We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and highly professional tour”

Jewish Tour of Bucharest
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.38*
and up
Bucharest Jewish Trail Walking Tour
Ranked #4 of 150 Tours in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discover the forgotten Jewish neighborhood of Bucharest, and its stories of sorrow and joy, as you embark on this 3-hour walking tour. You will learn about the Ashkenazi and Sephardic Jewish communities, abandoned and restored synagogues, persecutions of Jews during the Holocaust and Communism, and prominent Jewish architects, artists and doctors.
Reviewed September 24, 2016

The Jewish Tour of Bucharest with Marius was one of the highlights of my visit to Romania. I recommend it to every visitor.
Marius is smart, intelligent and highly knowledgeable guide. I was the only tourist on the tour and I've enjoyed Marius' company hugely. The concept of the tour is great, the route is very interesting, the story is rich and honest. It will give you the opportunity to see a part of Bucharest "out of the beaten track" and to hear the sad story of once flourishing Jewish community. The route is full of hidden architectural treasures.
The tour is just done by a clever person. It was a real pleasure. Do not miss it!

Thank star205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariuszah, Owner at Jewish Tour of Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2016

Hello,

Thank you for joining the tour and for the kind review. It was likewise interesting to have you on the tour.

All the best,
Marius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"detailed knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"dark history"
in 2 reviews
"political history"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful synagogue"
in 3 reviews
"past and present"
in 3 reviews
"excellent guide"
in 3 reviews
"three hours"
in 2 reviews
"eastern europe"
in 2 reviews
"communist era"
in 2 reviews
"jews"
in 16 reviews
"marius"
in 54 reviews
"neighborhoods"
in 5 reviews
"stories"
in 7 reviews
"architecture"
in 15 reviews
"sites"
in 6 reviews
"tragedy"
in 2 reviews
"temple"
in 3 reviews
Filter

56 - 60 of 77 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2016

We took the Jewish walking tour of Bucharest with Marius , who is a really charming young man.
He is very knowledgable and gave us plenty of time to take photographs.
There was a couple on our tour who took Marius's Communist tour a couple of days before. They said it was excellent and got a discount on the price as they took both tours. We were sorry we didn't have time to take Marius's other tour. We will have to return to Bucharest

Thank Maxine915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariuszah, Owner at Jewish Tour of Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2016

Hi Maxine,

Thank you for joining the tour and for the kind review. If you come back to Bucharest, I encourage you to take the Communist tour, as well.

All the best,
Marius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016

My wife, son and I had an emotionally moving experience as we were fortunate to take the Jewish Tour with our excellent guide, Marius. The Jewish history of Europe is so sad that the tour cannot be classified as enjoyable. Marius gave us a tour that allowed us to see what Jewish life in Romania was like prior to, during and after the Holocaust. If you want a comprehensive tour with a knowledgeable guide this is the tour for you. We were so impressed with the Jewish Tour the we signed up for his Communism Tour which was equally fantastic.

Thank clbhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariuszah, Owner at Jewish Tour of Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2016

Hi Len,

Thank you for joining the tour and for the kind review. It was likewise interesting to have you on the tour.

All the best,
Marius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2016

I learned so much on this tour. In addition to the interesting history of Jews in Bucharest, Marius opened my eyes to appreciate different architectural styles in the area. It has enriched my visit to this dynamic city.

Thank two_donkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariuszah, Owner at Jewish Tour of Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2016

Hi Jennifer,

Thank you for joining the Jewish Tour of Bucharest and the Tour of Communism, as well as for the interesting conversations.

All the best in your future endeavors.

Marius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2016

Our guide took us through some of the old and rarely visited areas of Bucharest. Even if I live here most places and their history were new to me. It's like travelling back in time.

Thank Tudor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariuszah, Owner at Jewish Tour of Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2016

Thanks for choosing this tour, Tudor! We definitely need more locals to discover the true history of the city.
Marius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewish Tour of Bucharest also viewed

 
Bucharest, Romania
 

Been to Jewish Tour of Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;