We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best tour we have been on in Europe”
Review of Tour of Communism

Tour of Communism
Ranked #7 of 150 Tours in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: In this 3-hour walking tour of Communism, with English-speaking guide, you'll learn about the major landmarks and events in the Communist history of Bucharest, the violent beginnings of the Communist regime, the nationalization and forced demolition of thousands of houses, the People's house, the Ceausescu family and their megalomania, and the bloody anti-Communist revolution of 1989. To get to the tour starting point from Unirii Square, you need to cross the Unirii Boulevard (the large boulevard with fountains), and climb the hill that leads to the Patriarchy. (car access is usually restricted, as this is a pedestrian area). Pre-booking is required at least 2 hours in advance on our website.
Reviewed December 31, 2016

We were thrilled with the communist tour of Bucharest today which was extremely inspiring. Our tour guide, Marius, was fantastic, so knowledgeable and gave us a real insight into life under the communist regime - we couldn't have asked for more. The Jewish tour, which I went on a few weeks ago also comes highly recommended. Without a doubt the best and most informative tour my friend and I have been on in Europe.

Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariuszah, Owner at Tour of Communism, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2017

Hi Elizabeth,

Thank you so much for joining both tours, and for your kind review.

All the best,
Marius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"communist period"
in 9 reviews
"political science"
in 3 reviews
"recent history"
in 9 reviews
"fascinating commentary"
in 2 reviews
"visual aids"
in 2 reviews
"urban development"
in 2 reviews
"personal stories"
in 4 reviews
"wear comfy shoes"
in 2 reviews
"three hours"
in 5 reviews
"superb guide"
in 2 reviews
"first hand"
in 3 reviews
"real history"
in 2 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 6 reviews
"better understanding"
in 3 reviews
"modern history"
in 3 reviews
"eye opening"
in 2 reviews
"interesting details"
in 2 reviews
Filter

139 - 143 of 291 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2016

I've booked this tour for the speakers at The Power of Storytelling, an annual narrative journalism conference that gathers some of the best storytellers in the world. The tour was full of historical information, but also of less known interesting facts about the Communist era in Romania. I recommend this experience to both foreigners and Romanians.

Thank Andreea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariuszah, Owner at Tour of Communism, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Hi Andreea,

Thank you for booking the tour with us, and also recommending this tour to the conference's speakers.

All the best,
Marius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2016

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariuszah, Owner at Tour of Communism, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2016

I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Bucharest. Provides fascinating insight into one of the most turbulent periods in Romania's history. The guide is very knowledgable and had a very balanced view of events, answering any questions you may have.

Thank rossmcdermott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariuszah, Owner at Tour of Communism, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Hi Ross,

Thanks for joining the tour and for your kind review.

All the best,
Marius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2016

We booked this tour with Marius after participating his "Jewish tour" and we were not disappointed!! Even if you were sleeping at the history lessons at school, the way Marius presents his story makes 3 hours tour very exciting and memorable. What else could characterize the tour other than on the way home you pick up new history books to go deeper into the subject! Highly recommend!

Thank Evgenia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariuszah, Owner at Tour of Communism, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Hi Evgenia,

Thank you for booking both our Communist tour and Jewish tour, and thank you for your kind words.

All the best,
Marius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tour of Communism also viewed

 

Been to Tour of Communism? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing