We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great insight to Romanian countryside life”

Village Museum (Muzeul Satului)
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.93*
and up
Private Tour: Full-Day Bucharest City Tour
Ranked #4 of 282 things to do in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This outdoor museum includes more than 300 buildings representing the history of Romania's rural architecture.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great insight to Romanian countryside life”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Fascinating collection of homes built in various styles. Each home shows how the Romanians use what nature gives them to build homes, whether it is straw, timber, rock, or a home half buried in the earth. It is a large space, so you will be walking for a couple hours to cover everything. Would help to have a tour guide, as I did, to explain the 'why' behind the techniques of construction; but some pre-reading might do the trick. I imagine kids would enjoy this on a sunny day as there is room to run around. Some of the homes are furnished, some have painted timber interiors, and there is some minimal gardening on the grounds.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MCinAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,688
    994
    318
    44
    22
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“One of the more interesting attractions of Bucharest”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Though I may be slightly biased (I live in Bucharest), I strongly believe this is one of the nicer things to do while here. Most people know about the Parliament Palace and Old City Centre. But I would recommend this open-air museum to anyone willing to spend 1-2 hours (in nice weather) and learn more about Romanian homes and lifestyles.
Walking around the old houses will feel like taking a super-fast trip across all of Romania. I've visited it many times and still do, both with friends from here and from abroad. The entry fee is still very low (used to be 1.5 EUR, now around 2.3 EUR). All houses and annexes have English descriptions.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EU
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent venue for a family walk”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Village museum in Bucharest is a very and unique place in Bucharest. It is a huge park with traditional Romanian houses brought from all over the country that you may visit. they hold events there as well. It does not matter which season it is, it is worth a visit. Located in the Herasrau park, you may continue your walk in the park after. Very nice! Really recommend it for a weekedn walk with your kids

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SoriNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Village Museum”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Great place to visit and walk around. Not many signs in English so you need to figure it out on your own.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles, Belgique
Level Contributor
149 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A walk back in Romania”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I read about it when I was planned to go to Bucharest and I enjoyed the visit. Really nice to see all those houses from diverse part of Romanie, they are real, they have been taken from their place and reset in the parc. A visit for a couple of hours or more if you want.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorpioyves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Museum (Muzeul Satului) also viewed

 

Been to Village Museum (Muzeul Satului)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing