We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
  
Ways to Experience Good Living
from $23.96
More Info
from $29.95
More Info
from $22.76
More Info
from $22.76
More Info
Reviews (625)
Filter reviews
625 results
Traveler rating
606
14
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
606
14
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jewish tour jewish community excellent tour communist period recent history personal stories walking tour highly recommend this tour eye opening his knowledge tour takes great insight romanian history interesting stories visiting bucharest marius jews
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
408 - 413 of 625 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2017

the tour was enriching and entertaining! I learnt a lot (while I expected I'd know it all already as a former Romanian political science student) and it was truly enjoyable. The guide is very knowledgeable and a good story teller. The tour was well prepared, the information well structured, lots of artefacts and pictures to make it all more real and more entertaining...lots of interesting details yet not too much either! The theme of the tour was communist Romania but the "offer" went well beyond that - history, economy, arts, politics, before and after communism too - truly giving a good picture of the country for a foreigner. It was even greater for my foreign friends, who would have otherwise had a hard time to go beyond the grey and messy image of bucharest regardless of my attempts to explain this and that...Can't wait to go back and try their other tours!

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank alexandra r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariuszah, Owner at Good Living, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2017

Hi Alexandra,

We're always happy to see that Romanians also find the Tour of Communism interesting! All the best to you and your family!

Marius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017 via mobile

Marius is a great guide with deep local knowledge and direct personal experience that combine for a very rewarding walking get tour of the history of communism in Bucharest. This is a tour well with taking.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Bil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariuszah, Owner at Good Living, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2017

Hi,

Thank you for joining the tour and for your kind words.

All the best,
Marius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2016

We were thrilled with the communist tour of Bucharest today which was extremely inspiring. Our tour guide, Marius, was fantastic, so knowledgeable and gave us a real insight into life under the communist regime - we couldn't have asked for more. The Jewish tour, which I went on a few weeks ago also comes highly recommended. Without a doubt the best and most informative tour my friend and I have been on in Europe.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank 436elizabetho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariuszah, Owner at Good Living, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2017

Hi Elizabeth,

Thank you so much for joining both tours, and for your kind review.

All the best,
Marius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2016

I had joined the Communist Tour by tour guide Marius earlier on, and decided to also join his Jewish Tour. I am glad I did so, as I found the tour truly fascinating, interesting and moving. The tour shows you a different part of the city and includes a visit to a beautiful synagogue as well. Marius connects the buildings and their architecture very well to the stories of the Jewish history, making the tour come to live. Marius knows so much about the subject and can basically answer any question you might have. Thanks Marius!

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank eline-324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariuszah, Owner at Good Living, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2017

Hi Eline,

Thank you for joining both tours, and for the kind review.

All the best,
Marius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2016

I've booked this tour for the speakers at The Power of Storytelling, an annual narrative journalism conference that gathers some of the best storytellers in the world. The tour was full of historical information, but also of less known interesting facts about the Communist era in Romania. I recommend this experience to both foreigners and Romanians.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Andreea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariuszah, Owner at Good Living, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Hi Andreea,

Thank you for booking the tour with us, and also recommending this tour to the conference's speakers.

All the best,
Marius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews