We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring the children to the ballet”

Bucharest National Opera House
Ranked #38 of 286 things to do in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
United States
Level Contributor
171 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Bring the children to the ballet”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

A nice way to spend an evening with the children.
The productions can't compare with those of Milan or New York, but tickets are easy to acquire - meaning you don't need to purchase months in advance- and the best seats are about 20 euro!
So, in terms of quality and price this is a wonderful opportunity.
I've seen people buying tickets at the door on the evening of the production too.
When my children were young, we'd pull a small group of about 8-10 friends together and book the entire box.
This way, when young ones got fidgety they wouldn't disturb others.
You can even bring some snacks into the box (if you have it to your own group) and discreetly nibble while enjoying the performance. No rumpling wrapper sounds please :)
I found the ballet to be a better option than the opera for most kids.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank LLELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    46
    16
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
222 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Where the magic happens”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The exterior of the building is not the best exponent of the gems inside. However, we hope that the Opera House will have the same destinty as the National Theatre, which is currently being renovated. Bear in mind though that the facade hides exquisite performances inside and terrifc artists. We have recently enjoyed Tosca and it was an amazing experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eliza_Bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wels, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“La Boheme”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

the play was really nice and for such price! 25 lei a ticket on Balcony second row. The most expensive was 55 lei. You can buy the ticket directly in the opera. It was a nice experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveler4600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
1,141 reviews
349 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 635 helpful votes
“fantastic night out in Bucarest - Opera La Boheme was good quality/ top singers”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Its very important that a financially stricken country like Romania does not compromise on one of its tourist attractions. as such, the Opera House is quite important.

We listened to La Boheme / with a great line of singers.

Great night out

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank FOL-1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
123 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“My Soul House”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Romanian Opera House was a very hard jiob to be borned, wich tourist can see in Museum of Opera at seconfd glour. We are vwery proud of Bucharest National Opera House not only for beatiful building in Romanstyle, but for great performance of our singers and artists of ballet, in every domaines of arts lyrics and ballet wich made
ONB faimous in entire world. Every year is died and born here in night of 31 December with wounderful LILIACUL, by Lehar finished in mafnificent fireworks.
Happy New Year, our loved Opera House! EvaCniser

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank EvaChiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bucharest National Opera House also viewed

 
Bucharest, Romania
 

Been to Bucharest National Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing