We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I had to show Bucharest to a guest, I would take him/her to Herastrau”
Review of Herastrau Park

Herastrau Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.99*
and up
Photo Tour of Bucharest - Iconic Sights
Ranked #2 of 282 things to do in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bucuresti
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“If I had to show Bucharest to a guest, I would take him/her to Herastrau”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Herastrau became iconic to people living in Bucharest. Is the place you take your relatives when they visit you from outside the town, the place you go to take a walk just to relax, where you go for jogging or just to practice taking pictures.
It has great location, you can take the bus or the metro to get to the park. If your going by car ... there aren't so many places for parking.
While in the park area, you just have to, let me write that again have to, see Muzeul Satului.
On the downside, sometimes the park is crowded, so if you are looking for time alone don't come here. The restaurants in the area could be tourists traps so choose carefully where to eat or have something to drink.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ioana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,030 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,246
    666
    105
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“About 5.5km route around the lake.”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Nice park, pretty well maintained. Train bridge portion is annoying but the path is much better than it used to be on the golf course side.

Nice dedicated dog areas and some nice seating looking out over the water. Some nice places to eat on the northern section of the lake walk.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DitaV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gorgeous in winter”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Iced over but still maintains a very elegant setting. Nice walk around didn't take too long and paired with the village museum made for a good few hours.

Make sure you have them call you a taxi to pick you up. No pick up fee and you will NOT find a taxi on your own if you just try to wing it from the park.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank HollandWinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Most beautiful park in Bucharest”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

It is a large park, with parts that very in designs. Here you can skate, take a bike ride, take a boat ride, play tennis, eat in lovely restaurants, or just stay on the grass. You just have to come an see it for yourself.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Iulia_Vaculisteanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
123 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Vortex of Herastrau Park, Bucharest Romania”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

When I have cross yesterday the Herastrau Park an unimagined spectacular show of nature was dancing in my face. The light of unusual sunset in November is coming in rainbow’s colors through the tree’s branch and all of them was full with wonderful leafs colored in degrade from green, red, orange, yellow, brown. The air was plenty with flavor and somehow a mild of a tin honey, the lake appeared as an huge diamond seated in middle of a gorgeous nature, in front an blind eyes of statues, which, even by stone or by metal, all of them looks made in crystal. When and how was I transported in the first autumn of the earth? In the night, La Traviata by Verdi gives me the answer. Like Violeta, singing abut herself beauty, healthy, and power in the moment before she will die, to reborn in next night in another show, from century, the nature of Herastrau Park was blow-up in an explosion of colorful, wonderful aromas before dies to reborn in next spring, from millennium times . It will? EvaChiser

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank EvaChiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herastrau Park also viewed

 

Been to Herastrau Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing