We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good for business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Phoenicia Grand Hotel
Ranked #32 of 166 Hotels in Bucharest
Baia Mare, Romania
1 review
“Very Good for business”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This Hotel is a good one for business travel.The services are great, staff was very heplfull and kind, and breakfast was wonderful. Although it is remote from the city centre, the hotel is closed to the airport. The lebanesse food is one of the best i ever enjoyed. So, if you ever travel for business in Bucharest, I highly recommend Phoenicia Grand Hotel!

Room Tip: superior double rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales D, Sales Department at Phoenicia Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Phoenicia Grand Hotel!
We hope that your next stay will be an even greater experience.

Best regards,
Sales Department of
Phoenicia Grand Hotel
Bucharest
Romania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    124
    52
    11
    9
See reviews for
10
8
14
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is a real gem, modern, comfortable, a choice of several restaurants and charming efficient staff. It is also close to the airport (Baneasa) so ideal for a short trip such as mine. On the other hand a taxi to town is necessary if you want to see what passes for sights - decades of abuse by the communist regime has left a horrible stain.
Conference facilities were also as good as anywhere I have ever been, with digital displays and refreshments.
I strongly recommend this hotel.
All it lacked was a swimming pool, or if there is one they keep quiet about it - I found the fitness centre with gym, sauna, jacuzzi and massage though.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I suppose that if the purpose of your trip is a meeting or some business in the Baneasa area the location is good, about halfway between the international airport (Otopeni) and the city centre, avoiding a lot of the traffic jams. Otherwise there is no reason to stay in this area. There is absolutely nothing of interest around, no restaurants, cafés, shops or interesting sights, just some half empty office buildings and some construction sites, and newer apartment buildings. I wanted to go for a short walk when I arrived, and asked the receptionist for a map, and then to mark the hotel on the map. She just pointed vaguely to an area, without marking anything, saying “around here”. I realised later that the reason for this is that the hotel is not even on the (large) area covered by the maps supplied by the hotel! It would have been better and nicer to simply say the truth, instead of letting confused guests try to find the hotel where it cannot possibly be...
The hotel displays proudly its 4 stars on the roof, but is indeed very far from the standard one expects from a 4-star hotel, at least in Western Europe. It is a very large building, but according to another guest the upper floors are still under construction (though the external walls are complete). No construction noise when I was there, though.
The positive notes are a large complimentary buffet breakfast with a very good fresh juice bar(but it may be difficult to find a place in the non-smoking area) and a speedy internet connection, also complimentary. I had booked a shuttle from the airport (just a taxi that the hotel sends you and waits for you at the arrivals) which turned out to be very reasonably priced, especially when compared to what some guests told me they paid for the same trip.
As for the rooms, they have “individually” controlled A/C units, the problem being that in winter they only supply hot air (in summer it’s the opposite), and it is not possible to turn them off completely. In practice you may only choose between hot and hotter. Opening the window is not an alternative, unless you like to be lulled to sleep by howling and barking dogs (and the occasional train passing nearby). If the heat does not keep you awake, then the stiff pillows, the polyester bedding and the hard (and squeaky) mattress might do the job.
The room was non-smoking but had a very strong odour of some cleaning product (perhaps to remove/conceal other odours?). The bathroom was just OK, clean but poorly maintained.
There was a bathrobe and a pair of slippers in the wardrobe, but no iron/ironing board, and no safe, laptop-sized or otherwise.
Service did not impress either. Waited for more than one hour after calling for softer pillows, and had to call again.
Apparently there was a spa and gym in the basement (and also a strip-club), but I did not visit any of them.
In a word, avoid!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strumpalumpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales D, Director of Sales at Phoenicia Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for expressing you opinions and suggestions. We appreciate you pointing out the good aspects as well as the less good ones, and we are sorry for any inconvenience created. Be assured that your opinion is very important to us, therefore we will take all necessary measures to improve services and to resolve all the issues pointed out by you.
However, we would like to mention that Phoenicia Grand Hotel does not have any construction work on the site and our reception provides seif boxes that you could maybe use the next time.
Regarding the location, our hotel is not central-situated and never been promoted as one, but it is close to Aurel Vlaicu International Airport (3 minutes), and Henri Coanda International Airport (10 minutes). Nevertheless, the center of the city and the touristic area can be reached in 10 minutes. There are several buses (that stop in front of the hotel) that connect our hotel with the center and also with the two airports.

You are more than welcome to Phoenicia Grand Hotel for your next visit to Bucharest!

Best regards,
Sales Department of
Phoenicia Grand Hotel
Bucharest
Romania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Very nice hotel for business trips or private holidays. I can only recommend the restaurants and the food! The night I stayed hosted even a life band! The breakfast buffet is one of the best I ever enjoyed. I travelled in November but the heating in the room was too hot and I could not regulate.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family_BausM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales D, Sales Department at Phoenicia Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Mr. Baus,

Thank you for your comments.
Please be assured that we consider all of our guests opinions and we are trying to improve all aspects that our guests are suggesting.

We hope that your next stay with us will be an even greater experience.


Best regards,
Sales Department of
Phoenicia Grand Hotel
Bucharest
Romania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

It ia a perfect location for a business trip, business services are excelent, the position in the city great (close to airports and on the way to city center). Fitness center and nice restaurants in the lobby to relax in the evening without being force to go downtown. Breakfast is very good.
It has space and you do not feel confined in a narrow corner.
They should improve room layout (the bathroom is a plastic box) and connectivity that is wireless and fluctuating. But in general there is a good cost/quality ratio.
Moreover they gave me a couple of times a free upgrade to a suite as habitual guest

Room Tip: avoid rooms at high level, elevator in the morning can be a nice 10 minutes waiting, the place is cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales D, Director of Sales at Phoenicia Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Marco B,

Thank you for your kind comments.
Please be assured that we value all of our guests suggestions and opinions so we can have a daily improvement of our services.

Looking forward in having you again as our guest.

Best regards,
Sales Department of
Phoenicia Grand Hotel
Bucharest
Romania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

A great hotel for business or family visit. The food is excellent. There is an italian restaurant with the best pizza and pasta. The service is good. The rooms are excellent with great view... The staff is very helpful... if you are in Bucharest or are planning to visit Bucharest... go for this hotel...

Room Tip: just mention if you want a smoking or a non-smoking room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getintouch_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Comfort and convenient to transferfrom/to city center and also Otopeni Airport.
Cost for tranfer from/to Otopeni Airport by taxi is approx. 11,00 euros.
A variety of diffent tastes (4 restaurants) and bars to spend time.
large lobby for business meetings - free wireless internet access.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giorgos1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales D, Key Account Manager at Phoenicia Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your positive comments and we hope that your next stay with us will be an even more pleasant experience.
Thank you for choosing Phoenicia Grand Hotel!

Best regards,
Sales Department of
Phoenicia Grand Hotel
Bucharest
Romania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bucharest
0.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Suites Bucharest North
0.7 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#34 of 166 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Bucharest Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Bucharest
Crowne Plaza Bucharest
#18 of 166 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
5.3 mi away
angelo by Vienna House Bucharest
3.5 mi away
Phoenicia Express Hotel
Phoenicia Express Hotel
#136 of 166 in Bucharest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenicia Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenicia Grand Hotel

Property: Phoenicia Grand Hotel
Address: 87 Alexandru Serbanescu Blvd | District 1, Bucharest 7000, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Bucharest
#28 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
#33 Business Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Phoenicia Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the North part of the capital ( Baneasa Area ), close by to two of the most important communication nodes for air travel in Bucharest, but not far away from the city centre, Phoenicia Grand Hotel is an elegant, monumental and still extremely welcoming hotel.What counts for us is what is important to you and this is why comfort and well-being are inviting you to come in and leave all your worries at the entrance and enjoy personalized services and the havens of peace and quiet as Phoenicia Grand Hotel offers you: 348 rooms and apartments, 4 restaurants, 10 conference rooms, bar, spa center, beauty shop, large car park, free internet in all areas of the hotel, ATM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Fastbooking, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Phoenicia Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenicia Grand Bucharest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing