We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms but otherwise OK”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #22 of 85 Hotels in Belgrade
Certificate of Excellence
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Small rooms but otherwise OK”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here twice as a family while transiting through Belgrade, in summer 2012.

Staff were quite friendly and breakfast was good.

Access to rooms is not fully step free (you have to walk a few steps to reach the lift which is very small).

Rooms are pretty basic but very clean. Wifi worked fine and there was free fruit in the room.

The location is very good, next to the parliament.

Overall, there is not much to complain about but there is not anything to be raving about either. This is a solid hotel which is to be recommended if you are looking for basic amenities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Evans1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    253
    72
    12
    15
See reviews for
63
121
109
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here for two weeks on business. My initial room was too noisy (1st floor overlooking main road) - staff responded positively to my request for another room. I ate in the restaurant several nights as there was good choice and reasonable price. Limited choice for breakfast and not a lot of interest from waiters.
However the reception staff get a gold star for attentiveness and helpfulness. They pointed out places to go, how to use the buses/trams etc. I will stay here again (better than the Prag where I stayed last visit)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hmiwmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Central location and close to everything. Contemporary and smart decor. Very good breakfast. I had a single room which was the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. Nevertheless, it has everything you need. Good value. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Russell21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Hotel has very good location with modern look and feel. Stuff was friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was very good. Only complain was that the bed was not the most comfortable. We enjoyed our stay very much and we will certainly come back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel came recommended. First impression from the reception staff were friendly and my room booking was dealt with promptly. I stayed on 2 separate occasions during a 10 day tour of the country and could not fault either room, everything was well coordinated clean and comfortable the shower room was excellent. From other reviews on the breakfast, it wasn't my usual breakfast but I see that as part of the experience when visiting another country I certainly did not go hungry. The location could not be better for exploring the shopping areas or the places of interest I would have no problems in recommending to friends and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCasey27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pozzuoli, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Breakfast selection is very limited and waiters are not very reactive and ready when in the morning the service should be very responsive.

The toilet in the room was simply ridiculous: one microscopic room for the toilet, and another a bit larger room for the shower. The shower got flooded immediately; there is no curtain, nor glass-barrier, apparently the sink was obstructed since centuries.
The rest of the room is excellent, but with a bathroom like that a longer stay can easily become a nightmare!!!

Satellite tv-channels are limited. No chance for Italian, French, Spanish customers to enjoy the time-off in the room watching tv.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacopoPozzuoli_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

You can't really go wrong with this place. Perfectly acceptable. Nice, refurbished hotel. Good location. Good room and good powerful shower. Decent minibar. Quiet and with good air con. Buffet breakfast not the best for me but depends on your taste - excellent coffee (and tiny local cakes!). Others will love the meat and cheese. Decent price.
Try to find Pire restaurant (not easy) - well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aim-to-travel-light
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belgrade hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Old Mill Hotel, Belgrade
0.3 mi away
Hotel Moskva
Hotel Moskva
#13 of 85 in Belgrade
634 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mint
Hotel Mint
#1 of 85 in Belgrade
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Belgrade Art Hotel
Belgrade Art Hotel
#11 of 85 in Belgrade
540 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jump INN Hotel Belgrade
Jump INN Hotel Belgrade
#5 of 85 in Belgrade
271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Belgrade City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Property: Hotel Excelsior
Address: Kneza Milosha 5, Belgrade 11000, Serbia
Location: Serbia > Belgrade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Belgrade
#8 Romantic Hotel in Belgrade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Excelsior Belgrade features brand-new refurbished guest rooms and it is located in the very heart of the city, right across from the City Hall and the National Assembly. The rooms at the Excelsior feature cable TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. Hotel Excelsior Belgrade provides safe airport transportation at fair prices upon request. Surrounded by the Pionirski and Tasmajdan Park, it is within easy walking distance from all major embassies, theaters, old bohemian quarter Skadarlija, Kalemegdan Fortress, restaurants and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Belgrade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing