We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Phoenicia Grand Hotel
Ranked #32 of 167 Hotels in Bucharest
Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed February 16, 2009

The staff is great, they will solve every think in a heart bet. The Hotel I must say is like a small copy of the Vegas Hotels. Is not so new by now, but is well taken care.
If you have bussines I strongly recommand this hotel.

  • Liked — breackfast
  • Disliked — the view from the room
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank travelbusinessIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    129
    53
    11
    11
See reviews for
11
9
16
229
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2009

The previous reviewers have pretty much said what needs to be said about this hotel. Yes the bed was pretty hard and if you don't like this level of comfort you will have some pretty uncomfortable nights. I tried the so called Lebanese restaurant and have to say that the micro waved food served there did not do it justice, I say this because I had to send back a starter that was still ice cold in the middle!. I do however recommend the breakfast room as every day there was a huge selection of hot and cold breakfast to choose from.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Bathroom outdated
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank onetrubrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2008

We were booked to stay at the Phoenicia for three weeks; after the first week, we checked out and moved to the Ramada a few minutes away. This hotel is located outside of the city center, which was very convenient to get to our office (traffic is very bad in Bucharest). The hotel lobby is very nice, as are the Italian and Lebanese restaurants. The gym is well-equipped, though it had strange operating hours.

So now the bad things:
The bed was hard as a rock, and had only a thin comforter as the linens. The bathroom had a mildew-ridden shower curtain, and very cheap toiletries. Further, for some reason, the water smelled terribly in the shower, sink, and toilet.

Beyond that, there is a casino in the basement that attracts some interesting clientele, most of whom probably frequented the strip club that is located in the basement as well.

Finally, you cannot walk anywhere from this hotel, except for the gas station located right in front of it - to get to the city centre is a solid 10 minute cab ride.

All in all, if you're just in town for business, this might be an okay choice. Otherwise, there are better options (the Ramada is fantastic) that are better located and better properties overall.

  • Liked — the lebanese restaurant
  • Disliked — the sketchy casino and strip club in the basement
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank globalguy636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2008

I've been booked the Phoenicia Grand Hotel by my collegues in Romania, and I must say that I really enjoy my stay there.
I've been already in Bucharest, and, like many Eastern cities, not always you find services you may expect for what you pay.

Well, this is not the Phoenicia case.. very nice hotel, brand new, owned by an Arabic company (I was told so), it is a nice and big structure on the road connecting the Octopeni International Airport to the city. With a big parking lot just in front of it, the hotel can offer you two restaurants, a casino, a Gym, a night club, two bars.. even if I did not try any of these..

I've been given a double room, at 2nd floor. Already entering the room, I was surprised by the room itself.. a big bed, with plenty of space around it, a nice and clean bathroom, with plenty of free items.. a good frigo-bar, not overpriced.. I read that sometimes "walls" seems to be too thin, but, fortunally, I did not face this problem..

Now, as always, positive and negative considerations:

THE GOOD
The hotel itself - brand new, clean, good English language at the reception, free internet cable connection in every room.. tried the Italian restaurant for a quick salad: the "Calcio" restaurant is a well-known franchising brand in Bucharest, not overpriced and with a good service.
Position is 30 minutes in non pick-hours from the International airport and the city center.
Huge and wonderful breakfast - really one of the best I've tried, with many items cooked-on-request, and immediately filled up when finished.

THE BAD
Of course, they are not perfect.. So, you can note that on the TV you have 30 channels and you do not understand in what order did they save them; or you can wait up to 10 minutes in front of the reception for somebody to answer to your needs. During breakfast if you stop a waitress asking something (like a coffee), she will answer in a rude way.. parking in front of the hotel is free for 15 minutes.. then you have to pay..

THE UGLY
Position: if you are a tourist, this is not the place for you. Long long way to reach the center, long long time in pick hours..
Air condition: it is placed under the window - if you keep the curtains closed, air cannot fresh the room. Otherwise, you can be waken up by the early morning sun.

As you can see, very few bad points against a lot of good points.. I'd suggest this hotel for business travelers, for the hotel services and fro the quality/price ratio (I spent 100 euro/night in B/B). A very good hotel, not in the best town position.. but if you are in Bucharest for working reason, this is the hotel for you.

  • Liked — New hotel - so everything is near to be perfect
  • Disliked — Location in the city
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Skiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2008

We had quite a pleasant stay at Phoenicia Grand Hotel, Bucharest. It is quite a bit out of town, although it is possible to walk to a tube station and catch a tube into town (I do not recommend catching a taxi into town due to traffic).

It is very convenient for Bucharest Baneasa Aurel Vlaicu Airport, which is within walking distance (but probably a bit too far to walk if you are lugging your suitcases). It is also fairly convenient to Bucharest Henri Coanda Otopeni Airport although not within walking distance.

Staff were quite friendly and helpful, and breakfasts (I believe this is generally included in the room rate) were very good - wide range of food including an omelet bar. The restaurants (Italian and Lebanese) were reasonably priced and the quality of food was good. There is also a garage in front of the hotel that sold decent sandwich rolls (the garage also have a mini-restaurant).

One problem we had in various rooms we stayed in was leaking bath tub - every bath tub had a leak, which makes me suspect that the bath drain wasn't properly connected to the drain on the floor. Also sound proofing in the rooms was not too good and we could often hear the people in the next room talking on the telephone or having the TV on.

But overall the rooms were pleasant enough - reasonably sized and clean. It was also nice that they disinfected the bath, loo etc between each guest.

Laundry services were reasonably priced at just over 1 Euro per shirt for ironing, and wash and iron was about 2 Euro per shirt.

Internet (wired) generally worked well. Some rooms do not have a working Internet connection (even if there is a port), so it is worth checking with the reception when checking in.

Each room we stayed in had a functional desk area and a table and chairs. Wardrobes were rather shallow so once men's winter clothes were hanging in there, the door did not close properly, but this is probably a minor problem. There were sufficient shelf space etc to put things away.

Overall our stay was quite pleasant even though there were minor niggles such as leaking bathtub, Internet stopping working and door lock problems.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JM00321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2008

What a pleasent experience from the staff to the restaurants to the travelers we met while we were there. A must if you vist this city.

  • Liked — the staff where so helpful and nice
  • Disliked — The spa was not yet completed
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MtJohn08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2007

This hotel is modern Romania in a nutshell. When I stayed there it was open only for two months, so everything was brand new. It looks like a scaled down copy of some of casinos in Vegas. There is lots of grandiose to the design of the interiors, however the quality of the building leaves a bit to be desired. I stayed there a few times, in different rooms - in each something was broken. In one even floors were not level. Also, the fitness needs improvement and new (not used) equipment.

Having said that I have to say that the staff was friendly and breakfast good - wide selection and of good quality. Also, restaurants offer good food. So, overall my stay was quite ok.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Emin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Suites Bucharest North
0.7 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#36 of 167 in Bucharest
107 reviews
3.5 mi away
Phoenicia Express Hotel
Phoenicia Express Hotel
#136 of 167 in Bucharest
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Bucharest Convention Center
1.5 mi away
Expocenter Hotel
Expocenter Hotel
#58 of 167 in Bucharest
44 reviews
2.2 mi away
Arc de Triomphe by Residence Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenicia Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenicia Grand Hotel

Property: Phoenicia Grand Hotel
Address: 87 Alexandru Serbanescu Blvd | District 1, Bucharest 014286, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Bucharest
#28 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
#33 Business Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Phoenicia Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the North part of the capital ( Baneasa Area ), close by to two of the most important communication nodes for air travel in Bucharest, but not far away from the city centre, Phoenicia Grand Hotel is an elegant, monumental and still extremely welcoming hotel.What counts for us is what is important to you and this is why comfort and well-being are inviting you to come in and leave all your worries at the entrance and enjoy personalized services and the havens of peace and quiet as Phoenicia Grand Hotel offers you: 348 rooms and apartments, 3 restaurants, 10 conference rooms, bar, spa center, large car park, free internet in all areas of the hotel, ATM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phoenicia Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Grand Bucharest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing