We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic”

Romanian Athenaeum (Ateneul Roman)
Book In Advance
More Info
$71.77*
and up
Private Full Day Tour of Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Majestic”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I don't know if tourists can visit the Atheneum - I have entered inside since I bought myself tickets for a show. The acoustic is incredible and the building is really impressive, both on the inside and outside. The park upfront is full of pigeons and I could see lots of brides coming to make photos there on their wedding day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    995
    285
    56
    10
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“grand building”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

this is a grand building and looks out of place in bucharest..
right next to the hilton anthenee palace..

look up and see whats on when visiting bucharest, a must to go.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank martin_monaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely building with a beautiful auditorium”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had three full days in Bucharest and went to concerts here on two of the evenings. The building itself is stunning. The auditorium is on a very human, almost intimate scale, as well as being notable for its design and decoration. The best way of getting to see the interior is by going to a concert. The ticket prices are very modest. They vary depending on what is on, but we paid about £7 each for very good seats at a chamber concert (you could get tickets at about £5 as well) and went to a symphonic concert for about £12 each. If you face the front of the building, the ticket office is through a door on the left hand side. If you want to reserve tickets, you can do so on their web site - although it is in Romanian it is easy to do ..... choose your date, bring up the seating plan, choose your seats and put in your name/email/phone number (write down your seat numbers) and press "Reservi". It disappears, and you do not get an email! However, you go to the ticket office and they will have your seats reserved - you pay for them when you get there. It worked! You can also just go and buy tickets. We had two really good evenings entertainment for far less than we would have paid at home. Absolutely brilliant. The frontage of the building is very impressive as well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank 893philb893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bursa, Turkey
Level Contributor
153 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Must listen to it”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Buy your tickets in advance otherwise you will miss a fantastic concert there. Listen to a great classic concert in an epic atmosphere.
We loved our presence over there and definetely recommend it to anyone who is paying a visit to Bucharest.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ersinyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, Washington
Level Contributor
292 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 556 helpful votes
“The highlight of our time In Bucharest”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The concert was sold out but we managed to find a person with two tickets for friends who did not show up. The concert hall is amazing and we enjoyed the concert

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FromBrazil71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romanian Athenaeum (Ateneul Roman) also viewed

 
Bucharest, Romania
 

Been to Romanian Athenaeum (Ateneul Roman)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing