We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern in Belgrade.”
Review of Life Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Life Design Hotel
Ranked #28 of 85 Hotels in Belgrade
Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Modern in Belgrade.”
Reviewed June 2, 2011

The bedroom was large modern and clean.
The bathroom was nicely designed and clean. The water in the shower was not as hot as it should have been.
The air conditioning is somewhat unusual insofar as the guest has no control over the temperature, the fan is much too noisey. When we asked reception how to turn off the fan we were told that it was preset, and that if we opened a window it would go off. And it did!
Breakfast is good with nice fresh bread, fruit juice, scrambled eggs, rashers, pastries, hams and cheeses. However the coffee was not to our taste.
Staff at reception were very helpful in assisting us to get from the airport to the hotel, and addressing our needs.
The decor throughout was modern and interesting.
The hotel is on a back street very close to the centre of the city.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seeburg3Leixfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    168
    50
    13
    3
See reviews for
33
136
26
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2011

They didn'r have all of the items from the menu on offer in the restaurant... Otherwise, excellent!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank se7ene7e7en
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

well located, modern hotel, very nice staff, but air conditioning is a real nightmare: even when put on off, continues to be very noisy and to send a huge amount of air, impossible to stop - staff could not do anything, just admit that there was nothing to do -seems to be a major design and conception problem

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leopold17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
92 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We really enjoyed our city break at the Life Design. The hotel is clean and modern and the staff at the hotel are absolutely fantastic, very helpful and friendly.

The room we had was massive and there was a large comfortable bed. The bathroom had modern fittings and had a large shower but no bath but this wasn’t a problem for us. Toiletries and towels were replenished/changed each day and the room was cleaned daily. Also in the room was a large LCD TV with loads of channels in English, a digital lock safe, mini bar and a couple of chairs. When we were there the aircon in the rooms was switched off but we were out most of the day and at this time of year it was cool at night so it wasn’t really a problem. We had a balcony but the view was not really all that spectacular but as I say, we were out most of the time anyway.

In the basement of the hotel is a spa/beauty treatment centre, we had a look round but didn’t try the spa.

Breakfast was good. It was continental style with the addition of bacon, sausages, eggs and eggy bread.

Although the hotel is not on the prettiest street in Belgrade, the location is really good. Across the street there are a couple of bars and some steps that lead up to a large underground supermarket. Turn left out of the Hotel and the road leads up to the main shopping streets or you can continue past the supermarket and the underpass brings you to the same place, either way it’s only a few minutes walk.

We got the No 72 bus from the airport, it was 100 RSD for two tickets (about 1 Euro) and it runs every 30 minutes. Taxi drivers told us the bus wasn’t running or that it no longer went to Belgrade but this wasn’t true. If you get the bus buy your tickets from a kiosk at the airport and get off at the terminus in Belgrade. Opposite the bus stop on the other side of the road is a market, take the road that runs down to the left of the market (Kraljice Natalije), when you get to the Hotel Prag turn left and the hotel is up the street on the left hand side (it’s about 5 minutes walk).

We didn’t really know what to expect in Belgrade but it turned out to be a great city. The people were friendly and it felt like it was a safe place. We found some nice bars and restaurants and the prices were cheap compared to the UK. The old fortress was well worth a visit as was the Bohemian quarter (Skadarska).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tedlooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We found this hotel via internet and booked it. We did not regret since it was a great choice. We stayed in junior suite and it was huge. With comfortable king-size bed. The spa in the hotel is excellent and since we are regular visitor of spa centers and thermal baths we can add that it had all theh big thermal baths have - 4 diff. saunas, jacuzzi bath, kneip for feet, showers with mint and vanilla essences... The service in spa center is also very good and it offers professiona servicesl.
The great thing about the hotel was that you could take breakfest I think untill 12.00. On 1. of January this was very handy. The hotel is in the centre of Belgrade 2 min walk from Knez Mihajlova street and still very quiet so you can sleep at night. They do not charge extra for an undergound parking and we could even bring aour pet for no aditional cost. Extraordinary!!! All in all a great hotel with excellent service, perfect location and very reasonable prices. We will definitively stay here again on our next visit to Belgrade.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice_who
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

This is an excellent city hotel , its clean , comfortable , modern and perfectly located for exploring the city. The front desk staff are friendly and way more torrelent of interruption than many a hotel I've stayed in.

Location : It is located 1 minute walk from decaying old Hotel Moscow and 3 minutes to the main pedestrian street "Knez Mihailova" and McDonalds is about the same.

Rooms : The double superior rooms are a decent size and comfortable , very modern , the light switches are a bit confusing but you master that quickly. There is a safe and a flat screen TV with HDMI input if you tier of the scores of channels, many in english and some that did not need any language skills. We all had problems with the aircon not working : it was always warm which just means opening the window to cool the place down, not a great problem (in November).

Internet : Wireless in restaurant and lobby only, cable in room, ask for key / cable from staff, no charge.

House Keeping : My room was cleaned every day , fresh shower gel, towels , bedding and cleaned away my cloths.

Breakfast : Selection of hot and cold food as you would expect, you can come close to a english breakfast in that continental way, but I'm just being narrow minded.

Food : Other than breakfast I did not eat in restaurant (privialage). my friend had room service which was OK , but hey this is belgrade with some wonderful old restaurant in Skadarska street.

Jacuzzi : They all the trappings of a luxary health club (minus a pool) , you can book it for an hour or 2, it was relaxing.

Cost : We were in a group of 8 and paid around 100euros per night.

Useful info :
- There is a little coffee shop / bar over the road "Freya" which was a good meeting point. Owner really helpful chap booked taxis and restaurant for us.
- Free Walking tour - http://www.belgradewalkingtours.com - 2 hours, great to get your bearings, they do it for tips, 5-10 euros is polite.
- Shop up road sells water etc., go down the road to junction for midnight burger etc.
- Over the road is are some rundown concrete pedestrian steps leading to underpass that leads to McDonalds , a an underground super market and cheap sock shop. It is all safe.
- Gentleman's club near hotel very modern, not seedy , not threatening, difficult to notice, just an expensive trap for business men I guess.
- Belgrade felt very safe walking around day and night.
- http://wb-transfers.com/transfers.html - 30euros to airport for mini bus, hotel also do transfer via taxi for less.
- We also caught bus to airport "72" to visit aircraft museum, every 30 mins, 40 mins travel time, 2 euro return and 6 mins walk from hotel. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Museum_of_Aviation_(Belgrade) small place but museum staff happy to talk about aircraft history, remains of stealth fighter was fascinating.
- Make sure you book night clubs in advance, useful contact http://www.reserve.rs/en/reserve-offers.html
- Nice walk in bars down Strahinjića Bana / "Silicon Valley" follow the life music.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank micro1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Booked this hotel based on reviews, but was very disappointed.
There are certain things which one expects from a 4* hotel -
- Advertised air conditioning actually being available. This was the worst. We arrived in a November heatwave, but the heating was on a winter setting and apparently could not be reset. Consequently our room temperature never dropped below 25.5C, and reached over 27C. That was with the window open and the consequent street noise
- Bedding changed daily. Didn't happen during our 3 night stay
- Adequate toiletries. Sorry, but 1 bottle of shampoo per night, and no shower gel doesn't do it
- Decent sized towels
- Tissues. Is that a lot to ask?

The breakfast was good - not a huge selection, but then it is quite small. And some of the waiting staff were very helpful.
I disliked the strong air freshener being used.
I also disliked the frosted glass window between bathroom and bedroom - I prefer my privacy in the shower.

Good location, and easy to reach the sites.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenLMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
0.3 mi away
Belgrade Art Hotel
Belgrade Art Hotel
#11 of 85 in Belgrade
533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prag
Hotel Prag
#25 of 85 in Belgrade
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jump INN Hotel Belgrade
Jump INN Hotel Belgrade
#6 of 85 in Belgrade
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belgrade City Hotel
Belgrade City Hotel
#29 of 85 in Belgrade
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Moskva
Hotel Moskva
#13 of 85 in Belgrade
627 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Old Mill Hotel, Belgrade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Life Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life Design Hotel

Property: Life Design Hotel
Address: Balkanska 18, Belgrade 11000, Serbia
Location: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 85 Hotels in Belgrade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Life Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LifeDESIGN Hotel is the unique hotel in downtown Belgrade which offers comfortable accommodation and comprehensive service that meets the needs of modern business man.Guests can enjoy in Spa Oasis, garage and internet free of charge. The price includes bed and breakfast (buffet), which is served daily from 06:00 to 10:30. Guests can choose from variety of rooms and suites, distinguished by simplicity in form, inspired by the cosmopolitan spirit and needs of modern businessmen. Our conference rooms 1 and 2, located in the ground floor of hotel, are equipped with modern technical equipment, perfect for all types of meetings. For all our customers, we offer FREE of charge: projector, screen,WiFi Internet and a flip-chart. Restaurant '' Privilege'' care for their guests, and so the rich variety of vegetarian specialties and gluten and casein free dishes are offered. The exclusive Spa center is a part of the LifeDESIGN Hotel, offering the highest level of care for your face, body and spirit. Spa Center has a Jaccuzi, Finnish sauna, bio sauna, infrared sauna, steam bath, Kneipp, tepidarium and state of the art BeautyTech machine. Spa center offers a variety of unique massages, as well as numerous face and body treatments. LifeDesign holistic center's mission is to become a gathering place for all people who care about their well-being and are willing to do the extra step toward its full development. Team LifeDesign holistic center is made up of permanent and visiting members - top experts in their field, who will guarantee that all the activities of the center will be tailored to your specific needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Life Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing