We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For fun not for eating” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reka

Reka
Ranked #35 of 1,146 Restaurants in Belgrade
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Novalja, Croatia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“For fun not for eating”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Here you go out if you want to have fun with live music,not if you want to eat well. Fish and sauce with vegetables that we ordered were extremely poor. Tasteless and overdone. The staff is very polite and friendly. I repeat: if you want to eat well don't go there. Just for fun until the early morning hours. Reservations required!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaudio72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    46
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lively & Local!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our group (7 People total) enjoyed a really great late afternoon into evening experience at Reka! It was an easy taxi ride from our hotel (Moskava) and fun to walk into the neighborhood feel near the River! They featured a great little group of live music that we could sing along to and the staff were very friendly! The view looking out onto the Danube was lovely. The decor here is casual and funky and fun!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisaDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vrsac, Serbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Restaurant Reka on Danube”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very pleasant restorant just by the river Danube. On weekends pleasant live, evergreen, latin music (Cesaria Evora type). Excelance music, fabulos food. Excelent athmospere during day or night. Only down size is leak of aircodition in hot summer days, fans are present but if temperature is way over 35 than it is not enough.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kbrana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Have the Time of Your Life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Reka means “River” in Serbian, and this unique restaurant is situated just meters from the river Danube in a quiet part of Zemun (Semlin) which used to be a separate town, but is now a part of Belgrade. Reka is now practically an institution of Belgrade nightlife but I still remember my first visit almost twenty years ago when the restaurant was still young and well on the way to its future glory. My friends took me there telling me what a great place it is, but when I came in we had some drinks and ordered dinner, which is quite good but certainly nothing spectacular, and I asked them wonderingly, so, what is so special here??? They just told me to wait a little and well, I didn't have to wait very long :) After the music started, and it starts around 10 p.m., the place gradually came alive just like by magic. Very soon everybody was singing and dancing in a totally relaxed and spontaneous way and the atmosphere simply takes you away. If you want to find out why Belgrade is famous for its nightlife, this place is one of the musts. I certainly haven’t come across anything like it anywhere else, and I travel a lot. It is hard to describe the magic of Reka. The setting is inviting, the place charming, the drinks and food are ok, but the bands and the music are definitely superb and the atmosphere just divine. Aim for the weekend of course, make sure you have the reservation and dance the night away in a one-of-a-kind atmosphere thousand times better than any disco or club. My very special recommendation is for Sunday evening and Libra band. There is no way to convey it in words, you just have to see it, to hear it and to feel it. One important point: by day Reka is a nice but ordinary place and it is only by night when it is transformed into the glorious Cinderella party-all-night-long :) If you come here on an evening when the place is full and the atmosphere good, which happens here very often, you will certainly remember it forever. Don’t take my word for it – go check for yourself! :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxed place with the local cuisine and live music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Restaurant Reka, which in English means the river is located in one of the most beautiful parts of the old Belgrade called Zemun. The restaurant is on the bank of the river with great food and very nice view. This restaurant is known as one of the most popular in terms of evening entertainment. Band plays great and the visitors are extremely relaxed. Everybody are singing and dancing. This is right place if you want to taste the local cuisine and relax with live music.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Katarina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reka also viewed

Zemun, Belgrade
Belgrade, Serbia
 
Belgrade, Serbia
Belgrade, Serbia
 

Been to Reka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing