We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Museum”

Peasant Museum (Muzeul Taranului Roman)
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.86*
and up
Private Tour of Bucharest's Historical and Traditional Highlights
Ranked #46 of 286 things to do in Bucharest
Attraction details
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Museum”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The museum is nice but you need to have an audio guide to know what you are looking at. Most of the items displayed do not have a description by them. Photos are prohibited in the museum and there are "guards" everywhere to make sure you are not taking photos or disturbing anything. The gift shop (which you do not have to go to the museum for) is great. I would recommend it for anyone looking for souvenirs, not just from the museum but from romania. There is also a little cafe at the museum.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    107
    67
    32
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pictures Not Allowed”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

As a tourist, one of the main things that I want to do while I'm travelling is to get pictures of the things I see. So when I saw that the Peasant Museum did not want its visitors to take pictures, I was disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Interesting and pleasant museum, with excellent restaurant”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very pleasant and special museum, with explanations near the exhibits that have a poetic quality that I didn't see like anywhere else. The exhibits are put in a very special and artistic way. You can appreciate that the Museum was set by an excellent artisit and not the regular "dry" museum people. Their restaurant is excellent, have "al fresco" space and very tasty roumanian food. They also have 2 stores: one with peasants art and a branch of "Cartureshti" - small book and music shop.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SNAPIRITA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting but visit the Gift Shop at the back”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We enjoyed the museum, but really enjoyed the gift shop and bought all our gifts here for family and friends at home. All handmade, all beautiful made in the same way for centuries!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lili R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“peasent museum”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

was there last june
good place to visit for tourists
a nice market there wehere you can buy national things

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank iuri123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peasant Museum (Muzeul Taranului Roman)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing