We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upgraded to a junior suite - NICE!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Opera

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Opera
Ranked #64 of 171 Hotels in Bucharest
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Upgraded to a junior suite - NICE!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

I booked the Central Hotel but they were doing renos, so I got sent to Hotel Opera and upgraded to a junior suite on the top floor. Very spacious room! The bathroom is bigger than most London hotels.

Location is 10min walk from Old Town but a bit far from everything else. Since I visited in late June, every day was over 35C under the scorching sun, which is unbearable for me from a cold country!

Breakfast selection was not much and there were flies two days in a row. Maybe it`s summer time so lots of flies....

Reception was friendly and helpful. A pretty nice hotel in Romanian standards!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skiwithus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    55
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
10
32
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rishon LeZiyon, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We were in Bucharest only for three nights so it was important for us to arrive to Enescu festival. Hotel Opera is situated in the center of the town, so close to "sala Palatului", Ateneul Roman or Calea Victoriei - an important avenue of Bucharest. The breakfast was excellent, the staff was polite and friendly, on TV we could see Israel channel and the room was clean and large, with air conditioning and nice windows.
I should like to come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise. we had a twins room, soory it has no name! there are names like Aida...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CorinaSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

First the good things: breakfast buffet was excellent, clean rooms, helpful staff, good location by a nice park. The only downside was that the air conditioning had a terrible urine-like smell.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasHazelnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietarsaari, Finland
Level Contributor
412 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

I stayed for 4 nights at this hotel and I liked it very much. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and the breakfast was OK. Hotel Opera is situated in the centre of Bucharest and it took only 20 minutes by foot to go to the “famous” boasting palace build by Ceausescu, who destroyed 20% of the Bucharest historic old town to build this palace, which now houses the Parliament. Ceausescu put all the money of the state into this project and the people was starving.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leffex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

I spend a few nights at the Opera hotel. Had a room with a kingsize bed, bathroom with a shower and a large flatscreen TV. The room was very clean the room service good e.g. new shower gel and shampoo every day. There was an AC and the TV offered many international channels US, french, italian and of course romanian. Some channels are in english with romanian subtitles. Internet access over wireless worked with a password which allowed me to connect my iPhone as well as my iPad. Typically you can only register one device - not here! It was very comfortable at night even leaving the windows open - maybe it is because of the huge park just behind the hotel. Breakfast buffet was good and offered continenal and english breakfast. Staff was very young and very professional - your wishes won't be ignored. There is also a little bar available to have a drink or two and watch TV if you like. I can only recommend this hotel and enjoyed my stay. The hotel is very close to many landmarks and is in the centre of the city.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seereel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel. First floor, view: inner yard. During the night was a terrible noise from the air conditioner units, the room has an unpleasant smell (I discover later that comes from the air conditioner filter and refrigerator....both without proper cleaning).
Breakfast very poor:)). On 2 square meters is all food presented. No space for 2 persons there:))...Seems that crisis is everywhere.
I didn't like it at all. And it is not cheap for 3 stars.
Only location was ok...but I select the hotel to be near my business needs.
I will not come back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank danna07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bucharest hotels

Chicago,Illinois
Level Contributor
224 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

We stayed here for our first and last nites in Romania as part of a private tour. The hotel is well located in this very large city. We were able to walk to great restaurants and some sights. The metro station is nearby. Rooms were comfortable and clean, only negative was they do not have wifi anywhre in the hotel. We were sent to another hotel nearby, about three blocks, for complimentary computer usage which was nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wombat999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#42 of 171 in Bucharest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Bucharest Palatul Parlamentului
0.2 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#10 of 171 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#60 of 171 in Bucharest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel Moxa
Le Boutique Hotel Moxa
#21 of 171 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tempo Hotel
Tempo Hotel
#26 of 171 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera

Property: Hotel Opera
Address: Str. Brezoianu nr. 37 | Sector 1, Bucharest, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 171 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel Bucharest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing