We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you can expect at this price + a fabolous location!”
Review of Banat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banat
Ranked #106 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Reviewed August 9, 2009

The hotel was a very good deal for spending two nights in Bucharest. Located as centrally as possible (just off the University Square), but pretty quiet. Not over-equipped, but charming.

I wouldn't recommend it to people who expect luxury -- and there are a couple of voices around on it needing a renovation. To me, the hotel being that old makes it charming in a way. It remembers the times of Ceasescu, which makes the stay in Bucharest way more genuine than a Novotel. But it obviously depends on one's preferences. If you want to use an old-fashioned lift, be served by an old yet lovely receptionist, and eat a quirky breakfast in a space that doesn't recall any modern hotel restaurants at all -- and pay close to nothing! -- this is a hotel for you. No worries about the cleanness of the rooms. Even though they are indeed basic, they are pretty clean. And air-conditioning is available in all the rooms! So, go for it, as long as you're not afraid of Communist-era accomodation. Otherwise, look for a more exepnsive chain which would look exactly the same in any other city.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank insert-coin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 81 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2006

This is a place where you would, eventually, enjoy staying over a night, but there are, however, a couple of things that left a bad taste in my mouth.

1) The site is real old, and NEEDS a restoration, the faster the better: everything kind of tumbles.

2) The fee they charge is way above the services they offer -- I'm not allowed to give you specific hints, but there are are nicer places in Bucharest where you could stay on the same money.

3) And the more important, I really disliked the way the personal was treating me. In plain English, they get p***ed of for very little reasons (or none, at all). Nor will you find a smile on their face (at list the receptionist girl made me fill VERY uncomfortable). The bottom line: it is OK staying here, if you like, but will not be your best deal, nor will it be the most hospitable place you've been at.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank claudius_iacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin, Ireland
113
Reviewed July 13, 2006

Although it was very old, it was so lovely and had a charm all it's own. The staff were absolutely wonderful, the apartment spacious and clean and comfortable. Breakfast offered was really nice. Very enjoyable indeed.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
United Kingdom
111
Reviewed May 15, 2006

Spent one night at hotel, clean but building very old. Lift only goes from 1st floor to 4th floor so you have to carry your own baggage up about 12 steps to lift and a further 10 steps from lift if you are on the 5th floor.

Not for people with medical conditions or disabled.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Plus près de toi mon dieu.....en haut
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ckarlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las suites del ático disponen de una habitación principal y otra habitación individual seprada dentr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anjapelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Tatiana582014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.1 mi away
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
#6 of 169 in Bucharest
947 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Bucharest Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Tempo Hotel
Tempo Hotel
#29 of 169 in Bucharest
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tania Hotel
Tania Hotel
#55 of 169 in Bucharest
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rembrandt Hotel
Rembrandt Hotel
#4 of 169 in Bucharest
986 reviews
0.5 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#11 of 169 in Bucharest
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banat

Address: Piata Rosetti 5, Bucharest, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range: $64 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Banat 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banat Hotel Bucharest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing