We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old style posh, exceptional view of Belgrade” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of caruso

caruso
Ranked #111 of 1,145 Restaurants in Belgrade
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This restaurant iz on the last floor of the building (8-th floor), it has amasing view of New Belgrade side of Belgrade (bridges on river Sava, river Sava, New Belgrade etc.)
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Old style posh, exceptional view of Belgrade”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

The dinner I had was exceptional and the portions a tough thing to handle. The service was good but what was breathtaking was the view to Belgrade's Sava bridges. I did not give it a top mark because of these two things: the entrance to the building and the restaurant itself makes you think you arrived at an underground scene rather than an expensive top rank restau, first, and second the fact that the waiter decided the change he should bring me back was his tip, made me feel angry. However, the rest of the service was quite good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lidia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    28
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
273 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Mind blowing View. Awesome Food. Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

This restaurant has become my new favorite restaurant in Belgrade. I've been coming to Belgrade every year for the past 20 years but if you do not know about this restaurant you could never find it. It is just opposed Hotel Moscow and the entrance isn't very well signalled, you need to take a lift the the 8th floor.
The decor is nice and classy, you must be relatively nicely dressed.
You have a view on the whole of Belgrade, with a terrace/veranda depending on the weather.
The food was super super delicious, I really enjoyed it. They have like 2 menus, one is a "National Menu" which has of course Serbian food and is much more affordable than the "regular" menu. Every main dish on the National Menu is under 1000 RSD while those on the regular menu are above 1000 RSD except if you take pasta .
I took my girlfriend for a romantic dinner, reserved a table on the terrace in advance and we had a Karadodeva Meat Roll, Ustipce (spicy meat balls), Breadcrumbed Cheese for starters, a salad to share and 2 beers each. I ended up paying 3200 RSD altogether.
It is definetely worth the vue, its also super centrally located and from now on when people asked me where to go: CARUSO will be the answer.

The staff was friendly, bread was free, no tricks.
Engish Menu available.
Book in advance to avoid disappointment as they often have corporate events happening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NicoDaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great view, terrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Caruso has a great view, one of the most interesting views that a restaurant from Belgrade can offer you, but however this doesn't mean that the food is good.I have eaten some turkey breast with some sour cream and tagliatelle.Even if the taste wasn't bad I felt very uncomfortable with this dinner.The service was very good, nice music and great view, and I'm sue that if the food was at this standards this review was perfect.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stancioiu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Caruso from Serbia”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff but don't claim Italian cuisine please. In order to understand Italian cuisine you maybe need to travel to Italy first. Just a friendly note. Thanks for the excellent service though.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dorkaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
Level Contributor
154 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Nice view, good food, slow music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

This place is great for meetings over meals and friendly talks as music is on low volume and the atmosphere is quite pleasant. The view is such that you can see miles around and it is as appealing in the evening as well.

The food is good but nothing memorable. The portions are too big for my taste. They still don't know the difference between grilled and pan fried, but still I would say this is a good restaurant and I return there every now and then.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sister-karamazov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed caruso also viewed

 
Belgrade, Serbia
Belgrade, Serbia
 
Belgrade, Serbia
Belgrade, Serbia
 

Been to caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing