We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, some bad.”
Review of Life Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Life Design Hotel
Ranked #29 of 85 Hotels in Belgrade
Howey in the Hills, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Some good, some bad.”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The good: Life Design Hotel is right in the heart of Belgrade, near Terazija, a short distance from the large and diverse pedestrianized shopping and dining areas and a ten minute walk from historic Skadarlija. The hotel is very new and the rooms are very clean and modern. Breakfast was excellent. Staff was helpful though a bit disinterested.
Now the bad. I know that I am writing this from an American expectation of hotel standards of service. That being said, some of the quirks in this hotel left me scratching my head. Examples: a huge spiderweb crack in the glass door of the bathroom in our superior suite. When brought to the hotel desk's attention he said 'I know, they're all like that'. Our daughter confirmed the same problem in her room. In addition, the automatic lighting system in her room did not work and so they were forced to sleep with the lights on. The maintenance department's solution was to send someone up to the room to remove the light bulbs! A hotel that represents itself as a healthy lifestyle property, but allows smoking in the lobby and also in the breakfast room. The smoking area is open to the nonsmoking area so that smoke blows right in completely destroying the enjoyment of the beautifully prepared breakfast, although each morning the delicious coffee was cold no matter how early we arrived. The lighting did not work in the restaurant ladies room. A thoughtfully appointed bathroom where the mixing valve in the shower was broken, allowing only a lukewarm shower. The toilets throughout the hotel, though new, had to be flushed several times in order for, how to put his delicately, the solids to be dispersed. It's not like I was trying to flush a dozen eggs! When we asked for more toilet paper for our room, the desk clerk handed us a role from behind the counter. Free garage parking, but no one to help us haul our luggage to or from the hotel lobby or our rooms. We did not have a chance to use the spa facilities.
This is not a cheap hotel by Belgrade standards, which is why I was a bit disappointed. We were here for three days. I can't say enough about how lovely Belgrade and its people are and how much we enjoyed our time in the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ockergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    170
    51
    13
    3
See reviews for
34
137
26
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Good option in central Belgrade. Very new medium size boutique style hotel. Modern and very comfortable rooms although some things don't work perfectly fine just yet. WiFi unreliable during out entire stay and door to balcony did not open (and otherwise very helpful staff could not open it either).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zephyrus33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just arrived back from Belgrad. I liked it quite much. Nice hotel, close to main pedestrian street. Very nice staff, helpful guys at the reception desk. Quite good breakfast, maybe only in the bathroom the smell wasn't nice.

Room Tip: when on sixth/seventh floor don't open windows manualy - there is a remote control ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank expat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just arrived back from the Life Design Hotel.

The hotel is in a very good location,approx 2 mins walk uphill to the main pedestrian shopping street(which leads all the way to the Fortress).Plus 5 mins walk in the same direction to Repulican Square.
If you walk down the hill then the main Railway Station is a 5 min walk away(although there didnt seem to be a lot else in this direction)

The hotel is quite new and modern and most staff speak good English.

The Breakfast was plentiful and a decent selection of warm/cold foods aswell as coffee and tea.

The rooms are very spacious and clean although there was a smell of sewage coming from the bathroom at times plus we also had a smell of tobbacco coming through the vents during the nights.Even though this was a strictly non smoking room??
The balconys at the back of the hotel overlook a residential housing block which is the nature of some of the buildings in Belgrade.

The spa was very nice indeed and very relaxing and is a very good feature of the Hotel(especially after a hard day around the City).

Overall the Life Design Hotel is a very good choice if you wish to stay in the Centre of Belgrade with decent facilities.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel overlook a residential complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ccfceuropesNO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Life Design was a great choice for us in Belgrade. The location is very close to the Republic Square and all the different walking streets. It's 500m from the main train station and thus easy tram access. The hotel is pretty new and the rooms were of good size. The only small gripe are the weird 1/2 window showers that tend to leak water onto the floor. Not sure why hotels do that.

The spa was great (2 hour free access for hotel guests), with 4 different types of saunas (bio, IR, Finnish, Turkish), hot tub, and a foot massage tub. The restaurant was pretty good and the prices are not bad (similar to many cafes we went to in the main areas. Would definitely consider here again if I return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kryzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The hotel is located very close to the main shopping street of old Belgrade and main historical places. It has a free parking which is not common and easy to find in other hotels nearby. The hotel is quite new and already renovated. It is equipped with modern facilities, free wireless internet in the room and air condition which work properly. Breakfast was reasonable as in other hotels of Belgrade. The only problem with the hotel is that it doesn’t have a dissent and welcoming lobby, the existing one is just an improvisation of the reception hall. In my opinion is one of the best values for money hotels for visiting Belgrade

Room Tip: The hotel has also rooms with balcony which is nice to use during summer evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Located in a terrific little shopping area and only a stones throw from Hotel Moskva and access to main shopping and cafanas area, this hotel is very modern and features excellent spa facilities. Certainly worth having a treatment here, was one of the best massages I've experienced and the bath areas are exceptional. The hotel has a strict non smoking policy throughout which would be a highlight for some. free parking is also a bonus. If you after 'character' I would suggest the Moskva where we also stayed but this is certainly an excellent hotel. Helpful staff also.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
0.3 mi away
Belgrade Art Hotel
Belgrade Art Hotel
#10 of 85 in Belgrade
541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prag
Hotel Prag
#24 of 85 in Belgrade
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jump INN Hotel Belgrade
Jump INN Hotel Belgrade
#4 of 85 in Belgrade
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Moskva
Hotel Moskva
#13 of 85 in Belgrade
636 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Old Mill Hotel, Belgrade
0.3 mi away
Belgrade City Hotel
Belgrade City Hotel
#28 of 85 in Belgrade
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Life Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life Design Hotel

Property: Life Design Hotel
Address: Balkanska 18, Belgrade 11000, Serbia
Location: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 85 Hotels in Belgrade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Life Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LifeDESIGN Hotel is the unique hotel in downtown Belgrade which offers comfortable accommodation and comprehensive service that meets the needs of modern business man.Guests can enjoy in Spa Oasis, garage and internet free of charge. The price includes bed and breakfast (buffet), which is served daily from 06:00 to 10:30. Guests can choose from variety of rooms and suites, distinguished by simplicity in form, inspired by the cosmopolitan spirit and needs of modern businessmen. Our conference rooms 1 and 2, located in the ground floor of hotel, are equipped with modern technical equipment, perfect for all types of meetings. For all our customers, we offer FREE of charge: projector, screen,WiFi Internet and a flip-chart. Restaurant '' Privilege'' care for their guests, and so the rich variety of vegetarian specialties and gluten and casein free dishes are offered. The exclusive Spa center is a part of the LifeDESIGN Hotel, offering the highest level of care for your face, body and spirit. Spa Center has a Jaccuzi, Finnish sauna, bio sauna, infrared sauna, steam bath, Kneipp, tepidarium and state of the art BeautyTech machine. Spa center offers a variety of unique massages, as well as numerous face and body treatments. LifeDesign holistic center's mission is to become a gathering place for all people who care about their well-being and are willing to do the extra step toward its full development. Team LifeDesign holistic center is made up of permanent and visiting members - top experts in their field, who will guarantee that all the activities of the center will be tailored to your specific needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Life Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing