We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hostel of Brotherly Love”
Review of Star Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Star Hostel
Ranked #147 of 313 Specialty Lodging in Belgrade
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here in both of its guises (the hostel moved location after first visit in 2008).
The Milojevic brothers are some of the best company you could hope to find. Very laid back, and always up for a chat about anything at all. They are very, very helpful too when it comes to city advice, booking taxis, restaurant/bar advice. I stayed here on trips to/from Macedonia, one time I needed to leave a large bag in the hostel for a couple of days and they were totally fine with that. Good value for money, good location for visiting the castle and the bars/restaurants of the older town.
I am long overdue a trip to Belgrade and when it comes, I'll certainly be paying this place and Marko and Djordje another visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingolfsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Star Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 43 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed 1 month in Belgrade, and I was at Star Hostel during this period. It's literally in the center of Belgrade, close to everything, all the touristic points and everything else that happens in the city.

Room Tip: It depends! You can get a private room or a dormitory.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank André F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have stayed with 2 friends for 2 nights, at the beginning of March in this hostel in 6 person’s dorm.
The room was clean, warm enough for that period, there are big lockers and also the room can be locked.
There are 2 bathrooms, one on the main floor, and one upstairs.
Downstairs there is the lounge with computers, TV, darts etc...
The kitchen is also well equipped.
Location is very good, approx. 10 min from city center and other main interest sights, like the Fortress.
The best part of the hostel is the very friendly staff, always willing to help you, especially Marin. The atmosphere is great because of the young people who run this hostel.
If I ever come back to Belgrade, I would definitely stay at this hostel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Everything was very fine. The hostel is very near to center. You can walk everywhere easily. The room prices are very fine. Also you can pick up yourself from airport in a good price.
The stuff and the other guests are so friendly. Specially Mladen is the most helpful person is Belgrade.
We really enjoyed the stay...

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meltemckaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I cannot fault the staff at this hostel, they were helpful, friendly and informative.
The hostel has a lot of character and I get the feeling it’s the kind of place which would be fun to hang around in if there were a few of you, or if you were solo travelling and they had a full house.
The room was clean and well equipped with TV, fridge, lamps, although the bed was pretty creaky so did wake us a few times through the night.
One thing I would fault is the bathroom. The sink was blocked and in need of a good clean. I’m a bit of a wuss when it comes to bathroom cleanliness, especially if it’s a shared bathroom so I found it hard to clean my teeth for the 2 days I was there. I would be concerned that there would be a long wait for the shower at peak times, but there is another bathroom on the floor below, so may not be the case.
This place had a definite fun, student feeling to it, so if that’s what you’re after, give it a go.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireM1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed at this hostel last week and would definately recommend it, as well as Belgrade in general. The two brothers that run the hostel are absolutely great, and also the third guy, who reminded me a lot of Lebowsky, was very nice. This hostel makes you feel right at home!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPaultje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed for two days in the star hostel after the Exit Festival and what a nice stay it was! Actually, this was my second good experience with this hostel, as I also stayed there three years ago.

The two brothers owning the hostel, George and Marco, are nice and really helpful. Furthermore, they're always in for a chat, discussion or just a cardgame. And, when the night progresses, they're in for some rakija also ;) The hostel has a very homely atmosphere, which makes the experience even better. The basement has two computers, a TV, a xbox (really nice in the morning after a night of going out), darts, cards, games, books and so on. It's the ultimate chill-out zone! The rooms themselves are neatly kept and you have the possibility of airconditioning.

I actually didn't find anything I don't like about this hostel. It's one of my favourites in the whole of Europe :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TobiasTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
3.9 mi away
Balkan Hotel Garni
Balkan Hotel Garni
#6 of 86 in Belgrade
407 reviews
2.5 mi away
Garni Hotel Side One Design
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Old Mill Hotel, Belgrade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Belgrade Modern Hostel
Belgrade Modern Hostel
#12 of 313 in Belgrade
159 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Zlatnik
Hotel Zlatnik
#1 of 2 in Zemun
116 reviews
1.4 mi away
City Break Hostel
City Break Hostel
#21 of 313 in Belgrade
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hostel

Address: Cara Urosa 37b, Belgrade 11070, Serbia
Location: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 313 Specialty Lodging in Belgrade
Price Range: $75 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star hostel is one of two oldest hostels in Belgrade. We opened our doors first time in summer of 2005 and have been on a good reputation ever since. We are located in the true centre of Belgrade in the Old town (Stari grad - Dortyol). Our set-up offers you privates and dormitory style rooms by backpacker prices, well equipped kitchen, free breakfast, free internet free custom maps and common room for leisure time. Common room includes wide screen TV for video games as well as for watching movies. Our movie collection is counting over 1000titles as well as everyone favourite TV shows. In our neighbourhood you’ll find 24h shops, ATMs, exchange offices, fast food joints, national restaurants and plentiful of Belgrade’s bars and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Star Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing