We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice interior, Great Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queen's Astoria Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Queen's Astoria Design Hotel
Ranked #35 of 83 Hotels in Belgrade
Certificate of Excellence
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nice interior, Great Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

The Hotel has a beautiful historic-style interior. All the staff are amazingly friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Tomislav from the bar for his excellent, funny and friendly service.
They have economy, business and deluxe rooms. I choose the deluxe version and I did not see the other rooms but for me there was nothing special or deluxe. The room was quiet small with a little TV and the shower in the bathroom was one of those modern useless and uncomfortable PLASTIC cabins. That was a downer.
Also the mentioned FREE parking is not at Astoria but at the nearby (300 meters) PRESIDENT Hotel. Normally not a problem but if you arrive after 18hours driving and it is raining like hell it becomes a problem. I was quiet upset when I came back from PRESIDENT by walk WET like a seal.
However everything else great.
Only missed a pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MakkusK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria1937, Front Office Manager at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear MakkusK,


Thank you for reviewing our Queen's Astoria Design Hotel.

It is always a pleasure to hear a sincere comment.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed in our hospitality.


We hope to see you again soon at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel.

Sincerely,
Marina Negovanović
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    139
    47
    17
    5
See reviews for
32
115
34
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed at Queen's Astoria in Belgrade for 3 nights in May 2014. We arrived from Zagreb by train and the Astoria was less than a 5 minute walk from the station so that was convenient. When we left Belgrade several days later we flew out and used the hotel's private car shuttle for 2300 dinar (~20 Euros). Very nice.

The hotel has a rather grand historic feel to it, beginning in the small but elegant reception area and the lobby lounge. The antique elevator evokes a touch of 1930's nostalgia as well.

When we were checking in they couldn't find our reservation, but a short time later they found that it had been entered for the correct day but for 2015. We had booked a Business Room but found it very small so requested an upgrade and were moved to a Deluxe Room. This was much more to our liking. It was spacious and had a Victorian decor feel.

We found breakfast to be poor. There appeared to be a reasonable selection of food in the buffet, but each morning we found that most of the serving dishes were empty or not replenished. Foods that should have been hot were cool and chilled ones were generally warm. We frequently had to ask "Do you have more . . . ?". There were small tour groups staying at the hotel and we may have arrived each day just after they vacated the restaurant. In any case, the young men working there seemed to be having a difficult time keeping up with demand at the buffet.

Another more minor down side was that the room's shower didn't work properly. The light in the shower didn't work, the body massage function didn't work, and the shower didn't drain properly. We brought this to the attention of the reception and the drain problem was (mostly) fixed.

The location of the hotel is close to the train station, but not so close to the central shopping/sightseeing/cafe/restaurant area, which was a 15 or 20 minute walk up the hill. This suited us just fine as we're walkers but some may find it difficult or inconvenient.

All in all the hotel was quite good, but on another visit to Belgrade we might shop around for a more centrally located hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria1937, Front Office Manager at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Rob G,


Thank you for reviewing our Queen's Astoria Design Hotel.
It is always a pleasure to hear a sincere comment.
Every comment is very important to us in order to improve our services.

We hope to see you again soon at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel.

Sincerely,
Marina Negovanović
Front Office Manager
Queen's Astoria Design Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

When you leave the train station, the city looks rather bleak. But 100 meters or so away is an oasis, the Queens Astoria Hotel. The central lobby is antique and inviting, the check-in speedy, polite, and helpful. Dinner...Stroganoff...was excellent, as was the recommendation for the local red wine. The room was ornate but still modern and inviting. Clearly, this hotel is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria1937, Front Office Manager at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Christin A,


First of all I will use this opportunity to thank You for the review.
Our aim is to provide high quality service and we are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel.
Every comment is very important to us in order to improve our services.

We hope to see You soon at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel.

Sincerely,
Marina Negovanović
Front Office Manager
Queen's Astoria Design Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed for two nights for business, great location in the centre opposite main train station. Whole hotel is very old and quaint, room fairly small but warm and comfortable. Great looking super shower but never could manage to get it to work properly, maybe operator error. Staff were amazing, friendly, helpful, always took time to chat and offer assistance. Great value and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria1937, Front Office Manager at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Andrew S,


Thank you for the review. At Queen's Astoria Design Hotel we insist on high quality service and pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our hospitality.

We are looking forward to welcome You again at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel.

Sincerely,
Marina Negovanović
Front Office Manager
Queen's Astoria Design Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We spent our new year holiday at this hotel. The interior design of the hotel was terrific and the rooms were clean but really small. But who cares, we didn't come to Belgrade to spend the day at the hotel room. It was clean and close to the center and it was enough for us. You can reach to the center after a 15 minute walk. I recommend this hotel and would stay again if I come to Belgrade again.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria1937, Front Office Manager at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Nil O,


Thank you for reviewing our Queen's Astoria Design Hotel.
It is always a pleasure to hear a sincere comment.
Every comment is very important to us in order to improve our services.

We hope to see You soon at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel.

Sincerely,
Marina Negovanović
Front Office Manager
Queen's Astoria Design Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
183 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed at the Astoria hotel for three nights this week. Not sure if I should give three or four points, but chose four in the end. I agree with most things written before. Reception staff is friendly and helpful, and the hotel gives a nice impression from the moment you enter it, with its expensive-looking "retro" interior. Same "wow" impression when I entered my room and the bathroom, but when you look at the details, you see that not everything is as great as it seems: The wash basin water tap was loose and connected in reverse (i.e. you open the "hot" faucet just to get cold water and vice versa; probably the plumber couldn't read English and didn't care to ask anyone who does). The "luxury shower cabin" looked great (if you often go to DIY building stores like OBI you will have seen it), but when you enter it everything is made of cheap plastic, some things are loose and knobs almost feel as if they'll fall off next time you use them. The drain pipe was clogged so that you stand in water after your shower. Not a huge issue, but things that should be fixed. Otherwise, everything was OK. Internet worked well and fast. My room had windows into the inner yard which offers no view at all, but you can leave the windows open at night and it was rather quiet. The breakfast offers a good choice of food (although I had the impression that some of the warm food like the pies had been warmed up a few times already, and the offer of healthy bread could be better; there was just white toast on the last morning) and the hotel's location is convenient both for walks to the city and for bus/tram connections. Would probably go back there, but also look for other alternatives which are less "grandstanding/showmanship".

Room Tip: Would suggest a room facing the inner yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thearndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria1937, Front Office Manager at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear thearndt,

First of all I will use this opportunity to thank You for the review.
Our aim is to provide quality service and we are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel. Every comment is very important to us in order to improve our services.

We hope to see You soon at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel.



We hope to see You soon at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel.

Sincerely,
Marina Negovanović
Front Office Manager
Queen's Astoria Design Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volos, Greece
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

It is very beautiful hotel with cozy rooms and delicious brekfast...Good location biside the station and very near to the sightseeing.Beautiful lobby with an old piano.Maybe it will be better the dinner is served to buffet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madia1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria1937, Front Office Manager at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear madia1966,

First of all I will use this opportunity to thank You for the review.
We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our buffet breakfast.
Every comment is very important to us in order to improve our services.

We hope to see You soon at Queen's Astoria Design Hotel.

Sincerely,
Marina Negovanović
Front Office Manager
Queen's Astoria Design Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
0.2 mi away
Design Hotel Mr. President
Design Hotel Mr. President
#41 of 83 in Belgrade
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belgrade City Hotel
Belgrade City Hotel
#26 of 83 in Belgrade
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Prag
Hotel Prag
#22 of 83 in Belgrade
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Jump INN Hotel Belgrade
Jump INN Hotel Belgrade
#6 of 83 in Belgrade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Life Design Hotel
Life Design Hotel
#28 of 83 in Belgrade
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
3.0 mi away
Balkan Hotel Garni
Balkan Hotel Garni
#7 of 83 in Belgrade
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Astoria Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Astoria Design Hotel

Property: Queen's Astoria Design Hotel
Address: Milovana Milovanovica 1 | Stari grad, Belgrade 11000, Serbia
Location: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 83 Hotels in Belgrade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Queen's Astoria Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Queen's Astoria Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing