We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is one of the must-see places in Bucharest.”

Romanian Athenaeum (Ateneul Roman)
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.29*
and up
Private Full Day Tour of Bucharest
More Info
$14.34*
and up
1-Hour Bucharest Private Tour
More Info
$65.73*
and up
Complete Tour of Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It is one of the must-see places in Bucharest.”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Cultural tourism at its best. I went on Friday for a concert and it was one of the most relaxing and interesting experiences I've had so far. Especially after a busy day, enjoying a concert in one of the most beautiful buildings in Bucharest is the best way to end your day. Totally recommend it for tourists and locals as well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andreea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,029
    302
    57
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fallon, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Beautiful, saw a free rehearsal there too”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

For three euros, we got to wander around the inside of the building, but when we went in the concert chamber, there was an orchestra, college-aged folks, rehearsing. it was awesome.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MNataro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Lovely building”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a personally guided little tour early in the morning, Very impressive building and would think it would be great to actually see someone playing here. Lots of historical frescoes, ornate ceilings, glasswork, the works. It is ornate, without being overdone. Well worth a look.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rishon le zion israel
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“a classical building with good acustics”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I was in a concert and it was my third visit to this place. The acustics is fantastic and the decor is marvolus. the seats are from red valvet and qre quite comfortable, It is a pity it doesnt have a careteria or a bar in which you can buy beverates and refershments.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank shlomit6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadima, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breathtaking, huge and cozy”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Way to go C0rwin (the guy who wrote his impression just before me)! There isn't much more I could add to his description. We felt just the same and we too immediately felt the urge to listen to a concert but there where none. Just the same, we went out smiling.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tzally-F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romanian Athenaeum (Ateneul Roman) also viewed

 

Been to Romanian Athenaeum (Ateneul Roman)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing