We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value, very helpful staff, best doubletree for me so far”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Bucharest Unirii Square
Ranked #16 of 165 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“great value, very helpful staff, best doubletree for me so far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

I usually stay in some of the 5* hotels in Bucharest but when it is busy they can be very expensive as happened during my recent business visit and decided to try the Doubletree by Hilton instead. Exceptional value for money, the rooms are compact and not as big as the ones in the larger hotels, but then again for the price you can not expect a spacious suite. the rooms and bathrooms as well appointed and clean, but what makes this hotel great is the extremely helpful staff. Reception at arrival and departure were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much. Special mention should go to the concierge who directed me and my team to a brilliant authentic Indian restaurant. After weeks of chicken and rather bland food we craved something spicy ! Romanian food is good quality but spices are an alien concept and lots of food is smothered in sour cream, so if you by the way like your food to have more edge, bring your own condiments , even in Chinese restaurants. The only negative I noticed about this hotel was that I had a room with a balcony on the 7th floor and the balcony was not secured, so if you are travelling with children , it would be wise to check which rooms have been allocated to you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    213
    66
    17
    8
See reviews for
58
75
68
270
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Staff were efficient, polite and friendly, couldn't fault them. Our Room was modern, spacious, clean and the bed was very comfortable. On a busy road but the double glazing worked well and the room was quiet. Only negative is the location but a short taxi ride is all you need to be in the heart of town. There is a taxi rank opposite the hotel and they're always available so not a problem. We were very comfortable here and I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soosiesooa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

I have to admit I was a bit skeptical about staying at this Doubletree, but the pictures on the website drew me in - and I wasn't dissapointed. The property recently was renovated and re-opened as a Hilton Doubletree. The Doubletrees in the US are rather worn (hopefully they take a lesson from this property) - but this property was very modern, clean and had all of the services (room service, coffee service in the room, fitness center) that I have come to expect. I had a very quite, comfortable stay - I highly recommend it!

The service, from check-in (they gave me a hot chocolate chip cookie - great after a journey from California) to check-out (they packed me a brown bag breakfast to take with me to the airport at 3:30am - amazing!) I was really impressed. I had some great workouts in the fitness center as well. The free weights (solo-flex and a flat bench) and the universal equipment were ample enough to get me through the workouts I do at my gym in San Diego. The attendant was nice and courteous. For your cardio workout there is an elliptical machine, treadmill and a bike. They have 3 TV's in the workout room.

I booked a room that included breakfast. If you eat breakfast, be certain to do this. The buffet was not lavish like some, but had plenty of variety (normal stuff, like eggs as well as cheeses, breads and smoked salmon - my favorite).

Internet connection was great too!

One additional note - proximity of the hotel to the subway station. I decided to figure out how to go to/from the client site I was working at using the subway (since it was summertime). The nearest station is a bit of a walk, but I found it very relaxing in the morning as well as in the evening - it gave me a chance to unwind. If you enjoy walking, then the subway station is a no-brainer. I rode the train six stations and while it was busy in the morning/evening, what a better way to feel like a local - and I felt very safe the whole time.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room - ask to be moved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pellaz-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Is this a hotel or a mechanical repairing atelier ? My god was terrible.
I cannot belive but i see with my eyes a mevhanical atelier with a lot of machines dust and terrible noise.
I cannot sleep. A shame for managers !

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
66 Thank Karltr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heaven
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2009

Stayed there for one night, reception staff very helpful, they have 2 taxi cars which can be book to take you to the airport, but only two so if you travelling at the peak times, you might have to arrange your own taxi. Room spacious and clean, a bit busy road ouside. Smoking is still permitted in Romania, so in the hallway there was smoke everywhere. There is a PC and a printer near the reception, so in case you need to book on to your flight on-line and print your boarding pass this is possible. Free wired Internet in the rooms, if you don;t have your own cable, the reception will lend you free a short cable. Limited Parking space. In the morning very busy in front of the hotel, so take care if you drive.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Layla_Key
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

recommended by a friend. i was slightly cautious because i was mislead previously with hotels in romania.....can be tricky. This particular hotel does a great job on providing service. The staff can be somewhat intimidating but that is the romanian way. The service is professional and prompt. the rooms are clean and very comfortable. although certain amenities do not always come on time. 24 hr food service or other little items cannot always be addressed.
The internet connection is a big deal for me. The service is complimentary with the room and no extra charge. the rooms were cheap and great service for the time i was there. i highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navarre70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
179 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

I arrived very late at night having had a tour of Bucharest with a taxi driver who clearly had no idea where the hotel was and so we'd already visited a Tulip Hotel. The hotel was clean and efficiently run and the room was spacious and comfirtable. The food at breakfast was good and the lunch and evening meal were also fine (if unspectacular) - I was at a conference held in the hotel, hence taking all meals in the restuarant.

The location was fine - there was endless entertainment looking over the busy junction just outside the hotel - the traffice in Bucharest has to be seen to be believed. A tour of enormous "House of the People" was fascinating as was a coach trip round Bucharest at night.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hampshire-resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 165 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
#8 of 165 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
1.7 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
1.7 mi away
Mercure Bucharest City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Bucharest Unirii Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Bucharest Unirii Square

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Bucharest Unirii Square
Address: 3A, Nerva Traian Street, 3rd District, Bucharest 031041, Romania (Formerly Bucharest City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bucharest
#7 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
#15 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Bucharest Unirii Square 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bucharest – Unirii Square sits next to the Bucharest City Business Center complex in Bucharest's financial and commercial district. You’ll be in the heart of Romania’s capital city and minutes from historic buildings, shopping and entertainment. Relax in a guest room or suite that features luxurious bedding, complimentary high-speed internet access, a 32-inch LCD TV, a spacious work area and laptop safe. Indulge in designer bath products and in the elegant bathroom. Rooms are decorated in soothing tones and feature comfortable and contemporary furniture. Start your day with morning coffee at the cozy Amber Bar, or enjoy breakfast with a view of the city at Avantgarde Restaurant on the top floor. Host your business conference or wedding in 2,150 sq. ft. (200 sq. meters) of flexible space which includes a beautiful arc-shaped ballroom. Also expect AV equipment, a business center, complimentary high-speed internet access and a dedicated staff to ensure a successful event. Expect the comforts and conveniences suited to today's business traveler or vacationer. We’ll welcome you with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie and provide efficient and caring hospitality during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Bucharest Unirii Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bucharest Unirii Square Hotel Bucharest
Tulip Inn Bucharest
Golden Tulip Bucharest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing