We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“familiar and kind”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vila 11 Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #31 of 123 Bucharest B&B and Inns
Suances, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“familiar and kind”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We just were there sleeping for 4 nights and they are very nice poeple in a very special hotel.
You feel like at home. THey don´t control the place as if it´d be a prison. You go and come feeling good.
It has the taste of an authentic place for travellers, not that much for tourists.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hopity, Owner at Vila 11 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
It is always a pleasure for our family to be able to help our guests discover more of what Bucharest has to offer.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will return,,, with a friend or two.

Maybe New Years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    9
    8
    17
See reviews for
2
20
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The rooms were small, crammed, overpriced, unclean (the staff don't clean on Fridays or Saturdays?!), and extraordinarily hot. To get to the hostel, you must walk through a long, sketchy alleyway filled with broken glass and noisy stray dogs. The staff (a rude, unsociable Canadian family) were unhelpful, slow (i had to wait 35 minutes for a room to be prepared) and racist (the Canadian son informed me that the Turkish are useless slobs, and that Hitler slaughtered all of the Jews in Europe (including Romania) during the Holocaust because he disliked cheap and lazy American Jews). I was extremely unhappy with my stay, I would rather sleep in the train station.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NemoTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hopity, Owner at Vila 11 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Buchurest is a city undergoing the transition to Western standards. Unfortunately stray dogs, urinating vagrants and exceptional summer heat are some of the features beyond our control and although I apologise for your discomfort I do not hold us resposible.
The aspect regarding a Rude family: I have been called many things in my life but rude was never one of them. We live in and off this house and it would not be benifitial to anyone here to be rude to our guests. We often get up at 5am to let in people arriving on overnight trains and stay up late to pick up guests from the airport, We make special arrangements for guests and try to be helpful on all occasions.
The comments you mention I feel have been a little exagerated and prehaps were the opinions of a young man and not the management. We are here to provide accomodation for our guests , if you choose to entertain a converation with us you do so as a fellow traveller in the world. Take us as you find us. No offence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bucharest hotels

Sinaia, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Bed was very uncomfortable, could feel the metal springs. Room was smelly & dirty & very hot. People who own it run it, & seemed uninterested in the business side. Breakfast was pancakes (which were actually really good) but not much else. Debbie (Canadian co-owner) was friendly, but liked to give out unwanted opinions on travellers personal preferences (i.e. music preferences, travel preferences, restaurant preferences). Seems like they could benefit from a little upgrading, especially since they complained of all the recent "competition" in town. No WI-FI, but very close to train station & English is well spoken. DON'T GO ON Saturday as they have their "sabbath" on Sat & will not lift a finger for you on that day. I had 2 sleepless nights because of the mosquitos and loud neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chasNUMBA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hopity, Owner at Vila 11 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
You will be pleased to know that as a result of your comment we have replaced the ofending bed: it has done admirable service.
As you know I enjoy meeting my guests over breakfast and as Eurpoeans we tend to discuss the events of the day and plans for the day ahead. I share information about bus routes and train timetables, recommend places to stay at the seashore, in the mountains or in Bulgaria. Often guests request information about specific places, concerts, festivals, art exhibits and the likes and as a result we share views. Having an opinion or preference is a normal human reaction. No one is obligied to act on my advice, I am already the mother of 4. My guests are free to do as they please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

This place is very convenient to the train station (and the bus that runs from there to the airport). Rooms are cozy and the owners are helpful anf friendly. The downsides would be the lack of internet if you need to go online (there's only one internet cafe I could find, near the bar/restaurant district, and it's kinda smokey and gross) and the constant dog barking (there's a pack of about 10 strays that hang out behind the flats across from the station), which obviously the owners can't help. Also breakfast tends to sit out for hours on end/all day, I'd recommend eating out for breakfast if you can afford to.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CattyBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hopity, Owner at Vila 11 Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
We now have internet in-house for our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

we had booked this place for our arrival into Bucharest. The owners seemed flustered we had arrived, not at all pleasant, the place stank. The top floor room was sauna hot with no air-conditionig (as stated by lonely planet) I have stayed in some terrible places but even in my exhausted state I could not come at staying here.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank hiker6399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, new york
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Avoid at all costs! The sheets were filthy, the bed so lumpy you couldn't sleep on it, the staff were grumpy and unhelpful, and mosquitoes were swarming. To be honest, it was the worst place I've ever stayed - and I've stayed in some real hell holes. If you absolutely have to go to Bucharest, treat yourself to something a little bit better!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank drewturnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

No door keys, "Because people just steal them," I was told. They gave me the wrong entry code for the door--luckily I thought to check it as I left for the first time. The promised "pancake breakfast" turned out to be several-day-old bread and bruised fruit, because I had arrived on their Sabbath when they didn't cook or handle money. The worst was the signs all around that read, "This is a home, not a hotel!"

My fellow travelers were cool and interesting, but I agree with the signs: this is definitely not a hotel!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bucuresti Gara de Nord
Ibis Bucuresti Gara de Nord
#41 of 167 in Bucharest
674 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Eos
Hotel Eos
#86 of 167 in Bucharest
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sir Orhideea
Sir Orhideea
#129 of 167 in Bucharest
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Basarab
Hotel Basarab
#79 of 123 in Bucharest
21 reviews
0.9 mi away
Old Centrum Bucharest
Old Centrum Bucharest
#65 of 123 in Bucharest
9 reviews
2.8 mi away
Belli Siciliani
Belli Siciliani
#11 of 123 in Bucharest
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila 11 Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila 11 Bed & Breakfast

Property: Vila 11 Bed & Breakfast
Address: Strada Institutul Medico-Militar nr 11 | Sector 1, Bucharest 010919, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned bed and breakfast, 200m from the Gara de Nord train station on the 780 bus line from Otopeni airport. Single and double en suite rooms, dorms, family suite all enjoying a hot all-you-can-eat pancake breakfast,free WiFi,bicycles, laundry services,self catering kitchenette. Airport transfer is available contra cost. Because we are a family, kids under 12yrs with parents are free. A traditional 1920's Bucharest vila open to receive company - YOU! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Vila 11 Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing