We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”
Review of Rossetya

Rossetya
Ranked #385 of 1,819 Restaurants in Bucharest
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I am going to Rossetya for years, first being immediately after opening . It's a discreet restaurant , intro old building located a few minutes walking from University Square.

The food was very good and in large portions . The atmosphere of the place is nice , with soft music ( music both from interwar period and 70’s-80’s) . There were times when the staff very friendly, but the last time we had to wait quite long after the waiter .

The menu is varied with refined recipes chosen both Romanian cuisine and from the international ( Russian , Greek , French , Oriental or Austrian ) . Wine can be ordered by the glass or bottle and options are suitable for all tastes. Prices are not low, but not very large, suitable for a select clientele . I am glad that they have two areas, one for smokers and one for non-smoking so you can choose where to sit .

Ideal for an intimate dinner or a business meeting . I hope you do not change, because I will definitely come back .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neamtu2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Place with atmosphere, excellent wines,”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Mixed emotions. Nice ambiente, distinguished service, you feel welcomed. The menu is boasting a great variety of romanian, russian, french, greek, austrian-hungarian and oriental dishes- maybe more than 60 or 70 different dishes. But less would be really more. The fish I had was not really a tasty experience- you don't have to fry everything til it has lost the last bit of freshness. And it was mentioned as a fillet but featured dozens of fishbones. A mistake that couldn't happen when you offer an upmarket eating-experience. So it would for them be better to offer a smaller menu. The appetizers and deserts we had were too traditional prepared for the luxurious atmosphere. On the other hand: an excellent service and great wines from Romania! Prices quite high for what you get.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dirk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excelent experience”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I organized a family celebration at Rossetya at the end of Ocxtober 2012. I asked for a special menu, including sophisticared ap0petisers, stuffed pike, Chateaubriand flambé, and special nuts and chocolate cake. The food was gorgious. The somelier chose very good quality Romanian wines to match the menu. The service was very good too. Overall, it was an excellent experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Radubradu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
1 review
“A restaurant?”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I've been in Rossetya because it was close to my hotel and there was bear in the menu: what a terrible experience! The meat was without ANY taste at all, the mushrooms the same but with a lot of water. The wine was served in a hot glass and the dessert was cold. Really, the worst eating experience since many, many years...

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrancescoMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Elegant place - ok food”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Located in a nicely decorated house in the center of Bucharest. The atmosphere is plesant,
service very good and intresting menu, i had only one problem, the food wasn't very tasty, i can't imagine why because it looked very nice. I had the Bourgeois turkey, my boyfriend had the Range turkey with berries and a friend the Lord's manor chicken and they all were tasteless. The price was ok for the big size of the portion. Maybe we'll return to try something else.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinkpulp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rossetya also viewed

Bucharest, Romania
Bucharest, Romania
 
Bucharest, Romania
 

Been to Rossetya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing