We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic rooms (suite) for very good price”
Review of Hotel Cismigiu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cismigiu
Ranked #3 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014

very nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff, very impressive rooms - huge space - sort of apartment or suite with kitchenette and living room as well as nice large bedroom, well located next to a bar and restaurants, strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lumzq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinBalan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cismigiu, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to write this wonderful comment on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to learn that you deeply appreciated the property and the service.

We do look forward to welcoming you back among us in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Catalin Balan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cismigiu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 422 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

My wife researched this hotel on Tripadvisor before our trip in April, and I am glad she chose this when we went on a private trip across Romania.

It is a very modern hotel within a historic building. The room we stayed was very spacious, with a kitchenette, dining table for 4, a living room, and separate bedroom. The bed was the best bed we had during our trip, and I had a really, really good night's sleep. I wish we could have stayed more than one night, if only to lounge and relax in our room. Our room faced the street and had a balcony, which would have provided a great view of a military parade that passed by our hotel.

The only thing that threw me off was breakfast, wherein you had to order eggs and sides from a menu. I guess I didn't see the menu.

Other than that it was a great stay.

Room Tip: Choose the room facing the street, to watch the world go by from the balcony.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Edison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinBalan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cismigiu, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Mr. Edison,

Greetings from Hotel Cismigiu Bucharest!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Hotel Cismigiu Bucharest.

We were really delighted to note your comments and how much enjoyed the experience of Hotel Cismigiu services.
We're working together with restaurant team in order to improve morning service and products quality
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future to experience even more of what we have to offer.

Yours sincerely,
Catalin Balan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This is a splendid hotel - a historic building, recently renovated, well located for central Bucharest and with great suites of rooms with lots of space. Friendly and helpful reception desk, speaking good English and excellent free wifi in rooms. The one near disaster I had was a late wake-up call when I needed to get to the airport for an early flight, but all was rescued, with profuse apologies! I would recommend very strongly - even though I got a discounted rate as I was attending a conference nearby, the normal rates are excellent value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GilesP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinBalan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cismigiu, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Mr. Giles,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very nice review.
We do our best to satisfy our guests and it is even better if we exceed their expectations.

We'll pay more attention and take care of wake-up calls for future in order to eliminate the inconvenience of being late for flight.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Catalin Balan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Fantastic hotel, every aspect was perfect. Totally renovated to a very high standard in 2013 and it shows - every aspect is scrupulously clean & modern. Really pleasant & helpful staff.

Much better than a regular hotel, as the rooms are all mini-apartments. Executive Suite had a living room, dining area, parquet floors, 2 flat screen TVs & minibar with a complimentary bottle of water. Great bathroom with a wide range of quality organic toiletries etc.

Free, fast wi-fi. Excellent soundproofing meant you couldn't hear any street noise unless you opened a window. Room was quite hot & hard to adjust temperature. Rooftop terrace is unfortunately not finished/available yet. Breakfast in the ‘Gambrinus’ bar offered a small but high quality selection, with eggs & meat cooked to order.

5mins walk from stops for Airport Bus No. 783. Bus price was 8.6 lei for a return ticket (both uploaded on a Multiplu card). Cards can be purchased from the booth in front of either the Arrivals or Departures - they can be picky about not having any change, but you can break your notes in the nearby supermarket inside the Terminal. Remember to validate tickets on boarding the bus (swipe against the box/machine on board), as the Airport bus lines are a prime target for plain-clothes ticket inspectors, and we were asked to produce tickets on the way in from Airport.

Very central location, hard to better - 10mins walk to Revolutionary Square, Parliament Palace & bars of Lipscani Old Town. There's two handy supermarkets opposite the hotel, just down the side street at McDonalds, where cheap alcohol & provisions can be purchased.

If you want to visit the Ceaucescu Parliament Palace for a tour, be aware that production of a National ID card or passport is compulsory, and English tours only run at certain times.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinBalan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cismigiu, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Mr. Alan,

Thank you so much for your very nice comment.

We were truly delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit to the Hotel Cismigiu and the city of Bucharest.
Our staff takes a great deal of pleasure in making sure that all our guests’ needs are met and it is hugely rewarding for them to receive a review such as this.
Kindly know that your appreciation means a lot to all the team.

We will be very pleased to welcoming you back at Hotel Cismigiu.

Yours sincerely,
Catalin Balan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Once you get in front of the hotel , you see an old building , with a small reception . You will meet the manager Mr Catalin Balan. Mr Balan is exceptional as all the staff : Georgeta Grecu , Adrian ...

Mr Balan show me the rooms , real suite , large windows , very clean . The room was very confortable , with a foam memory bed , large TV , and the living room was an other TV, with a fridge , stove and the tools if you decide to eat in your room . The service Mr Balan provided me to visit , get a restaurant , find an address was more than expected . More , there is a nice restaurant bistro for Breakfast or dinner or just for a drink . The location of the hotel is in the beginning of the old Bucharest , where are all the best Restaurants , Casino , Store , etc .

It was my 5th trip in Romania , and it was the best place to stay .

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor have larger windows . The room with a view on the main street are more...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank F-Sylvain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinBalan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cismigiu, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Mr. Sylvain,,

Greetings from Hotel Cismigiu!

Thank you very much for taking your precious time to share your thoughts and experience on “Trip Advisor” following your recent stay at Hotel Cismigiu Bucharest.

Your kind comments were passed on to our whole team.
We certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Cismigiu during your next visit to Bucharest, and please do not hesitate to contact me.

Your well-being is our concern and we shall provide you our best services at all times.

Sincerely,
Catalin Balan
Front Office Manager
Hotel Cismigiu Bucharest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is a lovely hotel, the rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. We had a seating area with seperate bedroom and bathroom. The hotel is easy to find. If you are arriving from the bus from the airport then where you get dropped off (University square) then turn right and you will find Regina Elisabeta blvd from there it is about a 5 minute walk.
The hotel staff are lovely very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast is in the bar attached to the hotel, it does smell of smoke a bit, nioce continetal breakfast. We weren't offered any cooked eggs and only spotted this on the card on the table which didn't look like a menu. However that was the only minor complaint. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Clairebooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinBalan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cismigiu, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Mrs. Claire,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Cismigiu.

We are delighted to read that you were very satisfied with our reception staff and our service as well as our nice suites.

Smoking is allowed in most of the Romanian restaurants, hope this will end next year so everybody should enjoy a good coffee without inhaling any cigarettes smoke.
Breakfast staff will be trained on the next weeks in order to provide all information and quality services together with our delicious omelette.

We do hope that your traveling plans bring you back to Bucharest and Hotel Cismigiu.

With kind regards,
Catalin Balan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights on a tour of Bucharest. The room was very well appointed, a large suite with new modern decor. A balcony, a living/dining room with a nice partial kitchen, mini-bar, and television made up the living space, a large bathroom with a rain head shower was well appointed, although much too dark for applying makeup or styling your hair. The bedroom was a good size, had its own balcony, two VERY comfortable twin beds (I have a very bad back and this was a delightful treat for me--hotel beds are usually horribly painful), two nightstands, a large set of closets, a safe, and a rug and chairs. The bedding was good quality and very clean and crisp. Housekeeping was excellent.
We had breakfast, (included) each day in the restaurant. It was buffet style offering meats and cheeses, breads and pastries, cereal and yogurt, and eggs to order were available. It was also served until 10:30 on weekdays which is rare and nice when you don't want to have to get up early on a holiday. The only disappointment was the staff in the restaurant, who were never friendly, often grouchy, and sometimes completely mute, not even speaking to us. I did not complain as it was out of character for the hotel and seemed isolated to a couple of waiters, and I felt it was not a reflection of the hotel standards. This experience was a far cry from the front desk staff and housekeeping who were all lovely and helpful.
We had an excellent rate for the value received, the neighborhood felt very safe and was a very short walk from excellent high-end shopping and the historic old town, which was very charming.
I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again without hesitation. Well done.

Room Tip: The restaurant turns into a night club in the evening that goes into the wee hours. If you aren'...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 2esmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinBalan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cismigiu, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Valuable Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Cismigiu Bucharest!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Hotel Cismigiu Bucharest.
We were really delighted to read your comments and how much enjoyed the experience of Hotel Cismigiu services.
It is the practice of our Front Office team to ensure that our guest gets the maximum benefits and satisfaction of their stay.
On the other hand restaurant staff will be trained to improve quality of services provided and also we will put a smile on their faces.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future to experience even more of what we have to offer.
Your well-being is our concern and we shall provide you our best services at all times.

Sincerely,

Catalin Balan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.4 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 169 in Bucharest
802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rembrandt Hotel
Rembrandt Hotel
#4 of 169 in Bucharest
975 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 169 in Bucharest
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
0.5 mi away
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
#7 of 169 in Bucharest
931 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#13 of 169 in Bucharest
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cismigiu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cismigiu

Address: Bulevardul Regina Elisabeta 38, Bucharest 050017, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range: $99 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cismigiu 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in downtown Bucharest, the newly rebuilt Hotel Cismigiu 4*, one century old and one million stories rich, has come to life again. Creating a fantastic ambiance, its design melts heritage and novelty, mixing Art Nouveau architecture with contemporary style. Super chic and elegant, the hotel is just 3 minutes away from the famous bar and terraces of the Historical Center and 20 minutes by taxi from the International Otopeni Airport. Enjoy one of our 60 rooms, suites and fully equipped apartments, designed for your comfort!The hotel also harbours the Gambrinus Restaurant, as well as a decadent roof top "Ici et la" Restaurant and terrace, an efficient Business Center with all facilities and a practical underground parking. You can take the cultural pulse of Bucharest in the Old Town, where the hotel is quickly becoming a landmark, as we also host the Cervantes Institute of Spanish Culture. Vive la historia! All our services respect and promote a responsible environmental behavior! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cismigiu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing