 mi away
Square Nine Hotel Belgrade
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Belgrade City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Belgrade Art Hotel
Belgrade Art Hotel
#10 of 85 in Belgrade
540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hedonist Hostel Belgrade
Hedonist Hostel Belgrade
#1 of 305 in Belgrade
309 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel Bongo
Hostel Bongo
#2 of 305 in Belgrade
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Diablo Hostel Belgrade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Diablo Hostel Belgrade

Property: El Diablo Hostel Belgrade
Address: 75 Strahinjica Bana, II floor, Belgrade 11000, Serbia
Location: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 305 Specialty Lodging in Belgrade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and visit us at El Diablo, Belgrade's owner operated hostel,allowing us to offer the best value in the city for your stay. From June 2016 our offer includes in our prices full Serbian breakfast! We enjoy running the hostel and have a very diverse, friendly and laid back atmosphere, located in the trendy and upbeat part of town, known as the old Bohemian quarter. A great location to be, surrounded by restaurants, bars, cafes,shopping, cinema, theaters, fitness club, 24 hour convenience stores, open farmer's market, and city trolley and bus service. Make your stay in Belgrade a memorable one. You will be sure to have not only convenient access to all of the historical tourist attractions during the day, but enjoy the best from the wide variety of scenes at night. We are the experts for city life, always up to date on concerts, live music, events and shows. So much to choose from, or stay in and enjoy fresh air and good conversation on the rooftop terrace. All at a very affordable price!Free fast WiFi, free linen and towels, comfortable beds, air conditioning,hot clean showers, full service kitchen, hostel access 24/7, trip planning and organized walking tours, hair dryers, irons, bed reading lamps, security lockers, laundry service available, and much much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your El Diablo Hostel Belgrade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing