We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent if you're on a tight budget”
Review of Banat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banat
Ranked #99 of 166 Hotels in Bucharest
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Decent if you're on a tight budget”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel is…old school! It’s funky looking from the outside and really old inside. It has one of those sketchy elevators that works but really, take the stairs. I brought 20 University students to this hotel and they were very accommodating with everyone. The rooms are pretty run down (e.g. loose wires, water stains) but I got a good jetlagged sleep and a decent shower in the morning. Breakfast is basic: buns, eggs, cheese and juice. The guy at the front desk basically just sits there and smokes but he’s nice enough when you need some assistance. I probably wouldn’t stay here again, but it was decent for its cheap price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalGirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    33
    27
    10
    2
See reviews for
6
20
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

For this location in Bucharest it is a good price, not far from Universitat metro station, less than 10 mins from old town, and walkable to main tourist sites.

Lift is on first floor, so you have to walk up stairs to get to it which is a bit odd. Pub under rooms which can make a bit of noise, but handy for food and drink. Rooms a good size, and a massive bathroom, but no shower curtain.

Old style, but a good overall experience, including breakfast which you have to choose from a set menu, including your choice of eggs.

They don’t have a toilet in the reception area, so after check out, when we came back for our bags, they told us to go to the pub next door (where they were quite friendly and didn’t mind).

Recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimmyWs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

As mentioned in other reviews old hotel. It was clean and the staff were helpful. Had to climb stairs to first floor to get to elevator. Bar and restaurant right beside hotel. Basic accomadation but spatious- bathroom was down a corridor. AC in room. Very central (5 min walk to metro/ catch express bus to airport) but hotel is at an intersection so traffic horns and driver disputes (there were alot) were audible but did not ruin the stay. Cooked breakfast included.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sprouty_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton
Level Contributor
222 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Old hotel but in a great location. We stayed twice, once in room 403 and again in 404. 403 is a suite with a sitting room. Both rooms were very clean, had a/c (needed in July), carpet, two beds, night stands, tv, minibar, free wi-fi, amoire or dresser, chairs. The bathroom had a tub-shower but no curtain. Being an old hotel with wooden floors, it creaked but like others said, that is part of the charm. We paid about $44/night which we thought was an excellent price and that included a nice breakfast with eggs.

The reception people were not helpful or friendly but we weren't there to make friends. There is an elevator but we had to walk up one floor to get it. Even though there were several men in the lobby, none would help with the bags.

The location is great, nice subway about two blocks away, close to eating places. We would (and did) stay there again. It is near the Hotel Intercontinental in case you need a landmark.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank behrens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Excellently located hotel.
If you are looking for a typical three star chain, this is not it. Old and a bit crumbly but it has everything you need. Good bit of space and very clean. For price and location hard to beat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank santiagowalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel, Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Me and my friend travelled to Bucharest on snowy and freezing February. We were extremely on budget but still wanted to stay as central as possible.
Well, the location is amazing: subway in 5 mins walk, 15 min walk to restaurant/pub area, it is as central as it can be.
Hotel is very dated but it has this kind of charm you want to experience when travelling to eastern Europe. Rooms are comfortable, very-very clean. There is a central heating - so in winter don't worry about cold. I saw there an air-condition but we didn't use it, though it looks really old. Relatively modern bathroom with centralized hot water. There are towels but better take your own toiletries. No hairdryer either. We took twin beds and got ourselves two rooms: bedroom and very small room with sofa and minibar which was very nice. I suppose it was apartment building in communist era.
Elevator is frightening but you see these elevators all over Bucharest in old buildings. I refused to use it :)
WiFi is free but extremely week, only one of us could use Skype, sometimes we asked receptionist to reboot router, and we were on second floor!
Breakfast is O.K. but everyday it's the same. As we were only 3 days there - we were happy with it but if you are planning to stay more - you'll get sick of it. On other hand, it's sooooo cheap in Romania to eat that just go and enjoy yourself in restaurants since the food is gooooood there :)

Before we came there I wrote to manager and asked to be met in airport as I heard that taxis in Romania are extreme experience - it was worth it, our driver was very nice local gentlemen (no English whatsoever) and cheaper than if you would take taxi. Back to airport we took bus - no big deal :) We didn't use taxi once there!

Receptionists are helpful and nice people. Romanians in general aren't nice. Don't trust anyone who wants to help you on street, sadly but normal people don't care, only thieves will approach you. We asked for directions from police - they are nice and most of them know basic English.

Anyway, I recommend this hotel to those who on budget and to those who want the local atmosphere - it's worth it.

Room Tip: Take a room not on the same side as night bar, don't take higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Penthesilya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Looking for the perfect 100 years old ultracentral quaint hotel in Bucharest? This is my best recomandation!
Allthough it was a last minute decision, I knew this beautiful building for a long time, having lived nearby for 5 years. One of the keepers of the genuine spirit of “Little Paris”, the hotel has been last revised some long time ago - hence the appearance – but it is a very functional hotel and a very good deal! I booked a single, with early check-in and late check-out, and I got a mini flat on the upper floor with a big bedroom related directly with the main balcony of the hotel! Plus a decent lobby and a big white bathroom with a strained glass window, wow.
Everything was clean, cozy and comfortable in a decent way and I kinda enjoyed the 70ish style of the interior. Somehow it amused me for I have grown in that period :) Probably the only minus would be the creaky tiled floor – some noise. Also, I feared the -20 outside but the heating did a proper job despite the fact that the rooms were pretty big and high. Breakfast is simple but fresh and tasty, it mattered. The staff I dealt with was helpful and efficient. Thank you very much. Best-located means 300m away from famous Piata Universitatii and the adiacent metro station plus a ton of buses, taxis and everything else.
It is a true value for the money and it suited me well - if you dont have too many expectations, dont miss the oportunity to stay in such a rare “frozen-in-time” beauty!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank manuel_munteanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.1 mi away
Armonia Hotel
Armonia Hotel
#84 of 166 in Bucharest
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Relax Comfort Suites
Hotel Relax Comfort Suites
#102 of 166 in Bucharest
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rembrandt Hotel
Rembrandt Hotel
#4 of 166 in Bucharest
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Agentia H Accommodation
Agentia H Accommodation
#90 of 166 in Bucharest
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dacia
Hotel Dacia
#86 of 166 in Bucharest
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bucharest Comfort Suites
Bucharest Comfort Suites
#62 of 166 in Bucharest
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banat

Property: Banat
Address: Piata Rosetti 5, Bucharest, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 166 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Banat 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Banat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banat Hotel Bucharest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing