We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A horrible place” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palace of Parliament

Palace of Parliament
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.13*
and up
Communist Bucharest History Tour
Ranked #8 of 276 things to do in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The world's second largest building was built as a palace for Nicolae Ceauşescu, who was overthrown and executed before it was completed.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A horrible place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Okay, so the only thing that commends this building is its size (second only to the Pentagon in Washington, DC). We heard this over and over again as we toured the Parliament Palace. It is a monstrosity built by a monster, and why the Romanian people have let it remain is a mystery -- it is empty, unfurnished, cold, and creepy. We had to be searched in order to tour, and there is a sign saying that people who stray from the tour are subject to arrest. I can understand the threat, because after 20 minutes, we were all ready to bolt! We still had 60 minutes of the tour left, so we all stopped asking questions and just hustled our guide through her paces. If you are/were a Michael Jackson fan, the highlight of the guide's tour was a trip to the balcony where Jackson greeted his fans in Bucharest. Whoopee! My advice would be to walk around outside and call it a day.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Snowflake1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,876
    1,653
    659
    159
    77
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Ceausescu's Palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Hermitage and Versailles could both fit inside this building with room to spare. This marble floored palace is a vivid representation of the dictator's dream come true. Built to satisfy his ego on the backs of the Romanian people. The tour required passports or picture IDs, which you leave with the security checkpoint, and many stairs to climb, but it is worth the effort.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Monumental”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Dramatically huge and imposing building. Interiors made of marble and wood,interiors lit up by thousands of crystal chandeliers.

The guide spoke English very well and took time out to answer questions especially about the communist era.

You need to bring your passport to enter the building., and pay a fee to be able to take photos. Security strict so you need to stay with the group.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank aamManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“A 'must see' if you visit Bucharest.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

If you can ignore the history of how this building was constructed as a communist symbol in one of the poorest countries in Europe, you may nevertheless appreciate the sheer scale of the production task.

The reason that I call this a 'must see' is that this building is regarded as the second largest in the world next to the Pentagon.

The size is awesome and many design features demonstrate how talented Romanian archtects were.

Don't make an internal visit your priority as it wears on you before too long because you get tired of going into one empty big area after another. That is unless you are realy into buildings then you may find some surprises.

Failing going in, suffice to take photos outside to keep as a memento. Go down the Unirii strip, if the fountains happen to be working then a nice shot can be taken.

Even a drive past gives you an appreciation of the size and grandeur.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank dciaccounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I guess you have to see it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The story behind the building is more interesting than the building. While touring, I couldn't help but feel sorry for the people of Romania that their government wasted so much money on marble and fancy light fixtures. Very bureaucratic process to enter the building, allow extra time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank txhawki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palace of Parliament also viewed

 

Been to Palace of Parliament? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing