We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST Day Trip to Transylvania!”

Balkan Trails - Day Tours
Ranked #22 of 126 Tours in Bucharest
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Licensed Romanian tour operator company, offering private day trips and tours in Romania and Bulgaria. All our day trips and tours are customisable, allowing you to discover only the sights you are interested in, at your own pace.
Spring City, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST Day Trip to Transylvania!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My partner and I had a day to kill in Bucharest between a river cruise and a Mediterranean cruise and were looking for things to do in the area. We did some research and decided to take a day trip to Transylvania. We contacted Balkan Trails and I must say that we are extremely happy that we did! Our driver (Adrian) met us at our hotel for our full-day tour of the Transylvania countryside. He was extremely knowledgeable and got us right into all of the sites we stopped at with priority entry and excellent commentary. We had a most amazing tour, stopping at Sinaia Monastery, Peles Castle, Bran Castle, and checking out the sites in the city center of Brasov. I would say that if you are looking for a wonderful private tour in Romania, that booking a tour with Balkan Trails is a must!

Rick Hallman, USA

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
350 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Rila Monastery...a MUST see!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were on a 5 week driving trip and were in Sofia for several days. We were driving on to Plovdiv after that and couldn't figure out how to fit in the Rila Monastery until we found Balkan Trails. Rumen picked us up at the hotel promptly at 8:30 and we had a wonderful day at the Rila Monastery. Rumen is an engaging conversationalist and we spent the time in the car learning a lot about Bulgarian history and culture. When we arrived at the Rila Monastery, we were spell-bound with its size and beauty. It is impossible to describe, so I won't try. I am posting a few pictures that I think will suffice. Traveling with Rumen as our guide was very helpful. He was very astute in telling us the special things to look for and added a thrill to the fact that the Patriarch was there that day. After taking a gazillion photos and exploring every nook and cranny of the the monastery we walked toward the car. We decided to skip the nearby restaurant and instead joined for freshly made yogurt and bread right out of the oven. It was a wonderful experience and one of our favorite days in Bulgaria.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SACALosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bucharest”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just got back from Bucharest and had Great guide from Balkan tours.Andrei took us to Pele Palace and Draculas Castle.Quite an all day trip to Transylvania.. He was very helpful and told us things the group tours didn't get.. He a;so helped us in climbing to the top of the Castle and getting down.. He had lots of info and was very pleasant.. We felt the tour was very good and worth the time and Money

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mommywels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DAY TRIP TO TRANSYLVANIA & WALLACHIAN DISCOVERY”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Florin was very professional, flexible and knowledgeable. He went above an beyond to ensure that we enjoyed our day and got out of it what we wanted. In addition he came with us to places not part of the tour and made arrangements for our journey back to the airport. As it was just the 3 of us it very much felt that we where on holiday together. Two of the sights visited had their own guides, that were by far not as knowledgeable or as attentive as Florin. The whole experience from booking to the end of the tour was a pleasure. Many thanks.

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
“Day trip to Transylvania”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Having previously visit Bucharest, I wanted to get out of the city this time round. The services provided by the team, from the initial communication to the execution of the trip itself was excellently handled. The driver was very knowledgeable about the area and very accommodating in our minor change to initial itinerary during the trip. Would highly recommend then and use them again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allan102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VladTrestian, Manager at Balkan Trails - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hello Allan,

Thank you very much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balkan Trails - Day Tours also viewed

 
Bucharest, Romania
 

Been to Balkan Trails - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing