We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel with nice staff, in the middle of the old town”
Review of Rembrandt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rembrandt Hotel
Ranked #4 of 168 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel with nice staff, in the middle of the old town”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed at Rembrandt hotel in July 2013, for a total of 4 nights. My friend and I chose the hotel based on the good review here, and the location (my Romanian friend told me that this is the area with a lot of bars and restaurants and we should stay in this area) and we were extremely happy with our decision. I will definitely come back next time I visit Bucharest.

(Pros)
(1) As I wrote above, location is excellent. It's sort of at the edge of the most fun area in Bucharest, with bars, clubs, restaurants. Because it's not in the center, it's a bit quiet (I guess), but if you go out of the hotel, you are basically surrounded by bars and restaurants. This is awesome! Moreover, it's at the edge of the fun area, you can park the car at a nearby parking.
(2) The hotel itself has a cafe, Van Gogh. It's a nice cafe.
(3) At least our plan came with the breakfast, and it was wonderful! With free espresso/ cappuccino, fruits, salads, breads, and waffles!
(4) The staff are nice and charming. They speak good English so there's no communication problem.
(5) It's probably an old building, and the building is thin, meaning most likely you will stay on an upper floor, but the hotel has a lift.
(6) Free wifi!
(7) The furniture is a bit old and boring, but it's spacious. No problem with hot water at all. My room was equipped with safety box.
(8) I think the price is reasonable.

(Cons)
(1) Not much, but it's an old building and the decoration of the room is a bit outdated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makoto n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    269
    40
    12
    8
See reviews for
80
343
159
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I chose the Rembrandt in large part due to the excellent reviews. I wanted to stay in the Old Town and having never been to Bucharest I was unsure of the best hotel and location. I certainly made the right choice. First, the location is excellent. You are right in the heart of the action. Many restaurants and bars are literally just outside your door. The historic Caru Cu Bere is just around the corner. As far as the hotel - let me start with the staff. They were friendly and helpful before I even made it Romania as I had many questions they helped answer via email. They were even friendlier once I checked in. It seemed like any time I needed something it was only 1 minute before somebody was knocking on my door to help me. The hotel is very nice. It only has 16 rooms, much smaller than hotels where I usually stay. I had one of the executive rooms and to be honest it was larger than I needed. It was really big. It did look over the street which was nice. I am not sure what the view would be in one of the smaller rooms but if I could do it again I would probably save a few dollars and get the smaller room. They were nicely decorated with a large desk, two leather chairs, a large comfortable bed and a modern bathroom. It was very clean and attractive. I really don't see how you can beat the Rembrandt for the money. You would be hard pressed to find a better staff. The included breakfast is great. A selection of nice fruits, cereals, meats, breads, cheeses, made to order waffles, coffee and juices. It was wonderful. I don't have any complaints but there are just a couple of things I would change if I could. The bathtub is very high. I am a tall man and found I had to be careful when stepping out of it. I think a shorter person would have trouble. There was plastic step stored under the sink that I didn't notice till my last day, but I think even with that it might prove challenging for short people. There is only one towel in the bathroom. Now, they will gladly provide another one but I didn't think ahead and took a shower once while my towel was still wet and had to dry with a wet towel. It would be nice to have two towels. Several reviewers mentioned the noise at night. It is noisy, although I was not bothered. You have to understand where you are staying. If you stay here you are choosing to stay in the "party" area of town. People party late and make noise. My only other gripe is really more of a commentary in Romania. The ATM machines mainly gave me money in 100 leu notes (about $30.) Well, nobody wants to take those large notes and it is hard to find change. I asked the hotel several times for change and they never had it. One of the young ladies who works there once made change for me out of her personal money, which was nice, but the hotel doesn't seem to keep change. I don't know of a hotel in the US that would not be able to make change for a customer. That would have been a nice little bit of customer service. But that is just being extremely picky. If I make it to Bucharest again I would stay only at the Rembrandt. It is a great hotel with a wonderful staff for an unbeatable price.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 31 and 51. They face the street. Those rooms seem to be the best view and the lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiratePooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

After reading a number of reviews on Tripadvisor, we selected a room facing toward the back because people said the front facing rooms were noisy. The back facing rooms are very small, dark, and claustrophobic and after one night we switched to a front facing room and the difference was staggering! We had a huge room, bright, airy with a spectacular view of the old city. We were on the 4th floor and it was not noisy at all.

The hotel is so centrally located you can't even drive to it...need to park taxi at end of the street and walk along the cobblestones till you reach the hotel. We saw almost everything to see in Bucharest walking from our hotel...only took a cab to see the huge government building and a beautiful old local park (both sights totally worth it...).

A sight that is not easy to see or to find is the Romanian Holocaust Memorial. It's worth inquiring about. We also went to the famous restaurant Caru'cu bere. The folk dancing is very fun, the atmosphere festive, and the food very very good. It's a short walk from the Rembrandt Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OCTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Loved the place. The location is perfect as it is right by where all the bars and restaurants are, in old town Bucharest. But the noise never entered the room.

The staff were great and so were the rooms. There was nothing stylish about this place, but it just did everything well.

Our room was large, clean and comfortable and had plenty of amenities. The bathroom was also nice.

Breakfast was of a very quality and had plenty of choice. It is clear from the moment you step in the hotel that they want you to go away with a good impression and be happy. They achieved this entirely with me. We felt it to be very well priced, even in peak season.

I would not stay anywhere else if I visit Bucharest again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talktomeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

After traveling by train and finding ourselves in a taxi touring the streets of Bucharest we did not know quite what to expect. The taxi driver left us at the end of a street as he couldn't go any further. After a short stroll over cobblestones we found the Rembrandt Hotel. Marius was on the front desk and was very charming and helpful. The lift was tiny 1 person and one suitcase. The room however was enormous, clean and with a great view. The shower was wonderful. The staff were very helpful, friendly and good humoured. The buffet breakfast was delicious with freshly squeezed orange juice and home made waffles. The Rembrandts position in "little Paris" makes it a great choice. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Despite the invisibility and confusion when you first arrived to its front; its a great hotel, small but clean, and in a great location for a walking trip to Bucarest.

Nice professionals, with private shuttle to/from the airport. Breakfast is enough.

Room Tip: There is a room called The Balcony, with a small wooden balcony with awesome views of Bucharest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aluco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

right in the heart of Old Town Bucharest. Our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. It was VERY hot when we were there (August 2013) and they had air conditioning!!!
We were in the perfect place for walking and exploring the city.
Staff couldn't have been more wonderful, friendly and knowledgable. Buffet breakfast was delightful.

Room Tip: Our friends made our reservation and I believe it was considered a business class room. Bed was nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 168 in Bucharest
1,149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cismigiu
Hotel Cismigiu
#3 of 168 in Bucharest
407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 168 in Bucharest
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
#7 of 168 in Bucharest
913 reviews
0.6 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
0.2 mi away
Europa Royale Bucharest
Europa Royale Bucharest
#17 of 168 in Bucharest
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rembrandt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandt Hotel

Property: Rembrandt Hotel
Address: Strada Smardan 11 | Sector 3, Bucharest 030071, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#9 Business Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rembrandt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rembrandt Hotel is an intimate and stylish hotel with 16 spacious rooms, located in the heart of Bucharest. Well known for its’ personal service and genuine hospitality, Rembrandt provides contemporary guest rooms with comfortable beds, hardwood floors, leather armchairs, free wi-fi internet access and spacious bathrooms. Café Klein, on the mezzanine floor of the hotel, is a cozy and comfortable lounge where we serve breakfast, drinks and snacks. You will find Rembrandt Hotel in the middle of the old city centre of Bucharest. From here you can access the city in all its’ aspects: the wide Paris-style boulevards, the worn down 1920ies modernist architecture, the narrow streets of charming Lipscani and the modern day cosmopolitan life. Being on walking distance from the central Unirii and Universitate squares, the hotel is ideally positioned for both business and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rembrandt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rembrandt Hotel Bucharest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing