We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A building dedicated to symphonic spectacles” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Romanian Athenaeum (Ateneul Roman)

Romanian Athenaeum (Ateneul Roman)
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.57*
and up
Private Full Day Tour of Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Ploiesti, Romania
Level Contributor
130 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A building dedicated to symphonic spectacles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

I come here for important concerts, and I admire the large and monumental lobby, with the beautifully worked marble stairs.

The large hall is circular. On the walls it's a fresco painted, it's subject being the history of Romania.

The best period of a visit here will be with the occasion of George Enescu Festival.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    916
    255
    51
    10
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poole
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Like a solitaire diamond in Bucharest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Tickets to concerts are hard to come by but I did manage to take an internal tour during daytime. The interior is stunning and such a contrast to much of the city. It is well worth a visit.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank TalkBackwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyr
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful Venue for the Symphony”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Loved the facility, wonderful intimate atmosphere with surroundings of grandeur. Excellent sound quality for the symphony --- attended presentation of works by Beethoven and Brahms. Excellent experience and very reasonable prices for seats.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank key_man_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
187 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful building, funded by public donation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

I attended a classical music concert one evening while in Bucharest, without knowing anything about the Athenaeum, and was astonished at the beauty of this building. The outside, though lovely (and fronted by a garden), does not indicate how wonderful it is inside, so if you visit try to find a way to attend an event there. The entrance level is quite pretty, with great staircases, but when you ascend them to get to the auditorium, then you can see the inside of the dome. Its decorations fascinated me so much that I spent part of the concert studying what I could see without turning my head. I am glad that world war bombings did not destroy this gem.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank TravelNut12309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great place for Enescu Festival”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

It is the best place to listen to Enescu Festival classical music performances, which are one of the best in the world. It is a once in a lifetime opportunity to listen to all these masterpieces in a couple of weeks. I have seen 4 performances and I wish now I had purchased more tickets.

Pros: - one of the best places in Bucharest
- cheap opera and classical music tickets
- one of the best acoustics in the world
Cons: - no parking, except the public one

The Athenaeum is situated in one of the best tourist areas in Bucharest, surrounded by great restaurants like La Mama or Trattoria and little shops like Beba Art Gift Shop, it is a magnificent building in the heart of the city. Even though you are not into opera.
The acoustic inside the building is sublime and the inside dome is breathtaking.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Beba2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romanian Athenaeum (Ateneul Roman) also viewed

 
Bucharest, Romania
 

Been to Romanian Athenaeum (Ateneul Roman)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing