We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheery, basic, cheap.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel Miorita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Miorita
Ranked #140 of 165 Hotels in Bucharest
Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Cheery, basic, cheap.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

It doesn't present too well on first impressions but the room was comfortable, clean, quiet and in the middle of town. The shower and aircon were good. The entrance via a dodgy looking corridor and a pretty ordinary reception area don't really matter much. The room was small but fine.

Breakfast is via a coupon for the restaurant next door. That too was fine. The staff were (mostly) friendly and helpful. If you're arriving by taxi make sure the driver drops you at the the right end of the street. It's a pedestrian mall so you can't be dropped at the door. You want to be at the Calea Victoriei end.

Their version of a mini-bar gives you some idea of their target market (see photo) but it was just fine for us at 50+.

Room Tip: Our room was up some stairs. I'm not sure if there are any downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hzbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
10
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

We were there during Dec 2011 for 3 nights,the hostel has just 6 rooms,windows are looking to other room doors and coridor between the rooms.Though rooms have aircondition and very powerfull heating radiators,as humidity can't leave the room from the coridor window it smelled real bad.The bathroom had liquid soap and ear cleaners but nothing else.It was cleaned every morning.Our second and third reason for selecting this hostel was coffee/tea machine and safe in the room but both not working during the evening and next morning as technical servise couldn't come earlier.Breakfast was served at the next door restaurant within ten different menus.They don't have black tea but declare "earl grey" as black.Cash or + % 2,5 comission for credit cards,2 BB/night for 46 euros wasn't cheap, a "real hotel" with three stars could be taken for 70 euros/night.Coming the our first reason,it is on the famous Lipscani Street in the very hearth of the old city with tens of cafes and bars and restaurants and even takeaways,500 m to two metro stations which we didn't use during our stay as we prefered to walk to our destinations at the age of +50s.There is a 50 cm diameter red sign plate on the door of the three star hostel:"risk for sismic.....",we could find just one similar warning on a 1890 "istoric monument" building,remember the last earthquake took a thousand away. In summary,don't hesitate for our hostel,just try Rembrant Hotel which is 100 ms away which will be our home for the next visit.

Room Tip: Perhaps for your last choice around,JUST GO AWAY
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank COYDRCOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bucharest hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

This hostel is in a busy, fun location in the newly happening historic center and the price is low. For inexperienced travelers it might be a little scary -- Miorita is run-down and not very modern. We paid in advance for two breakfasts (quite good) but could not get a refund the night before when we were leaving early the next day and not actually consuming the breakfast. "You paid, you go early, is not our fault." Romania is part of the EU but can still seem like an old commie nightmare -- Hostel Miorita has one foot in the new Romania and one foot in that particular bad dream.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoffredTheNinth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

We made an online reservation for the period from the 31st Dec-2nd Jan on the 27th of December. We got an email on the evening of the 28th asking for a confirmation. We confirmed on the following afternoon (29th). We were travelling in rural Transylvania and had access to internet only once a day, which is typical for a lot of travellers. We checked again on the 30th in the afternoon and, not seeing any reply, assumed it was ok. We travelled all day on the 31st, arriving in Bucharest at 6pm. We were told they had never heard of my name. I used the reception's computer to check my email and found an email sent at 11PM on the 30th (the night before) saying that the confirmation we sent was too late and they'd given our room to someone else – all this more than 24 hours after we'd sent in our confirmation!!!! The person at the reception offered to help us find another hotel, but this kind of treatment is simply unacceptable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank confuzius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

At 30 euro for 1 or 40 euro (breakfast included) for 2 persons one gets a clean, big room in the nicest part of the old centre of Bucharest. Service is so friendly, typically people who go the extra mile. From a girl who carries my heavy bag upstairs for me, to a receptionist who runs after me with my voucher for my breakfast. They even think of warning me to use a hat, since there is a warning for the sun. Ok ,so the the furnishing is tasteless and something is broken in the shower. Who cares. There is even an airco (takes a while to have effect, so put it on a few hours before you want to go to bed). Great value for money and one of the friendliest hotels in Bucharest. Downstairs and next door there is an unsecured high speed network. www.hostel-miorita.ro

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniellaroumanesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanderer
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2006

Located in what seems like a converted office block, the rooms have no windows to the outside world.

The bathroom has one dodgy drain, in the middle of the room, so the shower floods the entire space. Plus the small shower curtains mean you have a choice between soaking either the toilet paper or your towel while you wash.

While we were there, there was constant drilling in another part of the building that shook the walls and lasted from 8am til after 6pm.

The harried staff tried to do their best under the circumstances, except one receptionist, who seemed to be permanently having a screaming match with someone on the phone, which we could hear from our room.

At 50euros a night, I couldn't recommend this to anyone.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The lack of fresh air
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't always believe the guidebooks!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Carabosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.2 mi away
Tania Hotel
Tania Hotel
#64 of 165 in Bucharest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mansion Boutique Hotel
The Mansion Boutique Hotel
#55 of 165 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rembrandt Hotel
Rembrandt Hotel
#4 of 165 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Europa Royale Bucharest
Europa Royale Bucharest
#17 of 165 in Bucharest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#9 of 165 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Bucharest Palatul Parlamentului
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Miorita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Miorita

Property: Hostel Miorita
Address: Str. Lipscani 12, Bucharest, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 165 Hotels in Bucharest
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostel Miorita 3*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Miorita is a warm and friendly hostel, that welcomes travelers who want to stay in the old town of Bucharest (Centrul Vechi). Travelers can find all the facilities that a 3 hotel offers from complete continental breakfast that is offered fresh daily at City Grill Restaurant, 24 hour Reception. Hostel Miorita has free wireless internet in all areas of the facility, they can can relax and enjoy 56 cm LCD TVs in their rooms with premium cable channels. Since it is located in the historic Center, visitors can enjoy the hundreds of pubs, cafes and clubs that are always full of locals and visitors from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostel Miorita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing