We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place and Great Food!”
Review of Augusta Irish Pub

Augusta Irish Pub
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Augusta
Cuisines: American, Irish
Restaurant details
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
1 review
“Great Place and Great Food!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We visited the Augusta Pub in April 2013 and had a great experience! The staff did a great job at accommodating our group that came with us to visit. The food was delicious and we received it quickly with all the orders they had from our table! A great asset to Augusta, KY! I recommend everyone stop in to the pub when traveling through Augusta.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MilitaryWife2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio U.S.A
Level Contributor
150 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A little boring!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This place has a lot to offer but we didn't see anyone in a hurry to wait on us or clean the place! it has so much potential but lacks the character in the help to want to make you welcome! hopefully that changes!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, KY
Level Contributor
116 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful Pub!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

First time in Augusta. We loved the town and read a prior review for this pub on tripadvisor. This is a beautiful old building with wood details. The manager, Donna waited on us and provided excellent service. I tried the shrimp and my date had a burger. We loved both meals and ended up splitting a piece of apple pie to top off a great experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ellsee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati, ohio
Level Contributor
224 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Top Shelf Pub Grub”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Augusta, Kentucky, nestled on the shores of the Ohio River just east of Cincinnati, is one of those small towns that make America what it is. It doesn't matter that George Clooney's parents, Nick and Nina, still live here - or that on rare occasions you may even run into George who is Augusta High School's most famous alum - or that the ferry runs as regularly as a Swiss watch, or that his aunt Rosemary was born just up the road in Maysville where the whole family came from, or that you can still see bullet holes in the walls of several buildings from the visit made by Basil Duke and his contingent of Morgan's Second Kentucky Cavalry during the American Civil War. And a nasty little fight it was!! What matters is that this is the kind of hometown America where you go for it's quiet, it's solitude, and it's friendliness.
On Main St., a hundred yards up from the water's edge, is the Augusta Pub, an unpretencious little place with dark wood booths on the left and tables on the right and a sign on the door that you just came through telling you that no one under 21 comes in that same door after 9PM right next to the sign offering a reward for information on whoever damaged the local cemetery back in September. Turn to your right and out the door you go to the patio with it's semi-seclusion and 6 or so large metal patio tables with chairs and umbrellas. The bar is in the back with some additional seating while on the left is a large back room suitable for large meetings or small receptions.
We chose to sit outside and watch the goings on on the street where a craft fair was taking place, the kind of fair where you find unique gifts, unique sewing, and unique sauces, jams, and jellies not available in your local megamart!! The city of Augusta, or local groups, sponsor many of these types pf events year round. Shortly, we were joined by several groups of "Wild Hogs" and their wives plus two families with kids, although inside seemed to be an older crowd in the booths with younger patrons at the bar.
I had a Pepper Jack Bacon Burger, my wife a burger with swiss ($8 ea. with chips and pickle), 2 Buds @ $2.50 each, and a soft drink @ $1.49 plus tax set me back $23.52. The burgers were large, juicey and done just right - nothing fancy but tastey and filling.
Our waitress Jennifer was a doll, made several extra trips for my wife's requests and made us feel like family so final total was pushing $30 - and worth every penny of it.
Will we go back?? U betcha!! The bar food is good, the staff is friendly and the bathroom was clean - what more can you ask for when traveling???

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bassbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Augusta Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Augusta Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing