We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old fashioned hotel slavija”
Review of Slavija Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Slavija Hotel
Ranked #78 of 86 Hotels in Belgrade
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“old fashioned hotel slavija”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

i stayed at this hotel last week for 3 nights. The hotel is very basic, the room was clean but the TV was not working and the elettrical sockets were coming off from the wall, The window in the room could not be closed properly and i can see how this can a be a problem during the cold serbian winter. On the positive side the breakfast was very good and the hotel is located 20 minutes walk from the Republic square and the magnificent Sava Temple is just behind the hotel. I would recomend this hotel only if you are on a strict budget, i am not sure if i would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gherardo355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    50
    75
    41
    44
See reviews for
22
41
55
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Do not even dare to stay in this place! There are hostels that I have been much more clean and nice. it is not worth to pay the price for even a single night there! Only location is good, 20min walking from the Castle and the main street. Bohemian quarter is near, too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desislava G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Belgrade hotels

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was forced to stay here by JAT Airways after a flight was cancelled. While the location is great and the staff were very kind to 50 angry people who had a flight cancelled, the rooms were pretty bad. The issue of it being 36degrees and having no air conditioning made it worse. The beds were tiny, hard and the sheets felt like sandpaper. This hotel could remedy some of this by having a/c or fans and the rest of it wouldn't seem so bad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel hasn't been renovated for a while but the rooms are still OK if you are looking for a place to stay for a night or two. Very cheap (buffet breakfast included) and centrally located in Belgrade makes it a good value for money. In addition to that, if you are arriving by plane, use JAT bus transfer which will drop you just in front of the hotel. Same for travel to airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MirzaMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presov, Slovakia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Hotel is in good location because it is in the center of Belegrade. Rooms are old fashioned, some of electricity were really terrible, lifts were so noisy and I was afraid when I was inside. Bathroom and toilet were in not very good condition. But when you want sleep there just for one night it´s good choice. Receptionists were really nice, polite and helpful. Stayed one night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MajuskaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

First of all let me say I feel so sorry for the staff working at this hotel, they were all helpful and polite and they all really seemed to be doing a wonderful job in difficult circumstances. The second good point about this hotel is its location, situated in the heart of Belgrade you are perfectly situated for everything the city has to offer. These are the only two goods things I can say about the hotel.
The room was a death trap and I would have been so worried about staying there with kids. Loose and dangerous electrical wiring was evident in several places, loose toilet seat, extremely sharp edges in the bathroom that would have easily sliced open a finger or hand and a room that looked like a third world cheap hostel. I took photos of the room which I have posted, even now when I look at them I find it hard to believe I stayed in such a death trap. The whole room needed gutting and completely overhauling.
The hotel itself is very large and clearly dates back to the communist era, it is typical of the kind of buildings from that time. The whole hotel feels tired and worn out and it is crying out for some investment. Breakfast was mediocre and I was just glad to stay one night. To be honest I had just spent 6 hours driving and had I not been so tired I would have checked out and found another hotel. However since I was only staying one night in Belgrade the aggravation of finding another hotel at such short notice was too much effort.
I have stayed at a wide variety of hotels, from budget to luxury and I know you often get what you pay for. Even though this is a budget hotel (and not to be confused with its sister hotel across the road the Slavija Lux) I expect at least the basic amenities to be clean, serviceable and safe. My room failed on all of these counts. Stay at this hotel at your peril you have been warned!

Room Tip: unless you have no other alternatives, avoid this place at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morteeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

As others have said, if you are looking for accommodation that is simple, reasonably priced and accessible then the Slavija will meet your needs. The airport bus stops literally right outside the hotel which is part of the reason we chose it as we had an early flight to catch on our departure.

Undoubtedly the hotel is a little dated and in need of a bit of TLC. Our room was spacious but the bathroom looked like it hadn't had a lick of paint for a few decades! But considering the price and accessibility, and considering that we simply wanted somewhere to sleep and not to spend much time, I would stay at the Slavija again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TomM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Slavija Garni
Hotel Slavija Garni
#50 of 86 in Belgrade
145 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Family
Hotel Villa Family
#60 of 86 in Belgrade
8 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#38 of 86 in Belgrade
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Balkan Hotel Garni
Balkan Hotel Garni
#5 of 86 in Belgrade
403 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vozarev
Hotel Vozarev
#43 of 86 in Belgrade
70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belgrade City Hotel
Belgrade City Hotel
#27 of 86 in Belgrade
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slavija Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slavija Hotel

Property: Slavija Hotel
Address: Svetog Save 1-9, Belgrade 11000, Serbia
Location: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 86 Hotels in Belgrade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Slavija Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Slavija Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavija b Belgrade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing