We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loads of meat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Zavicaj Restaurant

Zavicaj Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 1,168 Restaurants in Belgrade
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A chain of ethno restaurants Zavicaj is reflected in ethno decor which is creating tempting atmosphere for those who want to experience this authentic ambient. Plates, bowls, cups, and cutlery are made of pottery. Beer is served in mugs made of clay, and traditional drink called ,,rakija" is served in so called "čokančić" that is actually unique type of a small traditional bottle. If you just take a look of the interior you can see decorated coffee pots on wooden shelves, very old coffee mills and irons and similar details. The parts of Serbian costume and heritage are hanging on the walls. You are going to be attracted with interesting beautiful pieces of Serbian folk art like. Plaid tablecloth and wooden chairs, wooden benches covered with a knitted patchwork are creating warm homely ambient. We tried to make each restaurant reflection of Serbian heritage, where you can find handmade crafts from the hands of our grandmothers, ethno clothes, and walls decorated with big number of characteristic details and old object..
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Loads of meat!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely typically authentic Serbian restaurant. Lovely staff, lots and lots of meat and big portions. Great atmosphere and great quince brandy. Very good prices. Go there!

Helpful?
Thank SteveLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    678
    220
    48
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lom, Bulgaria
1 review
“Boyko , Lom , Bulgaria”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Great food. Friendly staff. The food was coked in time. We asked for dishes weren't in the menu. The answer was : Sure , we can cook it :) Well done!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boyko B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradea, Romania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“First Serbian retaurant experience, not dissapointed”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We went here to eat before heading to the Kombank Arena, and since we saw the many reviews about this place and not being from Serbia we decided to try it for ourselves. One lady greeted us before we even entered. Got a nice little table at the window, wich was not really a window, it was open because it was hot outside and it just felt awesome, you were inside but feeling like on a terrace. Items on the menu really had good prices, so very good value for money. We got the lamb in a pot and let's just say we really couldn't finish it. It was very good but it was A LOT of meat. I've been to places where when you order lamb you get 1/4 of the portion here. If you get the beer, the 0.6 you get a mug like in the picture.

Other than that we left satisfied. I recommend this.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZapPyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place, authentic Serbian food, best value for your money”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This place is a small bistro, with an amazing selection of Serbian food, it's almost like you're invited by your local friends for a dinner. Waiters speak English, you can pay with a card. Only con: service is a bit slow when all tables are booked (and as everywhere else, you can smoke inside).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IMNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
“Tasty and hospitable place in the very centre of Belgrade.”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

That was my second time in Belgrade and I've finally opened that the city has places where to enjoy the real Serbian cuisine. My friend took me to this restaurant, as almost for 2 months I was dreaming about chevapchici and rakija from quince (dunja, айва, pigwa). So what I've seen - there were not chevapchici, but BIG chevape and they were delicious. Also home-made kajmak - of three different tastes, home-made bread and rakija from quince, also home-made. Just to compare - everything was fresh and tasty, very close to cuisine of ethno-village Drvengrad (Mokra Gora) built by Emir Kusturica. Rakija was served in such interesting glasses and was perfect. It's a pity I hadn't try more, 'coz I was full, but for next time I know that I will try pleskavica, corba and some salads. So be prepared - portions there a huge.
Interior of restaurant is stylized as serbian kuca (cottage). As I was told some things are from real serbian villages. I think Ukrainians and Poles can find something familiar here to our culture. This place has some features from ukrainian kolyba's and polish karczma's. Also nice is folk music, but it wasn't loud, so you can talk and it doesn't disturb you.
As good side of this place - not only tourists were there, but also local people, so I trust their choice - for sure they know other places in the city where to go, but they were in Zavičaj :-)
Some "technical" points:
Personnel is friendly, waiters speak good English. Menu is in English too. You can pay cash or card - for me it was important, because for example in Budapest you hardly find a place in the centre where you can pay by card. And prices are democratic :-) Restaurant has two halls - for smokers and for people, who like healthy way of life, and trully - they have very good ventilation in smoker's area, so smoke doesn't prevent you from eating and having good time. Also it seems for me to be a good place for a big company of friends - they have space and rich menu for all tastes.
Мені дуже нагадало київську мережу "Закарпатська колиба" років 2011 - 2012, коли там було просто чудове поєднання ціна - якість. Зараз у "Колибі" якість залишилась, а ціни виросли. Так от - тут ще це поєднання залишилось. Ресторан є приємний, атмосфера є не пафосна, але і не проста, не “дешева”. Тому можна спокійно запрошувати бізнес-колег, а не лише гучну компанію друзів. Ще — одразу по тому, як люди розрахувалися та пішли — тарілки та столи прибираються і досить ретельно, що мене також приємно вразило. Не мусиш чекати, аж приберуть начиння, а столи чистять такою смішною пароочисною штукою — не знаю, як диво сіє називається. :-) Загалом — дуже позитивне враження. Шкода, що не працювала літня тераса, хоча здається її там і немає. Знаю, що ця мережа має ще ресторани у інших містах Сербії, тому якщо побачу десь в Ніші знайому назву — зайду не замислюючись. До речі - цей ресторан входить у 20-ку найкращих у Белграді.
Restouracja jest piękna. Gorąco polecam.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pavla_Vasylenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zavicaj Restaurant also viewed

Belgrade, Serbia
Belgrade, Serbia
 
Belgrade, Serbia
 

Been to Zavicaj Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing