We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and well located”
Review of Tempo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tempo Hotel
Ranked #30 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Situated in a relatively quiet (apart from the occasional tram!) residential area, 10-15 minutes walk from the historic centre, the Tempo ticks the boxes for those requiring a comfortable base for a city break at a reasonable price. Decent size, warm and well-equipped rooms have mini-bar, kettle and cable TV with access to a multitude of channels. Breakfasts include cereals, fruits, cold meats, cakes, a range of breads and omlettes if required, provided by a cheerful and efficient service, typical of the staff in general. The immediate area of the hotel lacks cafes or restaurants.

Although not having the reputation of other East European locations, the city provides an intriguing mix of buildings of varying ages and styles, and is worthy of a couple of days of wandering around, following routes identified on tourist maps. Lipscani is developing as an area for bars and entertainment. The impressive beer and dining emporium, Caru cu bere on Street Stavropoleos, is well worth a visit with a wide range of good value meals and regular evening traditional dancing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prujim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for Tempo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 438 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank edy143
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Dear Sirs,
I would like advice Tempo Bucharest to you for your business and historical trip. You will see such a quality and service from management. The hotel close to downtown and enjoy, join to old town activity easily. THPD

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very nice place, perfect for the purpose for which I was in Bucharest. Confortable room, well heated for the winter evenings. Very good service for the price. Suitable starting point for evening walk around town after the working day.

THPD

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panayot A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised how centrally located this hotel is. It is in a quiet area but close enough to walk to the historical center if you aren't in a rush. It is quiet and has a school & Embassies close by.
The staff was very accomodating to me & the free breakfast was quite filling. The cook was especially kind to me & even allowed me to store the cheese I bought in Transylvania in the frig before I left town. I liked the quaint small atmoshpere & the maids & front desk clerks were also very helpful. I learned a little Romanian before I went & that put a smile on their face.
I definately suggest that you try to get a balcony room if possible, and ask for extra padding on the beds if you have a bad back like mine.
CLEAN- EASY ACCESS TO TRANSPORTATION- GOOD RATE, COZY ROOMS, and I will suggest DAN NICA as a private guide : http://tourguides.viator.com/tour-guide-dan-nica-11777.aspx
When I go back I would stay there again !!

Room Tip: ask about mattress quality & getting extra padding if you have a bad back...I had the same exper...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I loved this hotel. The room was very comfortable. The bathroom very spacious. The breakfast was great. Nice place to start a holiday. We have spent only few hours in this hotel but it was great. Good location as well. And most of all very worthy!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Everything is perfect in this hotel from its accessible location to its very friendly staff. I love the quaint charm that it offers, especially to tourists who want the cosmopolitan European experience without the hassles of a weekday traffic. I recommend this hotel to everyone with a tight budget but in need of world-class service.

Room Tip: Higher floors give you a better view of Bucharest’s metro and the lovely tram.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Trianon
Hotel Trianon
#25 of 169 in Bucharest
428 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Bucharest
NH Bucharest
#15 of 169 in Bucharest
634 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Bucharest Palatul Parlamentului
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel Moxa
Le Boutique Hotel Moxa
#23 of 169 in Bucharest
533 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hello Hotel
Hello Hotel
#42 of 169 in Bucharest
431 reviews
0.3 mi away
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
#7 of 169 in Bucharest
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tempo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tempo Hotel

Address: 19, Armand Calinescu | Sector 2, Bucharest 021011, Romania
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Bucharest
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#13 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#23 Business Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range: $54 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tempo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tempo Hotel is centrally located on Armand Calinescu, being very close to the Armenian Church and just five minutes walk from Piata Universitatii. Tempo has 32 rooms with king-size beds, mini bar, individual climate control installation, TV (cable as well as satellite TV), direct dial telephone, choice of bath-tub or hydro massage shower system, hair-dryer, complimentary digital safe box and kettle. All rooms have electronic keycard access. Some rooms also have terraces and balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tempo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tempo Hotel Bucharest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing