We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ornate ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Queen's Astoria Design Hotel
Ranked #37 of 88 Hotels in Belgrade
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel is reminiscent of ages past, reflecting Belgrade 's very colorful past. Our trip to Belgrade and Serbia was all about being immersed in the culture and history - the hotel was a nice introduction to that. It is close to the bus stop and train station .which was a reason we chose it.
Staff were humble and very friendly, helpful; breakfast was good - it was a buffet and offered a variety.
At night , the trams can get quite noisy till late so ask for a room away from the street to avoid that.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snezanaBroadbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria1937, Front Office Manager at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear snezanaBroadbeach,

Thank you for the review. At Queen's Astoria Design Hotel we insist on high quality service and pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our hospitality and our famous buffet breakfast. Every comment is very important to us in order to improve our services.

We hope to see you again soon at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel.

Sincerely,
Marina Negovanović
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 403 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

Very close to major train and bus stations (however, see below). General area is OK but not prime. A 10-15 min. walk to the center of many attractions.

This hotel has elegant marble on the stairs, some very nice architectural features, and some helpful staff (especially days). Indeed staff help was a major plus for us However, its furnishings are quite old fashioned in a "gooky" kind of way that detracts from the ambience, at least for us. Nice bar in basement level.

The rooms are small but functional with modern showers. There is a teakettle and tea/coffee in many of the rooms.

We checked in and were first assigned to a first floor room despite a request for one higher up. We were ultimately upgraded to a high up room with a living area and bedroom and decent bathroom. However, the room was very close to the elevator and it sounds like an elephant thumping with the electronic guard door closes. At night not much elevator traffic but during day you hear it continuously.

Our room had many flaws that reflected inattention to detail. There was only one glass shower door whereas there were meant to be 2. The missing one was on the side closest to the shower spout. The lighting was horrendous; even with all lights on it was hard to see. There was an antique sofa in the living area that was not comfortable and no coffee table on which to put things.

NOTE: This hotel is quite near the major train and bus stations. Bear in mind that if you come in from Bucharest by train you will be dropped at a tiny train station nowhere near the major one and have to fend for yourself (#23 bus a few blocks away will get you reasonably close; buy a bus ticket at kiosk before boarding).

NOTE2: The hotel has a history. It was confiscated from the original owners by socialist government and then sold at auction. There is a serious dispute about whether original owners were adequately compensated (or at all) for their property. Read up on it if that type issue matters to you.

Room Tip: Do not accept room near elevator if you can avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IntlTravlrRevwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria1937, Front Office Manager at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear IntlTravlrRevwr,

First of all I will use this opportunity to thank You for the review.
Our aim is to provide high quality service.
We do our best to meet our guest's expectations and make them feel warm and welcomed.
Every comment is very important to us in order to improve our services.

Warm regards,
Marina Negovanovic
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The hotel's design is very charming. The room was clean, and the service was kind.
The hotel's location is perfect, it is very close to the train station and 10 minutes walk to the city centre.
The traffic noise was noticeable, but not very disturbing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b_mesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria1937, Front Office Manager at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear b_mesi,

Thank you for lovely review. Our aim is to provide supreme hotel experience and this is why we work hard to meet all guests expectations from the moment you contact us.
We look forward to providing you another pleasant stay.

Warm regards,
Marina Negovanović
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Lately I spend in this charming hotel 2 night with a group for Israel that I guided. Rooms are nicely decorated - .Where did they find the lovely Telephones in the rooms. Food is good. Reception is very hospitable.
The hotel is very close to the train station and 10 minutes walk from the lively center of Belgrade.
All my group loved it and I sure I'll come again on next trips.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadi O o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria1937, Front Office Manager at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear nadi O o,

Thank you for lovely review. Our aim is to provide supreme hotel experience and this is why we work hard to meet all guests expectations from the moment you contact us.
We look forward to providing you another pleasant stay.

Warm regards,
Marina Negovanović
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Room was good value for money. Staff kind and helpful, rooms clean. There is free parking for guests (some places outside and other in a parking 100m away) and we even found the car washed for free when we came to pick it up. Rooms are a bit noisy because of traffic noise coming from outside and weak isolation. Breakfast could be definitely better. Wi-fi excellent and free, you don't need to keep logging in each time you loose your connection because there is no password. Recommended for business and leasure stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ESL_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria1937, Front Office Manager at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear ESL_2009,

Thank you for the review. At Queen's Astoria Design Hotel we insist on high quality service and pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our hospitality. Every comment is very important to us in order to improve our services.

We hope to see you again soon at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel.

Sincerely,
Marina Negovanović
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed three nights in Queen Astoria Hotel in Belgrade. The hotel is located in the center of the city and it is very close to the train station. The heart of Belgrade is in walking distance and even Belgrade castle is about 30 minutes walking. The rooms are small, there is only one old elevator in the hotel, it is noisy outside and the air-condition in our room was not powerful. However, the hotel is very nice and clean, the breakfast is very good, the shower is excellent, the beds are comfortable, the staff members are very kind and helpful and you get a good return for your money. If you need a hotel in Belgrade only for BB – Queen Astoria is for you.

Room Tip: A room such as 605 with window on the roof is quite but with less air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abke550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria1937, Front Office Manager at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear abke550,

First of all I will use this opportunity to thank You for the review. Our aim is to provide high quality service and every comment is very important to us in order to improve our services.
Feel free to contact us for more personalized reservation on your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Marina Negovanovic
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Queen Astoria hotel. The staff at the reception was really kind and helpful, made reservations for us and gave advice about what is hot and what is not in the amazing city of Belgrade.

Rooms are clean, shower amazing, beds were comfortable and the hotel has a nice classic atmosphere.

Would I ever return to Astoria? YES!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Jan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria1937, Front Office Manager at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Jan d,

Thank you for lovely review. Our aim is to provide supreme hotel experience and this is why we work hard to meet all guests expectations from the moment you contact us.

We look forward to providing you another pleasant stay.

Sincerely,
Marina Negovanović
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
0.2 mi away
Design Hotel Mr. President
Design Hotel Mr. President
#47 of 88 in Belgrade
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belgrade City Hotel
Belgrade City Hotel
#32 of 88 in Belgrade
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jump INN Hotel Belgrade
Jump INN Hotel Belgrade
#7 of 88 in Belgrade
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Moskva
Hotel Moskva
#12 of 88 in Belgrade
700 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belgrade Art Hotel
Belgrade Art Hotel
#9 of 88 in Belgrade
574 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Belgrade Excelsior
Mercure Belgrade Excelsior
#23 of 88 in Belgrade
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Astoria Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Astoria Design Hotel

Address: Milovana Milovanovica 1 | Stari grad, Belgrade 11000, Serbia
Location: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 88 Hotels in Belgrade
Price Range: $52 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queen's Astoria Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen's Astoria Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing