We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Umbrella hostel”
Review of Umbrella Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Umbrella Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Really helpfull staff. Nice location with most of the sights within walking distance. Clean rooms. Cosy community areas. And did I mention the super friendly staff already? I would recommend this hostel to everyone staying in Bucharest.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank LisalottevdT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 339 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

This place is great. Close to everything you'd want to visit in Bucharest, actually walking distance. The staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to give us tips on Romania - the hostel itself is clean and really perfect.

No need to think about it; need a hostel in Bucharest? Just stay in Umbrella.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jicecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Umbrella Hostel is situated in a quiet neighbourhood in the city center of Bucarest. You can reach all mail tourist atracctions by walking. The connection with the airport and train station is good. The staff very helpfull and nice. And the inner patio very charming.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MexiBello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We can recommend Umbrella Hostel. Especially the Service is very good. We asked for bus Connections to Tulcea and they gave us the right Connection times and the Location were the bus started. The only things is if you want to go to bed early you can not open the window because outside there is a very nice Terrasse and therefore the People are staying Long outside. So you can hear them if the window is open ;-) But there is a climatic Equipment in every room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bernhard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

thanx guys for an amazing time.
everything very clean and neat and all that you need is available! especially the futuristic shower is a really nice surprise. but the best of all is the friendly staff and nice atmosphere, for which I wish to come back as soon as possible.
leszek en rianne.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leszekem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Why would you want to search for another hostel when Umbrella provides you with everything you need ? The atmosphere is simply mesmerizing. The breath taking view from the inner yard and the friendly staff are the first things you're going to notice. In this hostel you can feel just as you were home! One thing that i appreciated the most was the cleanliness. You wont find many hostels that are in such a good condition. Every room and every bathroom is spotless. With the risk of repeating myself, you'll never need to visit another hostel in Bucharest after a experience at Umbrella Hostel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sterian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The place is awesome - food, rooms, bathrooms, terrace, everything - and the people are wonderfull! They were helpful, friendly, interested, lovely. The location is great, too. It's near everything in Bucharest. One of the best hostels I've been.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana Beatriz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bucharest Hotel & Residence
1 mi away
Little Bucharest Old Town Hostel
1.1 mi away
Antique Hostel
Antique Hostel
#4 of 158 in Bucharest
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bucur's Shelter Hostel
Bucur's Shelter Hostel
#2 of 158 in Bucharest
162 reviews
1.2 mi away
X Hostel Bucharest
X Hostel Bucharest
#12 of 158 in Bucharest
230 reviews
1.6 mi away
Podstel Bucharest
Podstel Bucharest
#5 of 158 in Bucharest
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umbrella Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umbrella Hostel

Address: General Christian Tell 21, Bucharest, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 158 Specialty Lodging in Bucharest
Price Range: $14 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Umbrella Hostel is located in one of the few areas in Bucharest from where you can walk to any of the city’s points of interest. The building itself is a 1920s professionally restored house, with a capacity of 32 beds, arranged in 6 double/triple rooms, one 4 bedroom and two 8 bedrooms. We have a beautiful outdoor terrace which can accommodate all of our guests at once.. Free WIFI, free HDTV, Breakfast Not Included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Umbrella Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing